We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center of the Gent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In the center of the Gent”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The location of hotel and the value (that was special price) are the best. Location is from a couple steps of Belfort and Cathedral. Hotel with a cosy parking and quiet lobby bar. Service was also good. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    576
    242
    58
    24
See reviews for
128
505
80
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This Ibis is situated right next to the kathedraal, which is an excellent location for visiting Gent. It also offered free wifi.

However, if you have a big lugguage, the other Ibis hotel in Gent , there are two ibis hotels in Gent, may be a better choice as Tram 1 has a stop in front of the other Ibis hotel and only 5 - 7 mins walk to the kathedraal. You do not need to carry your big lugguage to walk through the pebble road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green_M0untain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Clean and excellent located hotel, near the cathedral and the main viewpoints! Rooms are similar to every ibis hotel, but they are clean and with wc in the room. The breakfast is expensive 14€. Overall Ratio price/quality excellent

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rguerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ibis hotels are always pretty basic, but for a stay in Ghent this is a good medium budget alternative, not least because of the superb location next to the St-Baafs Cathedral. Room was large enough, wi-fi worked well. Breakfast is not included and vastly overpriced. The restaurant food is also non-spectacular for lunch or dinner, so go elsewhere. We recommend 't Vosken right across the square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i12bent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the standard Ibis chain hotel. Breakfast was not included and was an extra 10 euros each. We declined. We could store our bikes safely in the car park in the basement. The hotel is modern and comfortable and near the centre of Gent. We stayed 2 nights. The wi-fi worked very well. They serve a beautiful draught Lefe beer in the hotel bar. Our only complaint was the presence of several Mosquitos in the room. I think there is a standard pattern to this. Hotel not aware of the issue. Cleaner opens window, then leaves. Mossies enter room and lie in wait. Guest enters room, closes window, goes to sleep. Judging by the blood-splat marks on the ceiling and walls, we weren't the first to have this problem. I killed 3, but 1 eluded me. It kept us awake by buzzing us when we were asleep, and I was also bitten. I was further bitten in the basement when I was taking out the bikes. Good hotel apart from the mossies. Try the restaurant Du Progres in the main square. Fantastic service and food. So good we went back again a second night. Book early to get a table inside.

Room Tip: Spray room for Mosquitos if you can?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CondadoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The staff was very friendly. The location is fantastic. In front of catedral in downtown. The price is standard and the room was very good. They arrange a extra bed for my child.
The restaurant is open untill close to 22h, what is very convinient. I really recomend. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcioSusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were booked in to this hotel last December when on a trip to the Christmas market in Ghent. The location of the hotel is ideal for access to the town centre and the markets. We found the two rooms we had were well maintained and clean, it is an Ibis so there is no surprises with what you get in the room. Food in the restaurant was good and bar prices reasonable compared to other places around the town centre. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the Christmas market was good but there were not as many stalls as we expected. We would go back to the hotel for a weekend break again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hengate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Address: Limburgstraat 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal hotel is located in the historic and commercial centre of Ghent, facing the cathedral, right next to historic monuments (museum, abbey, castle) and a few kilometres from the Exhibition Centre and the Convention Centre. Ideal for business and tourist stays, the hotel has 120 rooms with free WiFi internet access including three rooms for guests with limited mobility. The hotel also features a 24 hour bar. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Kathedraal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing