We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel not to far from the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel not to far from the city center”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

For business i always prefer to stay in a Ibis hotel. Their concept really suits me, good staff, nice and clean rooms, good beds and breakfast and always a decent working wifi. This hotel is near the center of Gent (korenmarkt) where you can find some good restaurants. As always for an Ibis: good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guests,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Stephan Vanwingene

general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    495
    253
    65
    17
See reviews for
89
454
67
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Everything about this hotel was just fine except for the thin walls, which unfortunately kept me from sleeping. The location was great! The tram stops directly in front of the hotel so you can't beat that. If you don't want to take the tram it is not a far walk to the train station when you arrive in Gent. There were plenty of restaurants and bars close by and the attractions were not far. The hotel bar was actually quite nice with a good selection and good prices. I even had a chicken dish that was quite tasty. But, all of that is secondary to the fact that I heard everything going on during the night and could not sleep. Even with the window closed I heard the street conversations. The people in the next room sounded like they were sharing mine. It was really unfortunate because when you're moving from city to city it is important to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsoz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I really this hotel cause it is in downtown of Gent close to everything you can accuatly walk to the city and do shop and walk, the break fast is so yummy, the people are very polite and nice, the city is very cozy with many pubs and stores, I defily will come back there one day, also I recommend this hotel the price is very low!!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Marcos,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We’d planned a budget Easter break to Ghent and were expecting a cheap and cheerful Ibis, especially for 65 Euro with breakfast per night, but this particular one was surprisingly good.
With only hand luggage, the Ibis was an easy 20-25 minute walk from Ghent St Pieters station. We could have taken a tram, but the directions from the station looked so easy so why bother? It was also a 10-minute walk from the Old City of Ghent but away from the large concentration of bars and restaurants found in the main squares.
Reception/check-in was fast and the room key card gained access to the lifts to other floors. Noting other other reviewers mentioning street noise we did request prior to arrival a room at the back of the hotel. We actually stayed at the side of the hotel on the second floor, but luckily didn’t hear a thing.
The room was quite small but not certainly not uncomfortably so, and there was plenty of room on either side of the bed, and space enough by the window for a bench seat and desk. The bathroom was compact but we were both able to take showers without a problem.
I found the bed extremely comfortable, but the room in general was hot and we had to lie on top of the bed covers on all three nights.
Breakfast was surprisingly good, although we didn’t realise that the buffet had to be approached in a certain direction. We usually dip in and out of a breakfast buffet as and when we require an item of food, but here it seemed as if everyone collected everything at the same time regardless of whether they’d still be hot by the time they ate them.
We didn’t use the bar of the hotel as there were far too many interesting bars to discover in the city centre.
We loved Ghent. The city was full of interesting little corners and the Ghent Visitor Guide was invaluable source of ideas. Without this guide, we would never have visited the Beguinages, let alone heard of them!
I would give the Ibis four stars for the price, service, comfort and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Testla,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and compliments.

It's always a pleasure to get feedback from our guests and to read about the great experience you had in Gent while staying in our hotel.

I hope your "surprise' inspired you to discover more of our city or even other Ibis hotels all over Europe.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I found the quality of the hotel to be quite good. The rooms are small, but clean. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the center (so that you know). I liked the service- the receptionist was very friendly and helped me a lot with early check-in. Definitely recommend for a stay at this charming city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volga981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

1-walking distance to Graslei and shopping places
2-in front of tram-Easy to go everywhere
3-reception kind n nice-help me with Euro adapter,
call taxi,keep baggage after checkout
4-breakfast:€12-reasonable with danish pastry.croissant.toast.omellette.coffee.tea.juice.yoghurt.cereal.nuts.raisins.I am Muslim but still can eat things without meat.pork.liqour here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerembanDzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Seremban,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for several times before, but this time when I booked, it said that there is another room style which is 30 euro more, so I took it, but it showed that there is only one room type at this hotel. Then the pillow is too high to my taste, and they have only one standard for pillows, so the reception helped me to arrange some towels to act as my new pillow, which was fine. The bed is just besides the room door, so you hear easily what is going on in the corridors. The breakfast is absolutely not worthy 14 Euro, simple selection, not recommended.

Room Tip: There is only one room standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yanzhang85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay.

Our pillows are quiet recent and indeed rather high, we'll look into this and try to provide some thinner pillows.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing