We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Gent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated - the tram stops just outside the hotel, but you can walk to the historic centre of Gent in 5 minutes, or less. There is an underground car park. The bathroom is a bit small, but functional. However, a toilet brush would be a very good idea! We found the breakfast expensive, so preferred to walk into Gent and have breakfast in a tearoom. I had read in reviews that people were disturbed by the noise of the tram, but we were on the 2nd floor, on the front, and it was really quiet, and we slept really well. The beds and pillows are really comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessannden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review after your stay .

I hope t welcome you again when you're in Ghent and wish you a superb 2014 !

Best regards,

Stephan Vanwingene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is the second time that we have made an overnight stay at this hotel. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny but the location is very central. There is a tram stop outside the main entranceand the major shopping area is only a couple of minutes away on foot. The Old Town and Christmas Market are a little further but walkable
Everything is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.
For the price we paid, this is good value considering its position.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room overlooking the tramstop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Gloria,

Many thanks for your review aftre your stay in our hotel.

I'll pass your comments on to our staff, they will be pleased with your compliments.

I hope you'll chose our hotel again for a next stay in Gent and wish you a joyfull and prosperious 2014 .

Warm regards,

Stephan Vanwingene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

You get what you pay for with these business type of hotels. We had a clean tidy but very small room. We opted out of the very expensive breakfast 14 euro in the dinning room which was in the process of being refurbished. Being on the 3rd floor we had the joy of a generator or similar vibrating all night, also the show ran hot and cold, broken thermostat, I suspect

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank bra011149
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as a pit stop in Ghent. Good location for reaching the town centre and all the sight seeing attractions. Room was clean and tidy, bathroom a little on the small side. Staff were courteous and underground parking convenient. There is an excellent Italian restaurant opposite the hotel (left hand corner) which was both tasty and cheap! :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear guest,
Dear Mel,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is still in the old Ibis style. Staff is friendly and the hotel is very centrally located. Fine for an overnight on a business trip.
There s a nice pasta restaurant located just in front of the hotel (left corner).




  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013
Google Translation

Cher hôte,
Cher JB,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à notre hôtel.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame/ Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Used this hotel for many years, always a good place to stay. Accomodation is clean and tidy (only the bathroon is a bit small), staff are very friendly and have been there for many years. Breakfast food is always very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear guest,
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your review after your stay in our hotel.
It's always a pleasure to receive compliments and I'll surely pass them on to my team.

I hope to welcome you soon again in in our hotel were you'll discover our brand new reception and refurbished bar area.

Best regards,

Stephan Vanwingene
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $92 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing