We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in Gent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed September 17, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Redsquirrelfor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DrSteffenRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were looking for a value for money hotel and this hotel has met our expectations. The hotel is easy to reach by car and there's a car parking just around the corner. It's easy to walk to the city center's main squares. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were quite small, but clean and silent. The breakfast was very well, though a little bit expensive.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are quite small, especially the bathroom. Maybe ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Lennart,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.

It's alway a pleasure to receive compliments and I'll pass them on to the team.

I hope to welcome you again in Gent.

best regards,

Stephan Vanwingene
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 428Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A tram-line runs by it! We were delighted to find that the tram-line to or from Sint Pieter Station stops outside the door of the Ibis. The desk staff were unfailingly welcoming and helpful. Daily breakfast, though basic, was fresh and delicious. Our room was comfortable and scrupulously clean. The tram-line also runs towards the centre of town with all its treasures and canal-side restaurants. Being quite small, Ghent allows for exploration on foot, the best way to get a feel for this beautiful historic city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, it's always nice to receive compliments.
I'll pass your gratitude on to our staff, I'm sure it'll motivate them to keep up the good work and serve our guests even better in the future.

I hope to welcome you again in Gent !

best regards,

Stephan Vanwingene
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I give this hotel only 2 stars because I found the manner in which the room had been cleaned unacceptable. I did not mind the fact that the room was tiny, the walls were thin so you could hear everything happening in the hallway, the bathroom again tiny, although I think all these factors should bring the price of the room down. I slept quite well (the mattresses are very comfortable), although one of the rooms I stayed in gave into an alleyway where refuse collectors started banging and clanging around 6am. I also did not mind the general air of shabbiness. Breakfast was also quite good and standard (eggs, sausages, fruit, cereal, everything). But my stay was spoiled by the fact that both rooms I stayed in (I stayed there twice in August) were very dusty (dust bunnies flew off the chair when I put my hand on it, and all the surfaces were dusty: the night stand, the desk, the TV table, the TV remote). The bathroom walls were yellowish and scuffed, and the cracks between the tiles were dirty, and the adhesive had turned black in the corners. The situation did not change (I assumed at first that the room had been cleaned weeks before and nobody had occupied it, and that's why it was so dusty, but it became clear to me that the cleaners were simply not wiping the furniture properly on a daily basis, but merely straightening the bed). This was partly explained when I saw a member of the cleaning crew also serve in the hotel restaurant. I think the hotel is simply not hiring enough help, otherwise I can't understand why one person would have to both clean the rooms and serve in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mihaela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Supplied
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: $79 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing