We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub-standard Cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sub-standard Cleaning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I give this hotel only 2 stars because I found the manner in which the room had been cleaned unacceptable. I did not mind the fact that the room was tiny, the walls were thin so you could hear everything happening in the hallway, the bathroom again tiny, although I think all these factors should bring the price of the room down. I slept quite well (the mattresses are very comfortable), although one of the rooms I stayed in gave into an alleyway where refuse collectors started banging and clanging around 6am. I also did not mind the general air of shabbiness. Breakfast was also quite good and standard (eggs, sausages, fruit, cereal, everything). But my stay was spoiled by the fact that both rooms I stayed in (I stayed there twice in August) were very dusty (dust bunnies flew off the chair when I put my hand on it, and all the surfaces were dusty: the night stand, the desk, the TV table, the TV remote). The bathroom walls were yellowish and scuffed, and the cracks between the tiles were dirty, and the adhesive had turned black in the corners. The situation did not change (I assumed at first that the room had been cleaned weeks before and nobody had occupied it, and that's why it was so dusty, but it became clear to me that the cleaners were simply not wiping the furniture properly on a daily basis, but merely straightening the bed). This was partly explained when I saw a member of the cleaning crew also serve in the hotel restaurant. I think the hotel is simply not hiring enough help, otherwise I can't understand why one person would have to both clean the rooms and serve in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mihaela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    476
    249
    61
    16
See reviews for
86
442
65
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

You know what to expect with an Ibis and this one delivers exactly that: the location is good, the staff were welcoming, the garage spacious, the rooms clean, and the wifi fast. This is a fine hotel for a stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackney, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The picture on trip adviser is very misleading. This hotel did not have the class of an opera. Having been in five other hotels in Belgium in a one week cycle tour it was the poorest value of the lot. The room 109 was so small it reminded us of student accommodation. It would have been ok at half the price but it cost more than all the other hotels for a night and breakfast. More expensive than central brussels Cascade Midi with accommodation four times the size, more expensive than the ghent river hotel, three times the size and similar with our other three hotels. If you we six foot you would have banged your knees on the wall when sat on the loo. The shower was very small. The bathroom door was dented as if someone had hit their head on it. The breakfast was good though and the staff professional. If you are visiting gent then you are more likely to find better value in almost any other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Will,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my
sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. .

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nicely located, small, but clean. The internet is free and fast. Using ping tests online, the ping was about 75ms, very good. The only complaint about this room is the small bathroom. When you sit on the toilet, one of your knees will probably touch the wall. The shower is small but manageable. Just don’t flail around or you’ll hit the shower door. One odd thing was that the tap water tasted really good. I refill my water bottle using the faucets of the hotels I stay at, and this hotel had the best taste. The staff seem professional.

To get here from St. Peters train station, you take Tram 1 to Savaanstreet. The hotel is right in front of that stop. Then it’s only a 10 minute walk to Bavos cathedral, Belfry, St. Nicholas Church, etc.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank superflunker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay.
They are of great value to us and help us to improve our service and quality.

We will pass your remarks on to the team in order to improve communication and transparancy regarding our services.

Many thanks and I hope we'll be able to welcome you in Gent again.

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - it's literally ten minutes walk up the main shopping street (Veldstraat) to get into the centre of Ghent. If you don't fancy the walk a tram stops just outside the hotel with good service by the no. 1 (between 3 and 7 minutes I found); the tram is useful for heading south too if you're interested in the SMAK (modern art) and fine arts museums which are next to each other in the Citadel Park.

My room was fine for a single traveller but I'm not sure it would have been much fun for a second person. The bed was against the wall and the bathroom barely large enough for one person. To give you an idea of this (apologies for bluntness) I've never before encountered a toilet I couldn't sit on without my legs being off at an angle! That said, I spent very little time in the room and lots of time exploring the city so it wasn't too much of a problem.

Breakfast was decent enough to stock up before the day's activities and offered cheese/ cold meats, yogurts/ fruits/ cereals, breads/ croissants/ pastries, and a limited hot element of scrambled egg/ suspicious grey sausage. Teas, coffees and fruit juices are from machines though which isn't great but with all for 12 euros it's pretty good value all the same.

The staff are very friendly and keen to help but perhaps could have been a bit more on the ball. Three things stick in my mind - firstly I wasn't given tokens for breakfast so had to abandon my food on day one to sort it out at reception. Secondly I was assured parking was as cheap at the hotel as elsewhere but found this wasn't true - 15 euros per night in a very tight car park at the hotel (most pillars had other motorists' paint on them!) but I could have parked for 13 euros/ 24hrs just round the corner and saved myself 8 - 10 euros by paying only for the hours I used. And finally, I was encouraged to pay for my room when I arrived - not something I'm used to but couldn't see any harm - but found the first night that this effectively cuts off your credit and you're then unable to order drinks or room service whilst you're staying. These are relatively minor quibbles however and the only negative parts of an otherwise fantastic short break in Ghent.

Room Tip: It's not a room tip, but if you're in Ghent for a short break I'd recommend grabbing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenziedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay.
They are of great value to us and help us to improve our service and quality.

We will pass your remarks on to the team in order to improve communication and transparancy regarding our services.

Many thanks and I hope we'll be able to welcome you in Gent again.

Yours sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing