We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,583)
Filter reviews
2,584 results
Traveler rating
1,093
1,112
270
71
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,093
1,112
270
71
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location superior room city hall excellent hotel central location free wifi underground parking breakfast buffet spacious rooms per day within easy walking distance old town reception staff modern hotel christmas market main attractions restaurants and bars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 2,584 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2018

The real selling point for this hotel is the location right in the heart of the old city where all key attractions as well as restaurants and bars are in easy walking distance. The hotel itself is modern and sizeable. The room was good with a clean bathroom though no milk or cream for hot drinks- obtain from the bar! A very good range of food for breakfast though hot food not helped by having to use cold plates. Staff were friendly, particularly in the bar. A very good base to explore Ghent.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarijkeDC, Guest Relations Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Mark, thank you for your beautiful and constructive review about our hotel, we are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Indeed, we are very privileged to be situated in such a prime location, right in the heart of the medieval city centre, where history, art and the good life come together. It's also great to hear that you have appreciated your room and bathroom and that you have savoured our sumptuous buffet breakfast. Your tip about the plates has been forwarded to our kitchen chef for immediate consideration. Please note that each and any suggestion is always welcome, since this kind of feedback enables us to improve our services constantly. What makes us particularly proud however, is your compliment about our staff, since after all, they remain at each and any moment the icing on the cake to every successful stay at our hotel! Looking forward to welcoming your again soon, kindest regards and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

This was a great stay. I went around Christmas and I must say it was amazing

Pros
Great staff - very helpful
Room service
Vegetarian options @ room service - for some of us it matters
Great location
Spacious rooms

Cons
Nothing major but rooms can be slightly cleaner

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gauravn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarijkeDC, Guest Relations Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Dear guest, thank you very much for your beautiful and detailed review about our hotel. Delivering a perfect service in a perfect environment, after all this is our daily goal and we are very proud of your appreciation! Next to that, we appreciate your tip about adding some more vegetarian options to our room service menu card and we will certainly relay it to our kitchen chef. Your remark about the cleanliness of your rooms has been forwarded to our Housekeeping Manager for immediate follow-up and we want to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, kindest regards and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

The NH Gent Belfort is located right in the heart of Ghent. It is a nice hotel and close to all the sights that the city has to offer from old churches to castles and more. It is astounding that so many of the buildings survived WWII...It is like stepping back in time. There are many things to do and see nearby.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarijkeDC, Guest Relations Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Dear Micheael, many thanks for your great and detailed review and score, we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, right in the heart of the medieval city centre, so much. We always do our utmost to offer an extraordinary experience to all our guests and receiving this fantastic feedback is the most beautiful reward you can give us. Moreover, we are sure that it will be a true source of inspiration to a lot of future travellers! We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon, kindest regards and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

This is a very good hotel in a central location of Ghent. They have a breakfast buffet with a large selection of tasty items. I have stayed here on several occasions. Rooms are nice and comfortable, staff is friendly and I will probably stay here again because of the very convenient location.

The only problem is that there can be quite a lot of disturbing noise coming from the main atrium when staying in a room that has a door towards the open area - you hear people talk and laugh in the lobby as they come and go into the adjacent bar. There can also be quite a lot of noise from the street when visiting during the light festival.

Room design is modern/spartan, and bedside lights seems to have been selected more on form than function.

Room tip: avoid rooms towards street and lobby/atrium because of noise
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarijkeDC, Guest Relations Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Dear Henrik, many thanks for posting this great review about our hotel, it’s really great to hear that we have been able to contribute to a pleasant journey each time you stayed with us and we are very happy that you have enjoyed our top central location as well as our sumptuous buffet breakfast. But what makes us most proud is your compliment about our staff, since after all, they remain at each and any moment the icing on our cake! We really regret however to read that you have experienced some noise pollution both from our lobby and bar as well from the street overnight, especially during the Light Festival, and we want to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. May we kindly invite you to specifically ask for a quiet room when you're booking your next stay with us? Your remark about the bedside lights has been forwarded to our management for further attention. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, kindest regards and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

The rooms in this hotel are really great. Everything still looks quite new although this hotel has been here for many years. The bathroom was big and we had two big seats in our room apart from a desk. The staff was friendly and the parking for our car was nelow the hotel and very cheap. The location is the best. It's hardly possible to be located more central in Gent.

Room tip: It's a big hotel. If you want your room to be near to elevator ask for it.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank waarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarijkeDC, Guest Relations Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Dear guest, many thanks for your great review and score, we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, right in the heart of the medieval city centre, so much, and that you have appreciated our private carpark on the premises! We always do our utmost to offer an extraordinary experience to all our guests and your beautiful words confirm us that we have succeeded in this, also thanks to the friendliness of our staff, to whom we will relay your compliment with pride. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, maybe by the time spring has decided to surprise us with some better weather, warm regards from still icy Gent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews