We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business travel”
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
“Business travel”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is one of the few hotels were I noticed 2 power plugs according UK and EU standards. Furthermore every detail one expect as a business traveler is present. One of the few hotels with a fantastic service, very friendly staff, exellent meeting facilities, located in the center of Ghent. Also large double deck iunderground parking lot for an acceptable price.
Free internet access throughout the Hotel with fast connection...
Good food and Breakfast buffet.. and Bar..
Great place to stay..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    923
    210
    45
    25
See reviews for
244
1,021
62
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is a nicely located property - right across the road from the City hall. (Old and beautiful. Unfortunately, visitors are not welcome in there.) Not cheap but probably worth it. Every thing all around is accessible walking. But the trip from the station needs to take a tram. It is too far for the walk with a trunk.

Room Tip: I think the room looking the City Hall will be nice, but probably they are most expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinjeoera, Norway
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Maybe I have been sleeping in class, but Gent (Ghent) is a gem of a place. Medieval buildings, cobbled streets, trams, small canals and cosy bars (and Belgium beer)
The hotel is perfectly located. Close to the old part of the city.
My room was very large and the price was reasonable.
Breakfast was ok with a good choice of hot and cold foods.
Definetly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

While the bed comfort and room size was good, I experienced some concerns with this hotel.

- the laundry service is expensive and one of my items (jeans) was never returned and another co-travelers shirt was ruined.
- extremely slow service on 7am Saturday checkout despite 3 reception staff on duty, none of whom seemed interested in serving me. By then my airport transfer was already waiting and the staff member seemed to find it to challenging to process the charges to my room on another credit card so I paid cash. After check out the room charges have subsequently been also charged to the credit card held on file (so 100 Euro - charged twice!)
- the plug in the sink in my room seemed to be blocked for the entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beejayrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in October. Easy to get to from the train station via # 1 tram. Right in the heart of Old Town. Just 2 blocks from Korenmarkt and close to everything in Ghent. The staff was very friendly and cordial. Always willing to help. Rooms were large and spacious and very clean. Bath was enormous. We had a superior room and loved it. Breakfast buffet was beautiful but very pricey. Reasonable on Sunday though. 17 euros I think. Comfortable lobby. We used Ghent as our base for side trips to Brugge, Antwerpe and Brussels. About 30 minutes by train to each. However, I think we found that we perferred Ghent.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were quiet. Streetside rooms have a better view but early a.m. deliveries trucks ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The NH Gent Belfort is centrally located in the city, with easy access to many shops and restaurants. The hotel lobby is comfortable, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast buffet is comprehensive. My room was large, well equipped and clean. Although I was in Gent for only one night during a business trip, I enjoyed my stay at the NH Gent Belfort and recommend it to others for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We upgraded (for 15 euros) to an executive room and were happy with the added space. The location was central to all of the sites and good restaurants but this is a chain hotel so don't expect the character that you might get at one of the smaller hotels in the historic area of Ghent. They just upgraded the tv's to large screen, HD quality. They were a bit slow with replenishing the breakfast items so we ended up getting to breakfast well before 9am to ensure a full selection. The staff was friendly but the front desk did not seem to want to offer much guidance for sightseeing or restaurant recommendations. The front desk does have complete city guides, maps and the city access cards for sale (admission to all the sites and transportation). We relied on trip advisor for restaurants and were not disappointed. This was a lovely city and we enjoyed our long weekend there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the wealth it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing