We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Weekend”
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Great central location, comfortable well equpped rooms and friendly staff who provided good service. Super buffet breakfast and lots of nice touches such as bath robes and slippers, bowls of fruit etc. Ghent provided a great weekend with lots of good restaurants, great beer and friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BirminghamWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2008

We arrived and were checked in promptly by a very efficient lady employee at the reception desk. At this point we realised that our colleague had left her passport in the taxi, the lady then called the taxi company and within minutes we had got the passport back, excellent. During check in we were told that we would be upgraded into executive suites (because of the company I work for). This was the first time I have ever been upgraded so I very impressed.

The room itself was superb (250), long corridor leading into the bedroom with sofa and big flat screen TV. Off the corridor was a good size bathroom, separate toilet and walk in wardrobe. Very clean (apart from a few marks here and there on the walls) and a bottle of complimentary water awaiting my arrival. (see photos). The bed was one of the best I have slept in. The room even had a doorbell.

We used the hotel restaurant and bar most evenings (we stayed from 4th May - 9th May), the prices were on the expensive side but generally very good. The waiter Jules was superb, extremely polite and efficient. The only slight downside to the hotel was the gym / fitness room. It has a running machine, cross trainer, two exercise bikes and two leg machines. There is no multi gym for training upper body or free weights, I only used the treadmill.

Everyone in the hotel spoke good English, as did everyone we spoke to in Ghent including shop clerks and taxi drivers. In fact Ghent was the most friendly European city that I have visited. Its also a great place to see, very picturesque and great architecture.

As with previous reviews I would imagine that it would be quite difficult to get to if you had to drive. You have to drive through the town avoiding bikes, pedestrians and trams while trying to navigate to the hotel. We used taxis which for us was the best option.

Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank trollking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

This was a nice hotel- good facilities, large room, excellent location within a very short walk of all Ghent attractions. Good variety in the breakfast buffet.

However, it is very modern- don't be fooled by the outside photo that makes it look like it has character; that's just a tiny bit of the facade that doesn't reflect the reality.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2007

The Sofitel is a good quality hotel in a central location - you can walk to all the main attractions. Room was clean and well equipped. Reception staff efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Stayed for a long weekend at beginning of December. The hotel is situated in the centre of Ghent and is well situated for the bars, restuarants, etc.

If driving beware the centre is pedestranised and you need clear directions to navigate your way to the hotel.

Ask for room 238 as it is a large room (more like a suite) with a separate dining area, seating area with plasma TV and full glass balcony!

My only minor complaint was breakfast. The usual continental breakfast but the "hot" food option was cold as the bain marie heaters were turned off.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yourfaewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

The hotel is perfectly located. The tourist information, the Vrijdagmarkt and the main streets are nearby. It´s a short walk to the restaurants.
Staff is realy friendly. Upon our arrival the bellboy parked our car in the garage and immediately brought our luggage to our room.
The room was spacious but in need of refurnishment. We couldnt´close the curtains properly and the bed wasn´t My Bed at all. (We expected a high standard as we booked a Sofitel).
So we were a bit disappointed. I´m not sure we would stay here again. The Mariott looks fabulous..... Alltough that´s no garantee. The lobby, library and bar at the NH look great as well.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wereldreiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We booked through VFB - a 3 night B & B trip via Eurostar . and thought it was excellent value.
The hotel was a little difficult to find as the new owners had not got the NH sign up but the former signage hade been removed.
The Receptionist and Porter could not have beeen more welcoming. There are, expectations that the new owners plan to upgrade the hotel and there were references to major investment..... stained carpets on stairs and older bathrooms do need attention, and we did not see above the second floor or other rooms. The ground floor public rooms were spacious and comfortable.
We had no complaints about our very spacious room - the mirror image of the one shown on Hotel Photos ( not candid pictures). We were not bothered by the rather dreary outlook onto a flat service roof .Both the room and the bathroom were clean and well provided with towels and toiletries. The two twin beds were each about a meter wide were very comfortable and as we had booked.
The excellent, included Buffet breakfast was a very good start to sight-seeing packed days - and the historic city centre was on the doorstep and only a couple of minutes away from dozens of restaurants and the nearest tram stop

Our only negative comment concerns slightly lax housekeeping.
For example the heavy bedspread , which we removed and folded at night, was left one day just thrown half over an armchair, half on the floor; a nightgown - which had been left folded was crumpled on top of the bedside table!
And on one occasion we passed a nearby open door to see the guest reading in an armchair while the bed was made at 6.30pm. It was not unusual to see the chamber maids working late into the early evening - perhaps they are over-worked and too rushed? And a maybe a temporary reflection of a situation undergoing change.
But we would certainly stay there again .

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12172013er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $113 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the wealth it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing