We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stop”
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A good stop”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is very well located at the old town. Everything within walking distance. We arrived early and the accommodated us with no charge for the days parking and somewhere to leave our bags until we could check in, which was still early. Staff were helpful providing maps and suggestions. The room was of a decent size, well furnished and clean. The bed was not too soft which is nice for a change. Room servicing was good. Overall, not much to fault with this place. It is quite a large hotel and part of a chain, but still has some character. You probably won't go wrong here.
gent is a great place and well worth stopping to have a look around and sampling the cafes, restaurants and bars. We were there whilst the Christmas Markets etc were on, whilst a bit cold, still really enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    923
    210
    45
    25
See reviews for
244
1,021
62
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We heartily recommend a short break to Gent if you are thinking of Belgium for a holiday.

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and it was in a perfect location for the old centre of this beautiful city. We were in a superior room and were very pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room we got assigned. It had a large bedroom space with a sunken living space with 2 sofas and 2 bay windows looking out over the Belfort! The perfect place to unwind. Definitely worth the small extra that you would spend on a standard room.

The hotel provides all the amenities you would expect from a 4-star hotel. The gym was a little disappointing - as it offered a small number of aerobic exercise machines and no weights. The spa is just a sauna. The breakfast was a bit chaotic and staff were unfortunately very few. Likewise, the reception desk was overwhelmed during checking in and checking out. This led to a long wait on both occasions. While staff were few, they were all polite.

Small negatives aside, this is a nice comfortable hotel in a great location. We would definitely recommend this.

Room Tip: Opt for a superior room - the one we got assigned was very large, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_and_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a couple of nights over New Year. Shared a 'suite' with my sister and brother in law. A 'suite' it definitely wasn't, more like a large double room with a bed settee. Stylish decor, clean and comfortable. The room could have slept 4 but there was only 2 mugs on the tea tray. Breakfast included an impressive variety of goodies with something for everyone. Good public areas, spacious and comfortable, and a very good bar. Staff were very pleasant and seemed to speak most of the European languages. Certainly worth considering if you're planning a trip to Gent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieMinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is very well located in the heart of old Ghent. The hotel looks and feels great - some huge public spaces and fitted out to a good standard. The room was impressively big, although the mattress was too soft for me and sagged in the middle. Internet was available but slow. The room rate alone was competitive but beware of extras - parking is E15 per night and breakfast an expensive E21 (or E15 at the weekend). I know you get what you pay for, but this did seem expensive. We found a very pleasant Le Pan Quotidien 10 mins away in Kalandestraat which offered a variety of good quality organic items for around E10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencerswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemmer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

First surprise was the spatious room, with a large bed, couch and table plus three chairs. The bathroom was nice too, with a (small) bath. The breakfast was luxurious, with plenty of coffee machines (that didn't work some of the time..), a waffle iron, lots of juices, fruit, and everything else you could imagine.
The hotel is located next to the city hall, just a minute away from the Belfort, cathedral, right in the middle of the old town centre.
The hotel has it's own parking, normally 15 euros per day, but they didn't charge us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Only 2 hours fron Eurotunnel perfect stopping point for long journeys, I drive UK to Berlin regularly. Underground parking so you dont have to unpack everything. Room is good value and bar is nice. Dog friendly. Position is town is fantastic, right in the heart by town square. Can walk about and down to the river in minutes, lots of great cafes to really smart restaurants and everything in between. Town center is really beautiful. Ghent has one of the most beautiful McDonald's I have ever seen, not recommending you eat there but the building it is set in is amazing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a very well situated hotel within easy walking distance of all the main historic landmarks and buildings. Also, staff were very professional despite a computer glitch which meant checking-out took ages. One small problem - the hotel says it offers free internet access but that wasn't working during our visit. That said, the overall satisfaction with the stay was high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odysseus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the wealth it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing