We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on great location in city centre”
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hotel on great location in city centre”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We came by car and it all started with the arrival : easy accessible parking in the middle of the Ghent centre. Perfect check in. Staff was overall very friendly and helpfull.
The modern hotel is one step away from almost all historical buildings. A lot of good restaurants in the near vincinity.
The rooms are clean and modern with all comfort. Free wifi only on the groundfloor though.
Breakfast was good, continental with all the usual extra's and of high quality.
We've been there only one night. But we will definitely return next time we'll have dinner in the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestemaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    936
    210
    45
    25
See reviews for
248
1,032
64
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shiraz, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel was luxurious, comfortable, and well-located to the city center. Accommodation and room service were all the best. I will go there for sure again. Also an ideally good place for holding seminars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliRaz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Having never been to Ghent before, we booked this Hotel not knowing what to expect. What can I say, fantastic location, right in the heart of Ghent. Staff are very helpful, accommodation was superb, and restaurant excellent. Could not fault this hotel and would definetely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Four stars on the strength of the nice library area, friendly staff and superb location, but lacking free wi-fi.

The location is the big win for this hotel. It couldn't be better-placed for exploring the myriad buildings of note, restaurants, shops, waterfronts and museums that Gent has to offer (what a city Gent is, especially at night when it's beautiful - definitely visit if you're in two minds).

A double room booked via Expedia was plenty large enough for two of us with a good bathroom and a comfortable, large bed. Our room overlooked the street from the third floor and no noise from the road below filtered through the windows - in fact, our sleep over the course of three nights was entirely undisturbed.

Breakfast was not included in the deal and seemed substantially overpriced when we enquired, but that seems to be almost standard for any hotel now and, as usual in that situation, breakfast in a local cafe is a far cheaper and more enjoyable option. Just around the corner from the NH you'll find an excellent range of cafes and bakeries selling a delicious Belgian breakfast for a third of what it'll cost you in the hotel. I recommend Julie's, a short hop over the bridge, which opens at 9am.

There's no free wi-fi unless you sit in some form of 'internet corner' near reception which I didn't bother investigating as, in this day and age (he said, rattling his zimmerframe), it shouldn't be too much to ask to give the guests internet access for free. But then, we were off exploring most of the time and it wasn't that big a deal.

However, on the plus side, there's an excellent little library area on your left as you come through the main entrance, with comfy seats, that nobody else seems to use so you can adopt it as your own reading room if you have an hour or two spare late in the evening. We curled up with books, beer and nibbles - the latter two supplied by friendly hotel bar staff, delighted to help us make use of the room - and watched the world go by through the glass windows looking out onto the main street.

In summary, an excellent base for exploring Gent with only one or two minor quibbles.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelstrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

My son and I stayed here with my husband ( who was working) for almost 3 weeks. Most of the staff were really awesome from the front desk, room service to the staff who do the laundry. It was really helpful having English speaking staff when you come from New Zealand. Lots of wonderful eating places within walking distance, Cafe Max to lots of others. Also Lots of tourist attractions within walking distance as well. The breakfasts were simply the best - almost anything your heart desires, from mouthwatering pastries to divine hot chocolates.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and location, as some rooms are better appointed than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Arrived by tram from St Peters station (Ghent), about 5 mins walk from tram stop (Sint-Niklaastraat). Easy check-in. Stayed in room 137 ("superior"). Good size room with extra large and comfortable bed (only 3 pillows but I'm sure you could ask for more with no problem). Good sized TV with BBC World channel available (good for checking weather). Everything worked properly and was in good state of cleanliness. Storage space was good with space to hang coats, umbrellas (!) etc. Bar food available, but as usual with these types of hotels it was too expensive (please dont get me wrong here - I dont mind spending a bit more when I'm on holiday but the extra cost of hotel food and drink isn't matched by better quality food and drink - well, not in my experience anyway). So, for a cheaper breakfast, pop over to the local shop which is about 1 min walk down Hoogpoort street - its called "Carrefour express" and it has a cracking range of pastries and beers and just about everything else you would expect in a local convenience shop. (please note, I'm not suggesting you have beer for breakfast....)
Five minute walk from centre of Ghent. What more could you want, no tram ride required.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hicksid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed here on a Sunday night. I had just flown in from the West Coast of the US and the day was really long. By the time I got to the hotel, it was after 2pm, but the hotel has a special that allows late checkout on Sunday morning. I had to wait for several hours to get into my room. That being said, the location is fantastic and the staff was lovely. Comfy beds and the side of the hotel I stayed on was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdx_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the wealth it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, NHHotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing