We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,518)
Filter reviews
1,518 results
Traveler rating
459
766
216
47
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
459
766
216
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool great location paper cups sofa bed car park nice hotel central location nice bar christmas market separate toilet the main square the heart of the city superior room old town large room train station breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 1,518 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Driving to this hotel was straightforward although did seem to go right through the pedestrianised centre of Gent! There is an underground carpark and the hotel has two entrances, both put you in the heart of the town.

Public areas were really nice and modern. Room (superior) was not quite the size or comfort level of the best Novotels but it was ok. There was a lovely view of the main square and church though.

Warning! The aircon wasnt the best so we opened a window and were terrorised by mosquitos all night - some really horredous bites (assume it is all the canals) so take care.

Breakfast was up to Novotels excellent usual standard and there is a burger type restaurant in the hotel - quite reasonable prices (for a hotel) and something a bit different. there are lots of option in Gent though so suggest a skim through Trip Advisor.

There is an outdoor pool which even in August seemed a bit of a gamble in northern Belgium.

All in all a decent hotel in a great location but watch out for the Mosquitos!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank woosiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred_De_Deken, General Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Many thanks for your review. For people who like to sleep with open window, we have anti mosquito machines available at reception. I'll reserve one for you, for your next stay in Ghent :). Our Gourmet Bar is specialized with Belgian inspired burgers, but if you like to walk outside, reception has a lot of nice restaurant suggestions. See you soon in Novotel Gent Centrum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Hotel is just in the center of the town. Perfect location, short walk to square and canal with plenty of restaurants. Make sure you do 45 minutes boat trip.
Gent was a lovely place with very relaxed atmosphere. Town center was closed for traffic on Sunday, people walking everywhere, enjoying food and drinks.
Hotel is very good, rooms perhaps bit small. But clean with decent size bathroom.
It's pet friendly, but you'll be charged extra.
Outside pool looked nice, but we haven't tried it.
Parking is limited, parking slots are a bit small. Access to car park is very narrow. We have a small car, I can't imagine to park there with large SUV or estate.
Overall, we had a nice stay in perfectly located hotel.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petrpakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

The location is unbeatable... Truly excellent-- easy access to the city. Service at the hotel is quite good too-- everyone very attentive and helpful. The room was ok-- though by far the least salient feature of the stay - somewhat dissapounting

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank rkigervaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred_De_Deken, General Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Many thanks for your review. Nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated our friendly and service oriented staff. Hope to welcome you soon back in Gent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Superb accommodation (adjoining rooms as family suite made it special). Outside pool in front courtyard. Welcome drink and bar service excellent. 'You must try the local beer - Gruut!'. Breakfast good as always, although very busy and difficult to get around as tables close together. (One of my daughters is in a wheelchair so this made it hard for her. Gent festival on whilst we were there so incredibly noisy music until midnight and our room was overlooking the square, so was a bit disruptive.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Lovely place, not super new but fair price for fair service and with an outside pool.
This place is super central, from it, we did everything by walking.
Staff was friendly and room was ok ckean and everything.
The breakfast was just ok, not bad but not super great either. I regret that there wasn't that much fresh fruit choice and also vegetal milks. Because great to have superfoods, really great, but usually it suits people with no dairy diet.
But we'll definitely stay back here!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Little F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews