We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Gent Centrum
Nearby Hotels
$136
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$123
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Erasmus(Ghent)
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$121
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$168
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$174
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveler rating
415
702
198
42
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
702
198
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationoutdoor poolpaper cupscar parksofa bednice hotelcentral locationwaffle makernice barsat navchristmas marketseparate toiletthe main squaresuperior roomthe heart of the cityrestaurants and barsold town
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2009

This was our first time at the Novotel and we were very pleased with the experience. Very pleasant helpful staff, everywhere was clean and the breakfasts were plentiful with lots of choice. There is an outside swimming pool, obviously not open on our visit, but look forward to using it on our next visit. We have visited Ghent many times and it never ceases to delight us. The people everywhere are lovely. Lots of really good restauarants and the standard of food is very good indeed. We always visit the Neptune restaurant which is family owned, it is fairly small but the food is excellent. Christmas is a particularly nice time to visit as there is a Christmas market there. There are two cathedrals and in the crypt of St Baafs there are medieval painting on the walls. We hope to move there one day which says it all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank patmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We have just stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. There were 28 of us in total and we were of mixed ages and all couples.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Right in the middle of things and at this time of year it has the christmas markets and open air ice rink literally outside the front door - well 20 yards away if you want to be picky.

The hotel reception is very bright and modern and the rooms were very clean with lots of space. A slight downside is that our room had a seperate w/c to the bathroom - although this didn't cause us a problem and was more than made up for by the remainder of the hotel facilities which are great. Breakfast at the hotel is a mixture of continental and the good old English bacon, sausage, etc, so something for all tastes.

If you want to see a town that is not as busy as Bruges but with stunning buildings, restaurants, bars, beer houses then Ghent is the place - to have three cathedral like buildings, canals, a castle and waterside bars. etc, is simply stunning. At the time we went the Belfry tower was chiming out Christmas Carols which added to the already magical Christmas feel.

If you like speciality beers then there are plenty to be had. I did some research on the net before we went and I found a small beer pub called the Dulle Griet or Dulle de Griet. It is superb, bar tenders with aprons on who wont let you get to the bar, no standing allowed, you sit round big old barrels which easily seat 10 people. The bar tenders bring the beer to you and dont present you with the bill till you leave. Very reasonably priced and great beers - look for it on the net and try it!

Just to finish, we have also previously stayed at the Ibis Hotel which is also central, and very good value if you know what Ibis's are about. We called in for a drink and it has just undergone renovation so it isa now very modern.

To sum up, great for a weekend break - any time of year, but probably best in summer or when the Christmas markets are there from the second weeend in December onwards.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flamboroughman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed for 12 nights in May, securing an incredible 79.50 Euro/night bed and breakfast rate as part of the Novotel Citybreaks for the entire stay. We visit Ghent for holidays on a regular basis to visit family and so far this has been our best accommodation by far. When our son was younger we stayed in so-called self catering places which were supposed to provide cooking facilities and more space. Both places we stayed at (Verlaet and Puerto Patershol) offered no laundry service, no cleaning, no change of sheets and charged more than 100 Euro/night. This family-oriented Novotel was a wonderful change from our previous experiences: in the middle of the centre of Ghent with several tram stops around; a quiet spacious room with a view of a wonderful courtyard and the Sint Niklaaskerk; very clean linen and bathroom; friendly staff; a great spread for break fast every day. It was a pity that a pool was just a little bit too cold because it looked very attractive indeed. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We spent the Easter weekend in this Novotel property. We made an advanced purchase booking for 85 Euros per night including breakfast which was very good value indeed. The hotel was difficult to find in the dark by car but the helpful emailed directions from Gunther at reception enabled us to find and park at Parking P1. This car park is very near the hotel, very clean safe and secure & 5 euros cheaper per day than the hotel car park (if we could have found it). This Novotel is completely different from the standard Novotel appearance having been integrated into some old historical buildings in the very centre of Ghent. On arrival we were greeted by a very unpleasant smell. There had clearly been some kind of mishap and by the next morning it was clear that the carpet where the problem was had been replaced. The reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The standard room on the 2nd floor was of a good standard and looked recently refurbished. The shower in particular was excellent (a ‘walk in’ shower). Breakfast was very good with very good local produce as well as warm bacon, eggs and sausages. The service was efficient. The hotel is very well situated for both shopping and sightseeing in this beautiful city. There are also many good restaurants in the vicinity. For example opposite the rear entrance of the hotel on the Hoogpoort is an excellent ‘home cooking’ restaurant. The proximity of restaurants and bars does however mean that there can be a lot of noise in the street especially on Saturday night. However, the windows were well sealed and this reduced the noise to acceptable levels. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in Ghent.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Spent two days here in feb. Lovely hotel, has everything you need right in the city centre. Rooms are very comfortable and pristine clean. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ocomaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews