We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Gent Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Gent Centrum
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jakarta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfort and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I am confuse with other people review. I found the hotel was really pleasant. The receptions are 24 hours stand by since I arrived quite late at night. They asked about my trip and gave a warm welcome smile. The location is walk distance to shopping area and historical sightseeing. I stayed 2 nights in dec 2011.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Regards

Sven Toune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    520
    156
    32
    19
See reviews for
322
330
54
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, East Sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We only stayed 1 night on route back to UK after 6 weeks away & many hotel stays.
Hotel is in a very central position & room was fine but definitely overpriced.
Be aware that although it is advertised on booking.com etc as having air conditioning - it Does NOT ! There is a centrally operated air system but you cannot control the temperature in your room individually. We had to keep windows open to cool down & therefore very had a noisy night.
When we booked in we specifically asked the receptionist if breakfast was included as we were not sure & did not want to spend 20euro each when there are plenty of local cafés to grab a coffee & croissant . He said it was included so we of course had some. When we checked out we were told that actually breakfast was not included & expected us to pay 40 euro - which we argued against. The receptionist clearly didn't believe that we had been told otherwise and was quite rude & off! We left feeling disappointed that after paying a lot of money for the room, we had a restless night &
Were not treated at all well when we left.

Room Tip: As no working air con, go for a high floor so it's not so noisy when you have to keep windows op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bookworm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Gent Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We are two female students who have just graduated from University of Pennsylvania, and are backpacking through Europe. Since we decided to visit Ghent last minute, we thought we were "treating ourselves" by booking a hotel room at Novotel.

Upon check-in, the man at the front desk warned us "Americans" against inviting any friends up to our rooms. First of all, that is an incredibly rude assumption to make and accuse two women of. More appalling, each time we returned to the hotel, we were stopped. For example, after dinner we were trying to the parking lot to pick up a jacket from the car, the man on the next shift said he'd been "warned about us" and interrogated us before we were allowed to go down.

Later, at 2am we were awoken in the middle of the night by a phone call from reception. When we picked up, he didn't speak. It made us feel like he was checking in on us.

Breakfast is not included. The bed is stiff and not great. For 30 euro more, you can stay at the Marriott which is right on the canal. I also believe the Best Western and the Holiday Inn Express are similarly priced but offer parking for free.

Best of luck in your travels. Ghent is an incredibly charming city, but skip the Novotel at all costs. This ruined our experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Gent Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

TOUNE Sven
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The room was low-quality-- tacky, worn, and small. There was a knotty hairball stuck to the blanket on my bed.

But more importantly, the hotel staff was extremely rude to us. BARGED INTO OUR ROOM WITHOUT PERMISSION AT 1 AM WHILE WE WERE SLEEPING. (We are two women.) Called us in the middle of the night for no reason. Referred to us as 'rude Americans' and assumed we were breaking the rules of the hotel. Refused to let friends of ours up to our room to use our bathroom. The whole time we were there we felt we were being spied on. The late night entrance into our room made us feel extremely unsafe and violated.

The staff member we checked out with was nice, but all of the evening and night staff was horrid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 165Mon165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Gent Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamnik, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, central location, very friendly staff, clean. The location is perfect, just a minute walk to the Graslei. They have a small outdoor swimming pool, great for the summer, sauna and a beautiful restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
309 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It is located near the center of the city with a lot of attractions within walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. However, during my stay the air conditioners was not working and the room was hot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sincere regards
Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend the hotel is in a great position in terms of accessing all of the main tourist sites, the downside of the location is access if you are driving the hotel carpark is tiny.

The hotel has all of the services you would expect the breakfast is good with a selection of hot and cold food, the wifi was high speed and easy to connect to,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Kind regards

Sven TOUNE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gent Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gent Centrum

Property: Novotel Gent Centrum
Address: Hoogpoort 52, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gent Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Gent Centrum is located in the historic centre of Ghent, close to the tourist attractions and shops. In a modern setting with timeless decor, the hotel features 117 rooms. The bar and restaurant boast a diverse menu in a stylish, warm environment. Depending on the weather, you may choose to dine on the verandah or next to the pool in the terraced garden. This 3 star hotel is perfect for a holiday in Ghent, be it for a weekend or for short stay with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Gent Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gent Centrum Hotel Ghent
Novotel Hotel Ghent
Novotel Ghent
Ghent Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing