We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Gent Centrum
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Location Budget Hotel”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in November 2013 whilst the Christmas Market was taking place. Room was of a good size and clean. Breakfast was not included in my package and seemed quite expensive. With many coffee shops and patisseries nearby - this proved to be the better choice. The hotel car park is tiny and ended up parking in an underground car park in a nearby square. As the prime reason for visiting Ghent was to see the Christmas Market the location of the hotel was brilliant as the market was on the doorstep. Even for visiting Ghent at any other time of the year, I would recommended staying here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Good morning,


Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Kind regards,

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    648
    188
    38
    22
See reviews for
397
437
62
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Still not sure what to make of this one it was clean yes warm yes, good sleep so quiet but something was missing it seemed soulless. The staff were efficient but not friendly. One exception to this being the bar man mr nibbles (he said that was his name ha ha) who was the complete opposite I guess what I am trying to say is that they need more nibbles!

The Hotel location is great with lots to do and see just outside the door. The price was a little over the average and look out for the €16 an day breakfast and it would have been nice to have been told of the €16 a night parking fee when I arrived, if your a nervous driver take the train as the car park is very small and tight to manoeuvre in, not for the faint hearted.

The ultra modern bathroom had a sink that was a work of art but nowhere to keep the soap it slid into the bowl as soon as you let it go. The wardrobe had no doors don't think anyone had stolen them I just think they were never fitted. On the plus side I had free wifi that was of a good speed.

Not sure what the disco lift was all about! Canned music played that loud in a confined space is annoying.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank andrew110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Gent Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

TOUNE Sven
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for four nights over New Year and arrived an hour too early to check in but we were warmly welcomed and able to safely store our luggage whilst we went out for a stroll and waited for the room to be ready. The location is fantastic, right in the heart of old Ghent, and at this time of year you just walk out of the hotel and you're in the Christmas market. The outside of the building is traditional and charming, not a modern box. The facilities in Reception were impressive, with Apple computers that you can stand up at and use free (for a limited time) and an Xbox set up for kids to play on.

The room was great. I particularly liked the shower which you sort of walk round the corner of a glass panel to get into ie no messing about with shower curtains or doors, it felt luxurious. Excellent free wifi, and tv channels included BBC1 and BBC2. If I was being picky I would say we found the weight of the bedclothes really heavy but it didn't stop us sleeping well, just felt a bit odd / unusual.

Breakfast was good with lots of choices hot and cold. I loved the fresh bread. Again if I was being picky a wider / more appealing selection of fresh fruit would have been nice.

I would reserve my highest praise for the exemplary standard of service we received from all the staff we encountered: housekeeping, restaurant and Reception. Everyone went out of their way to help us, for example finding and booking a great restaurant for us at the last minute on New Year's Eve, which wasn't easy. I'd single out Kurt on Reception who is one of those big reassuring guys who makes you feel that nothing can possibly go wrong whilst he's looking after you.

This was our first stay in a Novotel and we were very impressed all round.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Good evening,
Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

TOUNE Sven
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hi
Stayed here recently for a three night stay. The hotel is very centrally located which was great for my stay. It is very close to all local attractions and restaurants which is handy.
Hotel wise I found the room to be very basic. The comfort level of the beds did not meet my expectations. The mattresses are quite thin so support is limited. I would not recommend this hotel if you have a bad back! Breakfast was buffet style and it was good. Nice eggs and fresh fruit. On a negative note we were there and the upper floors were being renovated. The workers started banging and drilling above my room at 06.30hrs. For me any hotel that lets this happen is not a good hotel in my opinion. They indicate in the room that you the customer are the most important but unfortunately actions speak louder than words. For a hotel to let workers being at this hour when they surely know their guests are sleeping is unacceptable in my opinion. As a result if I come back to Gent I will not be staying in this hotel. They are better hotels in the town than this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Gent Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sven TOUNE
Front Office manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here over the New Year 2013/4. Excellent location right in the heart of the town and convenient for all the sights. The hotel has good facilities but what makes it special is the staff - a real hard working team where all work to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights over the New Year on a DBB basis. Unfortunately we arrived 1hour later than expected and our evening meal wasn't the best. However, after that minor blip, I have to say that things improved markedly.

As other reviewers have said the hotel is located in the heart of this lovely city and access to all the attractions, especially the Christmas market, is very easy. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the staff are all very charming and helpful. The rooms are a good size and there are separate toilet and shower rooms.

The breakfast is a very nice buffet with a good range of hot and cold food. The 3 course set evening meals were also good with an emphasis on sea food. The highlight for us though was the gala dinner on New Year's Eve where we had a 5 course meal with free flowing wine during the meal, sparkling wine to start it off and then more to see in the new year. We had intended to go see the fireworks but had such a good time in the hotel that none of our party made it.

We can highly recommend the hotel and the lovely city of Ghent and, hopefully, we'll be back fairly soon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JDB44R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Good evening,
Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Regards

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very good position in the city centre but a tiny car park for the size of the hotel. Otherwise a perfect choice for a weekend break in Gent where there is a lo to see and avoid ambience. There are plenty of very good restaurants just near the hotel but book in advance if you want a particular one as they are all busy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireofDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Warm regards

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gent Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gent Centrum

Property: Novotel Gent Centrum
Address: Hoogpoort 52, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gent Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Gent Centrum is located in the historic centre of Ghent, close to the tourist attractions and shops. In a modern setting with timeless decor, the hotel features 117 rooms. The bar and restaurant boast a diverse menu in a stylish, warm environment. Depending on the weather, you may choose to dine on the verandah or next to the pool in the terraced garden. This 3 star hotel is perfect for a holiday in Ghent, be it for a weekend or for short stay with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Gent Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gent Centrum Hotel Ghent
Novotel Hotel Ghent
Novotel Ghent
Ghent Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing