We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean, modern, great location. Book it.”
Review of Place 2 Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Place 2 Stay
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
South East
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, clean, modern, great location. Book it.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Would definitely return here when back in Ghent. Fabulous location, everything on your doorstep. Well equipped kitchen, condiments, teas/coffees and a supermarket nearby. Excellent friendly owner who was very accomodating for an early arrival. Comfortable bed, variety of channels and no noise issues at all. Great rate for the standard of facilities, location and service. A great stay, thanks Nele.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    39
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
57
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February. The apartment is in a good location, clean and very modern. The apartment is a easy walking distance to main attractions. We did have a couple complaints as follows:
1)We stayed on the first floor and found it incredibly noisy at night (outside the windows as well as people coming in late at night).
2)We emailed the week before to enquire the best way to reach the apartment from the train station, with no response, nor could we find it on the website. When we got to the hotel, Nele advised us that she was "too busy to respond." It was not clear how to contact Nele to arrange for keys, and we assumed there would be someone present when we came to the apartment. This is NOT the case. When we arrived, along with another couple that arrived at the same time, ended up standing around for a while waiting for Nele to turn up. You have to press a button at the front entrance, which apparently goes to her mobile…again very unclear. It would have been nice if this was explained prior to our arrival, as we would have tried to arrange a time to meet rather than show up and not know what to do.
3)As others have stated, payment in cash is required upon check in, which wasn’t a big deal as most small places prefer cash in Europe. I can understand others being frustrated though, as no where did it state that you require cash only upon arrival.
4)We realize that we are not staying in a hotel or a B&B, but when we asked about restaurant recommendations, we were advised to go to the tourist information. We felt the reception was very cold and straight money ex-change.

Ghent is beautiful and I would come back in a minute, but would look for alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPENHAGEN
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days in mid October. The location was great - just behind the Vrijdagmarkt (Friday Market) and within easy walk of all major landmarks in the old city. I took a cab from Gent station as it was easier to get to with a bag - about 10 Euro or so from the station - but you can take a tram (the number 1).

The apartment was well renovated and had all the mod cons that any traveller might want. I stayed in a first floor studio apartment which had good kitchen facilities, modern bathroom, comfortable bed and couch, wifi, cable tv.

The owner, Nele, was very friendly and helpful. The only downside is the need to pay in cash as others have stated.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Gent, which is a beautiful town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank jcscMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I can really not understand why people can only give this place a 4. We stayed here for 2 nights (22,23 of June 2012) The location is just perfect with everything you can possibly need. We came to a club so had A lOng lie in on the Saturday and we did not notice any noises from outside at all. You got ground coffee an enough creamer and sugar etc to survive for at least a week and they also have bottles of shampoo incase you need some. The place was super clean and the mattress is great firm and comfi. The tv has lots and lots of channels incase you need a rest. The owners are not on site but are very reachable trough the intercom button what we preferred. You can not lock yourself out due to the door being a turn lock and there was not any reason we needed to see the owners except to pay the room. there is plenty of info offered in the room And the wifi is free and fast. We will absolutely be back here! Thanks for a great weekend in luxury

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walesdutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Although the Booking.com listing doesn’t make it clear, this isn’t really a hotel. Instead, it’s more like a shared pied-à-terre—and what a lovely pied-à-terre it is. Three things I really liked about the unit:

1) Location. It’s well-located just off the Vrijdagsmarkt (Friday market) and within easy walking distance of the main attractions in central Ghent.
2) The unit itself. I stayed in Unit 103, which had a full-size bed, a couch, a kitchen area, a breakfast counter with stools, a large bathroom with a shower (no bath) and plenty of space in-between. The room is quite large by European standards and even by American standards. The furniture and finishings were all tasteful, modern and incredibly clean/immaculate—it’s as if the owner decorated it for him/herself and is sharing it with us. The kitchen was well-equipped with most things you’d need to do your own cooking.
3) The price. I paid 80€/night + tax midweek, much less than you’d expect to pay for a room of its size and location.

Another thing I liked about the room: the price included fast Internet access.

Three things I didn’t like about the unit:

1) CASH ONLY! The place is cash only even though the reservation requires a credit card. Booking.com doesn’t communicate this clearly enough. I don’t recall seeing “cash only” on the reservation page, and on the confirmation email, the disclosure is buried at the bottom. Perhaps for Europeans, cash-only lodging isn’t unusual, but it’s exceptionally unusual for Americans, and getting cash out of a European ATM can be an expensive endeavor. Booking.com should improve its disclosure, and the lodging operators probably should independently communicate it as well.
2) Not a hotel. As a shared pied-à-terre, it’s not run like a hotel. For example, there’s no “front desk” or any on-site staff. Instead, the proprietor comes onsite for only limited hours, and those hours may be inconvenient. The only other way to reach the proprietor real-time is to call the outside intercom, which apparently rolls over to the proprietor’s cellphone. You need to coordinate your arrival time in advance because the proprietor might not be around if you just show up.
3) Unit 103 overlooks a parking lot. The unit overlooks one of the parking lots supporting Vrijdagsmarkt. This means that, at all hours, cars will be revving their engines and drunk kids will be shouting as they go to their cars. In mitigation, the unit had quite effective double-paned windows that reduced the outside noise a lot.

Other things I didn’t like: bring your own shampoo; no air conditioning + no screens on the windows = mosquitoes in the room; if you react to hypo-allergenic pillows as I sometimes do, bring your own (I always pack a travel pillow—see http://www.epinions.com/review/Thermarest_Compressible_Pillow_CAS0086/content_435153243780).

On balance: if you expect service levels like a hotel, this place might be a little sketchy. But if you expect service levels like a pied-à-terre, then this could be a good bargain for those willing to carry a lot of cash.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ericgoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Unfortunately there was no studio apartments left so we were given the luxury apartment, which was an upgrade!

The accommodation is light, well set out and has every appliance you could ever need. Nele is the nice woman who runs the accommodation speaks brilliant english and is really helpful. She provided suggestions about where to eat and what to visit.

My partner and I only had 3 nights in Ghent, but the apartment really contributed to our brilliant stay. If we come back to Ghent any time soon we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimboAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed in Place 2 Stay in March for 4 days with my father. The couple who run the hotel is very nice and the location could not be better! The apartment is very spacious and stylishly furnished (in a clean, modern scandinavian style) and the large terrace is really nice. Kitchen was well equipped and has everything we needed. The only downside is the very narrow and steep staircase which is not suitable for all (old or sick or people with disablities)

Room Tip: If possible, get the penthouse apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.0 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
996 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place 2 Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place 2 Stay

Property: Place 2 Stay
Address: Penitentenstraat 33, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Place 2 Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place 2 Stay offers luxury studio's, a penthouse suite with terrace and a two-bedroom apartment for rent on short & mid-long term in the historical city center of Ghent, only 200 meters from Vrijdagsmark. The Korenmarkt and St-Braafs Square featuring the Belfort are a 5-minute walk from Place 2 stay. Alijn House Museum is 400 meters away.All accommodation is fully furnished and equipped with all modern comfort.Our studios (32-34m²) have a double bed ; dining corner & kitchen with microwave, grill fridge & freezer as well as tea and coffee making facilities; a lounge area with flat screen tv & wifi internet access; Personal bathroom with shower and a heated towel rail. There is individual central heating and videophone.On the highest, third floor there is the penthouse apartment (72m²)for 2 persons. The penthouse has a private terrace (28m²), nice to enjoy the sun on spring and summer days. The penthouse has a dining table, a seating area with a digital flatscreen-tv and free WiFi (internet hotspot). There is an open kitchen with oven, microwave, grill, fridge & freezer and dish washing machine. The bathroom has a double lavabo and bath tube. There is a separate toilet.The two-bedroom apartment (115m²)for max 4 persons has a seating area with a digital flatscreen-tv, a working area (desk) with free WiFi (internet hotspot); a dining table. There is an open kitchen with microwave, grill, fridge & freezer and dish washing machine. The bathroom has a double lavabo and bath tube. There is a separate toilet.There is a separate storage place with wash machine and dryer, iron; available for long stays or on request.There is always possibility to add an additional bed for an extra person. Extra costs apply.Baby cot available on request, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Place 2 Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing