We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, generous wine package”
Review of Le Petit

Le Petit
Ranked #435 of 859 Restaurants in Ghent
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Watford,UK
Level Contributor
218 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely food, generous wine package”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We thought that this was our best meal in Ghent . Small , atmospheric restaurant of the traditional bistro type. Friendly and helpful service . They were flexible about allowing my husband a substitute starter for the set menu. I loved the black sausage tarte tatin starter . We both had steaks which were cooked exactly correct and had a very agreable wine selection. They just come along and pour, as though you are at a friend's house for dinner !
My parfait dessert was just right and all in all a great meal, just stumbling distance from our hotel . You need to phone to book as they do not seem to have a website.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent restaurant”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I thoroughly recommend this restaurant for the quality of its food, ambience and it's location. We chose garlic butter snails, steak and chocolate mousse, all of which were beautifully cooked and delicious. The beef was especially good - melted in the mouth and accompanied with delicious sauces of our choice. I recommend the Roquefort sauce.

Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, romantic atmosphere”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We went to Le Petit on a thursday night and got in at 8pm without a reservation. There were a few other people there but it was not especially busy. The ambience is cosy and quite romantic (helped, when we were there, by the background music: soft jazz bossa-novas). We went for the 3 course set menu at €47.50 each including a glass of cava, wine and coffee. To start with I had gravlax and my wife had grilled green asparagus with pine nuts. Both were very good. To follow we had skate with capers and brown butter, which came with salad and fries. I do not think that fries are a particularly good match for skate, so I left them for afterwards, but we both agreed that the skate was the best we have ever had. For dessert we had an orange parfait with a vodka shot. Not normally our kind of thing, but it was very good. Service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We were lucky to walk in early enough to get a table without having a reservation! The food was absolutely amazing, we tried all kinds of different things of the menu...unfortnately it got a little busy as the evening went on and the one waitress took her time to react on requests or even notice that were ready to leave a long time again!
Still - the food was spectecular!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpang37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unforgetable”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were fortunate enough to book this for New Years Eve. It was an incredible gastronomic treat. The food was of the highest possible standard, beautifully presented with wonderful service. Words cannot do this place justice. If you are in Ghent don't miss it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanCardiff59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Le Petit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing