We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and friendly”
Review of Guesthouse PPP

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse PPP
Ranked #10 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Luxurious stay, very clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful owners. We were there with a very small child, for which a bed was arranged. The breakfast was outstanding.
Just some minor notes: our suite (courtyard view) has two levels, of which we didn't quite know what to do with the second. Also we had to block the stairs for our child. And the light control was a bit "trial and error". Furthermore we would have liked a somewhat more subtle bed light.
No reasons not to come back, but we will probably try one of the other rooms.

Room Tip: The suites in the top of the building are a bit of a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoupleOfHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 103 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved everything about this place. Agree with all other positive comments made by reviewers. The owners actually live in the building which is evident in the communal areas. Breakfast around the large breakfast table meant we were in their dining room. In the morning or evening we would have never known that the owners have small kids, were it not for their toys in the den adjacent to the dining room. We stayed in the Japanese Room. Nice, nice, nice! Super modern. The milk glass bathroom and shower doors may not be for everybody. Also figuring out the color coded buttons for various lighting options was a little challenging. This place is a keeper. And the price is right too.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank uschi_is_umatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The PPP guest house in Gent is very nice. The owners are friendly, they speak a "bit" of each language. Working distance to the center in 3 minutes; parking around the corner. The breakfast is from 9-10am. The hole house is very modern with air condition, free WIFI, flat TV, bed for the child etc. shoes are not allowed inside - funny but no problem. The suites, upper floor are on two levels. I recommend it!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank DonN1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in a Japanese-style room on the first floor for 3 nights. The room was very spacious, clean and has air-conditioning. Nice ensuite toilet and shower. Clean towels were provided. Breakfast was included in the room price - freshly squeezed orange juice, warm baguette, coffee/tea, fruits, even eggs cooked in any style.

The location cannot be better. Easy walking from the city centre, yet quiet. If you need to take a bus, the bus stop is right outside the B&B.

The owners are a lovely couple with young kids. The place was indeed very clean and well-kept. I have no issues about leaving the shoes at the stairs. It does help to keep the place clean.

Minor dislikes - the Japanese room has a bad smell, i think it's the tatami. However after a while your nose gets used to it. It helps to open the windows to 'air' the room a bit. Also there are stairs to climb, so if you are unable to travel light (like myself) you may have difficulty if your rooom is on a higher floor.

Overall this is a sweet homely place and i will recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ada123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the PPP guesthouse on a hot Thursday evening in August. We had reserved the "Duke of Flanders" room and got a very comfortable, spacy room with a Middle Age touch to it and good quality bedding. However, this room does not have any airconditioning and is located on the first floor at the street side. With a temperature of 27°C inside it was impossible to sleep. After opening of the windows some fresh air came in together with a substantial number of mosquitos and a lot of street noise, preventing us from sleeping also.

After a rather sleepless night we enjoyed the good breakfast with fresh fruit, fresh orange juice and a wide choice of cereal, bread, charcuterie and croissants. Car parking space in a nearby, closed garage was included in the room rate.

The personnel was friendly and helpful. However, nobody was present at the time of our arrival at 9:30 PM in spite of our advance notice a couple of hours earlier, so that we had to wait outside for some time before we could enter the guesthouse.

We were accompanied by another guest from the UK who stayed in the Modern room. This room has airco and is located at the back side of the guesthouse. He enjoyed his stay at the guesthouse and did not have any sleeping issues.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 001JDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Guesthouse...apart from the climb to the top floor, it was special and lovely in every way. The location is central but still quiet, there was free parking for our car, the breakfasts were plentiful, very tasty and generously stocked...and the rooms were terrific. The only small issue was that check-in was a bit difficult, as there isn't always someone there. So be sure you arrange that clearly before your arrival. Anyway, you cannot go wrong staying here--plus Ghent is a jewel of a small city!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZ07040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

After a tour from the owner, we could go upstairs to our rooms. Beware : you've to take off your shoes. All rooms we booked were different, but all were beautiful. In the morning you'll get a healthy breakfast. Also positive are the own parking place and the walking distance to the beautiful surroundings in Gent ( Korenlei; Patershol )

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
1898 The Post
1898 The Post
#20 of 39 in Ghent
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse PPP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse PPP

Address: Poel 9, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: $148 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guesthouse PPP 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse PPP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing