We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super little family run restaurant”
Review of Aroma

Aroma
Ranked #19 of 1,118 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $38
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Incredible, small family-run restaurant.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely little restaurant. Family run affair with the lady at front of house being charming. One of our party was coeliac and she could not have been more helpful. Predominantly red meat on the menu but food was excellent. House red went down very well. Lovely cosy decor. Thank you and well done. Would return and would recommend

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank boff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 275 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

After exploring the city centre we searched TA for restaurants in the area and found this gem. We were lucky to be seated right away (four people) as others were turned away after us. The woman running the floor was great - you can tell she is old school and cares about the restaurant. The food was fantastic - tender steak cooked to perfection and beef stew that was flavoursome. Don’t hesitate and get to Aroma.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank HouseDepositHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Very lovely traditional style restaurant. The shrimp salad was fantastic and the coffee better than the specialty coffee roaster a few doors down that was meant to be the best coffee in town. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank GJMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019 via mobile

The lady that served us was really rude, she kept making rude sarcastic remarks and insulted us, even though the only thing we did was charge our phone without “permission”. She wouldn’t respond when we called for her etc etc. we were not pleased.

Date of visit: December 2019
3  Thank toprakgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019

We were staying in an apartment above a chocolate shop in Donkersteeg and opposite was "Argenvino" a "Steak Restaurant", we thought we'd eat there, Friday night no tables.What a piece of luck!! Just done the alley was "Aroma" what a gem.
The food was fantastic and staff extremely friendly.
There were five of us three had steaks (fillet mignon) with a choiceof sauces, one had a gargantuan mixed grill and the last the famous Belgian Beef Stew.
Everything was perfect from the cooking of the steaks, the large bowls of "Frites", the accompanying salads.
A truly magnificent meal.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ejfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Aroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing