We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Belgium ”
Review of Passion

Passion
Ranked #24 of 1,067 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: friendly welcome and worth trying out the Flemish dishes. Reasonable value.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

When in Belgium... waffles! Caramel, whipped cream, powdered sugar... yum. Also enjoyed ice cream and caramel with it. These Belgian waffles were quite light, pastry like . The caramel, too, was light.

Reasonable prices, great atadf

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank AnkenyCyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 294 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Went in for salads - vegetarian and a smoked salmon salad and went for curried scampi for fun. All were outstanding. The salmon is from Norway and perhaps the best I have tasted. The cream curry over the scampi was delightful. Most pleasant was the service. We are Canadian and bilingual and had a wonderful discussion of languages in Belgium and how dialects evolve. Really a memorable evening - food, service and chat!!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank marathon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We passed by and jumped in when it was almost 0 degrees outside. We have been in Belgium for 5 days and still not tried a waffle but I’m so glad we waited till finding this place. We also ordered hot chocolate which was absolutely delicious. The waffles were crispy and warm and went down a treat. The staff were really friendly and the service was fast.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank WanderingMrsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

A small group of us (6 persons) had to be in Ghent recently to attend an event and decided to have lunch afterwards. I decided to make a reservation in Passion after reading reviews on Tripadvisor (I am originally from Ghent but haven't lived in the city for almost 30 years). This turned out to be a good choice. We were slightly later than announced but our table was ready. We had some time on our hands (it was a Saturday) and decided to start with drinks, then a two course meal and finally dessert and coffee.
I had selected the restaurant in part because it has a fairly varied menu, with all of the habitual choices. The food was quite good (not Michelin star material but that was not what we were looking for) and tasty. And service was impeccable and swift. Price was reasonable.
This is an excellent restaurant if you are in the heart of the city center. Perhaps less well known than some of the traditional places along the Graslei and Koornlei, but still nicely situated in the shadow of the Belfry.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jozefo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Ghent has a number of outstanding restaurants. Although Restaurant Passion isn't outstanding, the food was good and servings generous. I started with the cheese croquettes and then had the Flemish beef stew that was served with house made potato chips and something similar to applesauce but better. The only desserts available were ice cream but it was too cold and rainy the night we were there to want to eat ice cream. Waffles aren't available at dinner time.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AnAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passion also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Passion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing