We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic cosy Belgian hideaway, perfect for staying in Gent!”
Review of Bed in Gent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed in Gent
Ranked #5 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a lovely bed and breakfast, tucked away in a quiet, safe and friendly little neighborhood, easy to find by car, very easy to park on the street (50 yards away, 3 euros per day),and only a short stroll accross the bridge to the main centre of old Gent. As all other reviewers have said, Tom could not have been more helpful with dinner suggestions in local neighborhood restaurants ( we acted on 2 of his reccomendations, "Multatuli" and "Het Gooden Hoofd" and were delighted with our meals and the ambience). Our room was up 2 steep flights of stairs ( but Tom carried our bags up, and down on departure). We immediately felt at home. Our room was spacious, comfortable, with a high ceiling, plenty of light from the big window, good size bathroom, and big bed. Tom has 2 rooms available, the other one is on the floor below. In both rooms he has provided a turntable and a range of long playing vinyl records, which was a welcome change from having a TV. We enjoyed coming "home" after a good evening out and listening to music.
Tom served us a tasty breakfast, the usual range of croissants, rolls, pan du chocolat, and offered eggs, cheese, continental meats,fruit and yoghurt.
We stayed 2 nights, which was a decent time to give us a taste of Gent. There is a great art museum/gallery in the Citadel Park, The Museum of fine arts, which has 2 Bosch, 3 Breughels and a Rodin. The Cathedral was also stunning, with a very old Crypt full of good art. Gent is really easy to walk around, but if your legs need a rest, there are trams. If we came to Gent again we would definitely stay here. We thought it was really good value.

Room Tip: In common with much of the Continent, pillow provision is minimal. We did bring 2 of our own pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birminghamcorbiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wife and I stayed for two nights in July 2012. Tom is a great host, the location is ideal too. We showed up, he took us to our room, and then he gave us a nice 15 minute talk on Ghent. Room was cute, had a craft of water, with little Belgian chocolates ready when we arrived. Our room on the top floor also had a record player with an eclectic collection, a nice touch. Room was also clean, and very nice size. Breakfast was delicious, local baked goods, fruit, cereal, eggs, tea, coffee.

To nitpick I'd mention the 2nd floor bathroom is setup as a tub, not a shower. However, this didn't bother us.

Side note, we stayed during a very lively music festival in July. Also, stop by cafe het gouden hoofd; just a few streets over from Bed in Gent.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inindo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Tom is a wonderful host and on our arrival took the time to highlight places to eat and places to visit in Gent. He is an interesting character and his career as a musician is reflected throughout the property; there was even a record player in our room with an eclectic collection of vinyl for our evening entertainment! The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable and breakfast was very tasty; particularly Tom's Mum's home-made jams! Local parking is 3 Euros for 24hrs and is easy to find. The 2012 Trip Advisor Excellence Award for Bed in Gent is justified and Tom should be proud of his service. Thanks Tom!

Room Tip: First floor room had better choice of records!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here in May 2011 (the drop down option on this form won't let me go back that far). The B&B is in such a great location, less than 5 minutes from the train station and the city center, and in a quiet little corner of the city. We stayed in the room on the top floor which was lovely and spacious. Tom had great recommendations for a fantastic dinner in a place we never would have found on our own, and for a nearby, atmospheric pub where we popped in mid-afternoon for a drink. We did feel badly that Tom carried our rather large bags up two very skinny and steep flights of stairs. Overall a great place and we recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainer5740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

After arriving Saturday afternoon we were pleased to find out that our 3 euro parking fee would take us right round to Monday afternoon as you don't have to pay for Sundays, what a great start! Tom our host for the weekend was charming and polite, he was off to a concert but still took the time to recommend a few places to see. He also recommended the local bar which was great. When we explained that we were guests of Tom's they were genuinely friendly and happy to chat away. Tom advised us to make ourselves at home and feel free to use the kitchen to make tea and coffee when we returned in the evening .Each of the rooms has a record player what a nice change from T.V and C.D players, and there was records to play!. Breakfast was a very pleasant affair and it was nice that Tom stayed around chatting about his concerts and giving us more advise on things to do that day. Our two night stay was not long enough and when we return to Gent it will definatly be returning toTom's.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a planned holiday in the Ardennes - my husband and I, my mother and 2 small children - and hoped to finish the trip off with a weekend in Bruges as my mother wanted to visit. After not being able to secure decent accommodation to suit all our needs in Bruges I was recommended to visit Ghent by a few people instead...

Found Bed in Gent on Tripadvisor and impressed with the reviews (and the clean and simple website) enquired about booking it. Tom from the first communications was lovely.

Others have gone into detail about the accommodation and breakfasts so won't go on about that suffice to say it was very clean and tastefully decorated. Fabulous bath on the top floor too- perfect for Dynasty style bubble baths. We had a very comfortable stay.

What made it special was Tom's hosting - my husband enjoyed staying up having a chat downstairs and my daughter chatted away educating Tom in all things Beano. 'Grandma' loved it too. He is a fountain of knowledge on Ghent and recommended a few places to us which went down well. After the unfriendly folk of the Ardennes it was refreshing to meet a charming Belgian!

I am glad I listened to my friends and opted to visit Gent over Bruges (I've visited bruges before and enjoyed it but it is SO touristy) - Ghent is touristy too but has a much more 'real' vibe about the place and we loved walking around on a Saturday night soaking up the atmosphere, unfortunately the kids got tired so we had to go back to the b&b. Can't wait to go back and do more exploring, staying at Bed in Gent again of course, - but maybe will leave the kids at home next time :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssmm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

although I did not stay in this B&B because no availability , the owner was so kind to suggest me another B&B! I explained that, as young lady travelling alone, I was looking for a safe and nice place to stay overnight and he helped me with some very useful advices.

So I would like to thank Tom for his kindness and help! greetings from North Italy
ilenia

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank cereaGianduia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.6 mi away
1898 The Post
1898 The Post
#15 of 39 in Ghent
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoOr10 B&B
DoOr10 B&B
#4 of 116 in Ghent
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hancelot
Hancelot
#2 of 116 in Ghent
284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden in the City
Garden in the City
#11 of 116 in Ghent
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed in Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed in Gent

Address: Lucas Munichstraat 18, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: $73 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A roomy guest-house, the bright south-oriented bathrooms and the shared dining room with a dash of modern retro - really, do not skip breakfast in that dining room.Also a friendly neighborhood, very much alive (without the rush). A fashionable quarter, if you like, with the marina nearby. It takes a five-minute walk to the railway station. Only ten minutes to my favorite coffee shop or the library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed In Gent Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing