We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff, amazing location, awesome rooms”
Review of Simon Says

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simon Says
Ranked #6 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Simon and his mates were wonderful during our stay in Ghent. The rooms are beautiful, and the hotel location is ideal for walking around Ghent.
The coffee bar that is part of the B&B is a must visit even if you are not staying at the place itself, it's great for relaxing by the square.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubbuTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 124 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed with Simon in September of 2012 for one night after staying in neighboring Bruges for 2 and wished that we would have done it the other way around! The minute we arrived in the very busy coffee area, the inn keepers dropped everything to carry our bags upstairs, made us feel very welcome, and offered recommendations of things to do. The resident "fat" cat was also cute (Simon, is he really on a diet?) The inn is located in a hip part of town and the employees were so accomodating. The rooms were clean, spacious, and nice. Bottom line: Stay with Simon and the boys anytime for one of the best B&B breakfasts I have ever experienced. It was also the best coffee of the trip. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffanie Presla... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I didn't stay there, only went there to have a tea and a slice of their famous carrot cake, and I must say: AMAZING! Seriously, it's absolutely worth the 5,5€ (I know, not that cheap...).
And the waiters are great, they are always so funny and friendly!
After a nice walk around Gent, I think this is a wonderful spot to rest your feet and your mind.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ines_mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just a few lines to reccomend the truly outstanding Simon Says....first class hosts Smon and Chris made us feel genuinely welcome and really helped make our stay in Ghent, pointing out all the best places to dine, drink, dig for vinyl and generally enjoy ourselves to the max. It must be said that all the staff at Simon Says are great and super helpful as well as being a really good laugh as well....they make the place what it is.
Lots been said already about location but its worth mentioning that the square outside is one of the best in Ghent and breakfast outside one was always one of the highlights of the day. All in all dont miss, truly truly brilliant, twenty thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Back again after a while, it was nice to stay again at this lovely B & B. Easy access to all the sights in Ghent and lots of restaurants close by. Yhe weather was brilliant too which enabled us to sit out to sample the delights of Ghent. As last time, Chris & Simon were ready to spend time talking about options of where to go and even booking a table for us at a local retaurant. Breakfast was abundant with freshly sqeezed orange juice, ham, cheese, eggs and pastries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brussels-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for six nights in June and this place certainly lives up to the good reviews.
The location is brilliant, on the edge of the old town with some fantastic restaurants on your doorstep. We got a taxi from the main train station but the dampoort station is a short stroll away along the river and from there we got a train to Brugge for a day out.
The room was spotless with big windows, comfy bed and excellent bathroom.
Breakfasts were fantastic. The food and coffees just kept coming and filled us up so we didn't need lunch.
Christopher and Simon were brilliant hosts, gave us good suggestions of places to go and restaurants to try. We visited the Villa bardon restaurant next door on our first night and they had asked the owners to get us a drink on them which was a lovely touch. The staff in the coffee shop we all fantastic and vache the cat was there to greet us every night when we got in.
The rooms are on the second floor and the stairs are narrow and steep but we never had to carry our cases up them as the staff insisted on doing it. It is on a busy junction so a bit noisy but they provide ear plugs (or just have another beer before bed!!!!).
No air con but didn't think we would need that so when temps hit 30 degrees it was a bit of a shock!
All in all this is a fantastic place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

A fantastic B&B in a great location, on the edge of the foodie district and a short walk to the historic sights and canal side bars.The owners and the coffee shop staff were all extremely personable and helpful. Despite managing to book for the wrong month, we were given a friendly welcome and were very grateful that Chris & Simon managed to sort out a room at very short notice! (luckily it was a week night and a room was still available). We had room number one which was stylish and comfortable with a grand art noveau style window and an impressive bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and served with style in the coffee shop downstairs. It has a laid back feel but came with much attention to detail and served the best soft boiled eggs I've had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleRedLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 38 in Ghent
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon Says? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon Says

Address: Sluizeken 8, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: $130 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon Says, a boutique Bed & Breakfast and coffee bar, is situated in the heart of the historic center Patershol, housed in a beautiful art nouveau building. The two luxury en-suite rooms have a minibar, flatscreen tv, free wifi connection and beautiful views over the historic area. Continental breakfast is served in the coffee bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simon Says Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing