We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you r looking for a good breakfast experience go elsewhere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DE NIEUWE BROODERIE

DE NIEUWE BROODERIE
Ranked #503 of 839 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $28 - $34
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
2 reviews
“If you r looking for a good breakfast experience go elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went for breakfast this morning with thought of reading the paper on the ipad. But hey ho, in 2013 their WIFI is only available for guests staying overnight! Upon making a remark about it I was told i could leave if i wanted to. Should have done so. Breakfast was meager and expensive for what you get. Add to that the arrogance of staff and management, suddenly one of nicest locations in Ghent looses all its charm!

Helpful?
Thank Evc1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    27
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Ghent and good coffee too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend breakfast here. I ordered the Brunch option for 17,50€ and it was worth every penny. It included two coffees, fresh orange juice, basket of breads, two croissants, smoked salmon, salad, prosciutto, three types of cheese and a delicious jam. This meal will keep you going all day long as you wander around this beautiful town. Pop into the Design museum across the street too if you have time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mccabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Superb cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

There appears to be a real dearth of cafes serving breakfast in Ghent but this place makes up for it. We had the brunch breakfast which was not only reasonably priced but superb - the food just kept coming. A great relaxed atmosphere was the icing on the cake. My advice would be don't bother walking around trying to find a place to eat - you wont find better than here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
393 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Good lunch restaurant with organic products”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

N51°3'16.3" E3°43'27.8" Opposite the Design Museum in the historic centre of Gent, this lunchroom with terrace offers breakfast, brunch and lunch. Mainly products of organic farming are used. They offer homemade pastries and cakes and daily fresh wholemeal bread. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal and in the front and back room you can enjoy works from artists on the walls. We enjoyed our lunch in May 2012 so much that we returned the next day. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goyourownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great little place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at a different hotel but loved the look of the Brooderie while walking by the day before. The breakfast was an excellent price so we thought we would come back. It was a very good decision. The breads and coffees were excellent. The meats, eggs and cheeses were perfect in the morning. There was almost more food than we could eat. The restaurant was nice and small, giving it a cozy feeling. Highly recommend here for breakfast if you are in Ghent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JosephandLianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DE NIEUWE BROODERIE also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to DE NIEUWE BROODERIE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing