We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Engelen Aan De WaterKant
Ranked #21 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was our first time in a B&B and it was a heavenly experience. The owners of the hotel were ready to welcome us and gave us a lot info about how to walk to the center and restaurants near by. Our room was very pretty "shabby chic" decorated room, with immaculated white bed and cortains. The bathroom is even better that the bedroom, we spent more time in the bathroom due to the beauty and how amazing was the bathtub. The owner brought us the breakfast to our room and was perfect. Piece of advice, close the windows bcs during the night is quite noisy at the street. We can't wait to go back to this B&B

Room Tip: take the "large double room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarceloenJen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

What an amazing place! Ann has a beautiful home on a canal, that she has completely restored but maintained the charm and decor of the original building and era. Our beautiful suite had a balcony overlooking the canal and there is another suite on the 3rd floor, each with a private bath. Breakfast is served in her dining room with fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, local pastries, breads, meat, cheese and eggs. Her home is within walking distance of many restaurants as well as the historical section of Ghent. We were within easy driving distance of Brugge, Brussels, Antwerp, Delft, and only 2.5 hrs from Amsterdam. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpeirson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed with Ann whilst visiting friends in Ghent. The home is beautiful and a very restful place to stay - but although it is on a quiet canal, it is very quick to get into the centre of town, and has excellent pubs and restaurants within a few moments walk.
We stayed with our 7 year old daughter who loved the room and the balcony looking over the canal. It was over Easter and Ann left lovely little treats for us each day with something special for our little girl.
Breakfast was lovely with lots of lovely fresh bread, croissants and fruit. It was a fabulous place to stay and we will certainly stay again when we return to Ghent. We would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ann's elegant home is the perfect B&B. It goes without saying that the rooms are immaculate and comfortable. Just a 15 minute walk to the city centre and two excellent eateries less than 2 minutes away. However, it is Ann's thoughtful little extras that make this a Five Star place to stay. Added to that, the warm hospitality and amazing breakfasts in the company of Ann and her husband. What's not to like?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Although we spent 5 days seeing the sites of Belgium, Engelen Aan De WaterKant was what we were talking about when we got home. Ann was a gracious and accommodating host and her attention to detail with the room was amazing. Breakfast was a heaving tray of goodies left outside the door to be enjoyed in our dressing gowns. The centre of Ghent was easily walkable for and, if you're feeling sprightly, it's walkable from the station too. There's a nice little bar a few doors towards the centre and bakery 30m in the other direction.

Overall, our stay was close to perfect. I'm not sure we'll stay anywhere quite like this for a long time.

Room Tip: Upper room has an en-suite, lower room has a separate (private) bathroom. Separate bathroom was abso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I absolutely loved the decor (our second floor bathroom was to die for) and wish Ann could decorate my home! Everything down to the napkins was beautiful and stylish. Breakfast was beautifully presented and delicious. Ann was a kind and gracious host and even offered us a ride to the train station upon our departure. Although the location is a bit of a walk from the heart of the town, it was perfect for walking off those heavy Belgian meals. We really enjoyed our stay in Ghent and Engelen Aan De Waterkant made it all the more special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed in the 2nd floor double room in mid-November 2012.

Both the bedroom and bathroom are spacious, clean, well decorated, and very charming. The bed is large and comfortable. Free wi-fi internet access is available. The breakfast was delicious.

Ann, who runs the B&B, is very friendly and helpful, providing lots of sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. She even helped me find places that serve Ghentse Waterzooi, the soup that the city is known for. She also makes some very yummy scrambled eggs. :)

A couple of things to be aware of.
- The location is slightly further out from the city center. You have to take a short tram ride to get to the main historical sites, but it's pretty easy. You can also take a nice stroll along the canal if you like.
- The rooms are only accessible by stairs, so be aware if you have very heavy luggage or require accessibility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.7 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.1 mi away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 115 in Ghent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hancelot
Hancelot
#3 of 115 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engelen Aan De WaterKant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engelen Aan De WaterKant

Property: Engelen Aan De WaterKant
Address: Ter Platen 30, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Engelen Aan De WaterKant 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast along the river Schelde in Gent. Two rooms (2 floors) are available for guests. Breakfast is served in the owner's livingroom overlooking the city garden. Situated in the art quarters , museums SMAK, MSK and Sint Pieters Abby at 5 minutes walk, historical center at 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Engelen Aan De WaterKant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing