We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The absolute best! Unforgettable experience..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hancelot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hancelot
Ranked #3 of 113 Ghent B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The absolute best! Unforgettable experience..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. I can honestly say it was one of the best hotel experiences ever. From the ever so kind, hospitable and professional staff that does everything to make you feel like home, up to the impressive, romantic and atmospheric rooms! It felt like we were royals staying in Ghent for a night! This is one of those hotels where you feel like its worth every eurocent; because what you get is not just a room, but a whole experience! Top notch! Special thanks to the staff for the sweet present that was waiting for us in our room celebrating our anniversary! You gained two life long customers! See you again nextyear!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JwpvanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    66
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
155
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a lovely hotel a short walk from the centre of town in a discreet cobbled sidestreet. My daughter and I spent one night here and enjoyed every minute. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us a very welcome drink after our long journey and plenty of information on Ghent and how to spend our time there. Particularly useful was the advice to see Ghent at night because the lighting is absolutely magical. Our room was delightful with antique furniture and thoroughly modern bathroom amenities. We resisted the temptation to play the grand piano downstairs but enjoyed the grand atmosphere. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and again, set in a dinnig room fit for Marie Antoinette. Lovely. My only disappontment was that we could spend only one night there.
If you're arriving by train, I would suggest you get a taxi from the station, it's not far (too far to walk though) but we found ouselves waiting at the wrong bus stop and when we did find the right stop, the driver didn't know where Vijwindgatenstraat was so we had to guess when to get off with the help of googlemaps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mand195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Lovely to read you have enjoyed your stay and wished you would have stayed longer. From the train station St Pieters you can take buss 76,77 or 78, direction city centre. Since they are renewing the train station it is sometimes a bit confusing where the bus leaves. Get off at the stop called Vijfwindgatenstraat (name of the street of the hotel) or ask at the driver for the first stop opposite the “Zuidpark” or also called “King Albert Park”. Indeed a tour through Ghent during the evening is highly recommended. Ghent has won the City of Light Award like large cities as Seoul and Vienna. Thousands of led-lights show you the magnificent buildings and spots. We can provide you with a special map to do a City of Light-tour on your own pace. We provide you with a handy bag filled with glasses and a bottle of wine to stop at one of the beautiful views and enjoy a drink. How romantic is that! Furthermore we provide you with a blanket to keep you warm whilst enjoying the view. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilze
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a really great hotel when you like grandeur. Although the hotel is in a neighbourhood that has seen better times, the hotel is really worth a stay. Provided you like the old historic details, grandeur and nostalgia.
The entrance and lobby have classical furniture, high ceilings, a fireplace.
The receptionist is very friendly and check-in is smooth. There is limited space to park your car, it is recommended to book in advance.
The (superior) room is spacious, again with classical furniture, and chandelier.
Bath room also spacious with jacuzi and massage shower.
Breakfast is good but relatively simple.

On the negative side: rooms are somewhat noisy, the (splendid) wooden floors squeak and there is no double glass in the windows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It is very nice to read you have enjoyed the grandeur of our Charm Hotel. Indeed the wooden floors are the authentic wooden floors from 1840. Very beautiful and practical for good cleaning and therefore good for allergies however every beauty has disadvantage and the authentic wooden floors indeed sometimes squeak a bit. My apologies for this inconvenience. The windows in your room are the authentic hand blown glass windows and indeed no double glass. Luckily we are located in quiet little side-street opposite the park. For the parking: indeed best to reserve beforehand. The numbers of places are limited but as alternative there is the commercial parking at 5 minutes walking from the hotel. Thank you again for saying: the hotel is really worth a stay! Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Saling, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm with the 4/5 star reviewers - we have been once for a two night stay and are returning in January. You do need to be able to walk upstairs as there is no lift (booking.com was clear about this) but our room was lovely and it is a wonderful building. If you are bringing a car make sure you request a parking space in advance

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. Indeed it is best to reserve a parking place beforehand since the number of places is limited. However if all the places have been reserved, there is a commercial parking very nearby. With regards to the stairs, a tip when booking a room: the Charm Rooms with private bathroom with shower are on the third floor, the Charme Deluxe Rooms with private bathroom with more spacious shower, high ceilings and they are larger rooms are on the 2nd floor, and the very large Charm Superior Rooms are on the first floor and their bathrooms feature shower and a bath. On the ground floor there are no rooms. Keep that in mind when making a reservation. Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanten, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

+ absolut fantastic team (welcoming, friendly and very personal team)
+ the opposite af an anonymous business hotel
+ very good breakfast
+ old villa from a Baron / expect a lot of atmosphere, wooden panels, high rooms etc.
+ large (and calm) rooms
+ in 10 min by foot in the City Center
+ attractive price/value relation

(+) just make sure that you reserve one of the three parking places

Room Tip: try to get the first floor rooms to prevent 2 or even 3 stairs up (no problem for my but perhaps for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSimon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
This is really a compliment from somebody who stays in hotels for business so often! You have experienced what we like our small hotel to be: a charming hotel with a cosy atmosphere. The candles burning, the authentic details throughout the building with high ceilings and large fire-places, 12 individually decorated rooms with antique furniture but with modern bathrooms, and of course most important: the personal service and friendliness throughout your stay! Looking forward to welcome you again and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The building was superficialy restored,by adding llight-structure bathrooms.Cracks in the corners already reapered.
I was asked to pay up-front upon arrival,even before seeig the room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The pillow and mattress were horrible, fully synthetic.
The room itself had no windowws!!! Also, no freezer and no aircon, so we culd not sleep because it was furnise-hot!
The reception closes at 10 p.m. No room-service or minibar; no pub or shop in the neighbourhood.
Bottom line: not remotely close to what they advertise; quite a rip-off!!

Room Tip: Close to the red light district
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ovidiu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. This way I am able to clarify a few of your remarks for future guests and change things for the better for some of your remarks. But first of all: all our descriptions in ALL publications and on ALL websites are correct. We take it as a high priority to give guests an honest impression to avoid disappointment. I remember your stay and the room you have stayed in: no window is not true and is forbidden by Belgian law so not possible! You had three windows. Indeed, two of them are located high and cannot be opened. The third one is at least 1 meter by 1,50 large and is located by the chairs and can be opened fully easily. This Charm Hotel is in an old town-house from 1840 which has been fully renovated 5 years ago. It is normal in a house of that age that some cracks re-appear in the walls. The pillows on the bed are anti-allergic and there are feather pillows in the clothing cabinet as mentioned on a small sign by the bed-side. You were also missing some facilities which we indeed do not offer. However what we do offer is: the personal service at check-in with full tips about Ghent whilst enjoying a welcome drink combined with facilities from a hotel like fully equipped fitness, private use of the sauna (small extra charge), bike-rental, free wireless internet in public areas and rooms, lobby-lounge with fire-place ideal for having a drink and garden with terrace. We are between a B&B and a hotel and with only 12 rooms we cannot offer all services you would have wished for. To overcome the hotel-facilities you were missing we try to offer them in a different way. Reception only open till 22:00 hrs: after 22:00 hrs there is a white phone on the desk in direct connection with my mobile phone to overcome the missing of 24 hour reception. In an email with all details about the hotel, which we send to everybody before arrival, you can order all kind of beverages to be put in your room upon arrival. This way we overcome the missing of a mini-bar and we do not have to charge the high prices like normally in hotel mini-bars. In this email we also mention that payment is done on check-in. Everybody is also more than welcome to see the room first before paying. But we like to finalize all administration beforehand so we can focus in the mornings on the breakfast buffet and our breakfast guests and you do not have to wait in line at check-out when you might be in a hurry. And indeed no air-conditioning: normally with the high ceilings it stays very cool in this authentic building (the advantage of an old Town House from 1840) but 39 degrees Celsius outside was an exception in Belgium and not measured since 1947! For the normal average summer temperatures in Belgium it is nice in the rooms especially in the rooms with high ceilings on the first and second floor. There is also a van available in your cabinet. What I absolutely do agree on is that on a Sunday, as you requested, it is very difficult to find something to eat for lunch nearby. Sunday a lot of restaurants are closed and especially during the holiday period. There are a lot of restaurants in the neighborhood but I have to check which open on a Sunday lunch. And indeed the room-prices were very high during your period since Mr Leonard Cohen had a concert around the corner. That is something I will re-consider for the future: when demand is high NOT making the prices TOO high. Thank you for that tip. But you can read from the other reviews that we do not do that normally: of the 48 reviews so far gave 31 excellent and 12 very good! So it was an exception. Thank you again for your remarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
228 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Charme Hotel Hancelot and really enjoyed it!

The building, the former luxurious home of an industrialist, gives a good impression of 19th and early 20th century wealth. Mosaic floors, wooden stairs, high ceilings etc. Especially the breakfast room is a real beauty.

Cannot understand the comments about staff and breakfast. Staff was always available and very helpful, you can feel that they enjoy making their guests feel welcome. Breakfast was varied and nicely arranged and included different types of cheese, fresh fruit salad, bread rolls, croissants & danish, jam, yoghurt, boiled eggs, different types of cereals etc. OK, if you are used to the bigger and more luxurious chain hotels, these might have more variety, but for what it is (more bed and breakfast type of hotel) breakfast was absolutely adequate.

We stayed in the least pricey room type. The room was smallish but charming. The bathroom was new and had a good shower. Being able to sleep with window open (moscito net in window frame) was especially nice on a hot summer night.

The hotel is located approx. 10-15 minutes by foot from the old town. Location-wise, there are other (chain) hotels which are located more centrally (Marriott, Novotel, Ibis) but for us staying at a more individual place was more important and we enjoyed the stroll.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! Indeed we are between a Bed & Breakfast and a Luxury Hotel. With 12 charming rooms we are too large to call us a B&B although we offer the same personal and cosy atmosphere as a B&B: full guidance at check-in to explain the places of interest in Ghent, the good restaurants, the nice typical shops & boutiques whilst you enjoy a welcome drink. Candles burning everywhere, rooms all differently decorated, soft classical piano music at the background…..And on the other end we offer the facilities of a large hotel: fitness, sauna, garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, lovely lobby with large fire place: ideal for having a drink or reading a book. Indeed, in between a hotel and B&B and therefore the name Charm Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.8 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancelot

Property: Hancelot
Address: Vijfwindgatenstraat 19, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hancelot 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hancelot is located in the city-centre of Ghent: 10 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral. The elegant decorated hotel is located in a former Baron’s townhouse dated 1840: high ceilings, authentic wooden floors, and beautiful chimneys. Hancelot features 12 stylish bedrooms, lobby-lounge, garden, terrace, fitness and sauna. At check-in a welcome-drink is served whilst you become many tips, city-map and elaborate information on Ghent. The personal service of a B&B combined with facilities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing