We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”

Restaurant De Graslei
Ranked #20 of 849 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Dutch, Seafood, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant De Graslei, located near one of the most charming places of Ghent. At Graslei nr7 you will discover an attractive and hospitable eatinghouse. You will receive a warm welcome and be served as a friend of the house. The best Belgian salads, fish- and meatdishes will be at your choise.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for lunch on a Sunday, attracted by the TripAdvisor reviews. We sat in the outdoors area, which is actually a large room closed on three sides, with a canvas roof, and were immediately enveloped by cigarette smoke. The service was slow and the food average. Perhaps the indoor restaurant offers another experience but as far as we are concerned, we will not be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Tuscany82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    470
    123
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The outdoor seating is less formal than the indoor dining room, which is elegant. Definitely order some moules and frites (mussels and fries). One order is enough for 3 people. Also try the traditional chicken stew from Ghent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank emiliahija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
92 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lunch in Gent”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

On our way home from Oostende we had lunch in this very nice restaurant just next to the canal. The food was great, after a small mistake - bringing us the menu - we got a nice lunch with a great view. Please note if you want to sit in the sun you have to wait until 2 o clock, but then you will most likely not get a table! It is not possible to make a reservation outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Moules”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Ate here at end of a long day of travel as it was just near our hotel,The Marriott. Great Moules and massive portions. Lovely interiors and welcoming staff. Ate there with kids in the evening and felt comfortable. Service a bit slow and forgetful though at times and starters a bit tasteless and non descript. Pleasant enough and would go back again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Voyage_Jules1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely menu, great service”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We had shrimp croquettes for starter. Gorgeous but only luke warm. Main courses were spaghetti bolognaise, which was spaghettini sweet and gooey... Not the best I've had if I'm honest, the steak was enormous and tasty, fries were perfect, the gourmand house salad was exceptional. Portions are extra large. We paid €30 each with 3 soft drinks and 2 beers. Service was polite, friendly and accommodating. Alfresco dining in Ghent comes with outdoor heaters, blankets and well insulated marquees so eating out is invariably in a cosy setting with stunning views of the river. Great atmosphere. Closes early so grab a table by 8pm if you can. Will return again with friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant De Graslei also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant De Graslei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing