We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of C-Jean - CLOSED

C-Jean
Price range: $39 - $154
Cuisines: French, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

It was a long time since we went to this restaurant. In the meantime there was a change of chef, so we were curious about the kitchen's level.
We were delighted about the mix of fresh ingredients, well presented, good service and a good wine.
The restaurant was crowded and this caused a lot of noise, the only negative aspect of a nice evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fvanvlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic experience once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

the food is absolutely wonderfull , excellent mix of local products and vegetables , fruit , etc .... I have been here 6 times the last 2 years and every visit was wort it - a lot!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank at100miglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“contemporary, fine cuisine and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had dinner here with friends in October 2012. Small, intimate restaurant with a contemporary style (wood, concrete, white, inox) and good lighting. Service was swift and friendly throughout the evening. Complex champagne by the glass (Tarlant), a rather limited wine-list but with good choices from around the world. We picked comfort wines: a Muga white and Norton red. We had the degustation menu (à la carte is very limited with most plates appearing in the menu anyway) which consisted of about 7 courses for 75 euros. All were correct and attractive preparations of fresh ingredients with meticulous presentation. A modern style, but I liked the richness in flavors (e.g. use of butter). On the other hand, all plates were built up in the same way and there were no real surprises. I would definitely return here when in Ghent, and highly recommend C-Jean for a leisurely meal and a special occasion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tripcat900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inconsistent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

It's difficult to rate this restaurant's quality as it was serving some excellent creations, but mixing it with slightly less successful choices. And serving cultured sea bream fillets (although excellently prepared) as red mullet without notice is absolutely not done in a place like this. Decent food, but overpriced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wasp_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I had the set lunch. An absolute delight, fantastic and attentive service from start to finish. Although the menus are available in English, they are minimalist and only list the central item of the dish. But you won't care, because all of the food is simply fantastic, a pleasure to look at and eat, right up to the last bite. Walking in during lunch without a reservation was not a problem. The 3 course meal lasted 90 delightful minutes.

Be forewarned: the restaurant is hard to spot on the outside -- there is no big sign and the exterior is bland. It is also listed in the wrong location on GoogleMaps -- it is actually across the street from the entrance to the St. Nicholas church, on the south-central side of the town center.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smooth_Sluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C-Jean also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing