We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, weak wine list, expensive”
Review of Belga Queen

Belga Queen
Ranked #114 of 879 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $59 - $149
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, weak wine list, expensive”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just spent £137 for dinner for two plus wine and water. We tried to drink lower down the wine list and the sommelier recommended a wine that it turned out they were out of. Not a sign of a man who really knows his cellar. The second choice was a fairly bleak Bordeaux and not worth the candle. Starters were big and fine enough. My husband's steak tartare came already prepared when he had said specifically he wanted to do the mixing himself. The manager dealt with it quickly, but only after asking if he had been really, really certain that's what he had asked for. My waterzooi was made with chicken and was good. The location is romantic and the restaurant has an exciting designer ambience and overall it was a good experience. We found that restaurants in Ghent were pricy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank typingjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    331
    174
    126
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“leather couches for fine dining? My heart sank”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The seating in our section upstairs was a choice of leather couch-type seats - i can't eat with my knees higher than my stomach - or at a table overlooking the ground floor of the restaurant. We opted for the latter and spent the whole time cramped into tiny seats, on a tiny table, fearful of dropping cutlery on to diners or bar staff below. We had trouble reading the menu as the lighting was so poor. The service was OK - although we had no drinks by the time our mains arrived. The steak and chips were excellent, seabass lovely, but the starter of snow crab, and the risotto with the seabass were underwhelming. But we just weren't relaxed and for nearly £100 with drinks this special occasion meal was third rate. The atmosphere was very flat. Maybe BQ just does not have to try as it's the hot ticket. Try Brasserie Pakhuis instead - it's in a different league for food, service and ambience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nm4471a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SO SO”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were there twice.
Nice in summer on the terrace, cosy in winter.
Food is excellent for seafood, so so for the rest.
Service is also so so, just like a popular restaurant, people do not really matter if you are satisfied or not.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SOPHIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Exquisite location with excellent Belgian cuisine with only local produtcs”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ghent is the most friendly town of Belgium and the location of this restaurant is at one of the most beautiful places of this medieval city. It was a beautiful and sunny day when I had dinner outside along the river. There is just no better place to be in Ghent in such conditions. Not only because of the view and the lazy life on the boats that are slowly passing by but also because of the excellent cuisine. Whatever you choose, all ingredients are guaranteed from Belgian origin. Perfectly prepared and accompanied (preferably) by one of the better strong local beers. A must when you are in Ghent.
Why not a 5 ? Because the food is very traditional and although perfect but yet no real wow experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traditional building by the Canal”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I liked the traditional nature of the restaurant building by the Canal that gave the glimpse of Ghent for its industrious and rich history. The food in general was nice but little bit surprised to find that fish was considered as part of vegetarian food in the restaurant. Later I found that in elsewhere in Ghent the same.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belga Queen also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Belga Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing