We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A old hotel in need of a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Aalst
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A old hotel in need of a revamp”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was very dissapointed with this hotel.I arrived on a motorcycle and was cold and wet from my journey and wanted to put the heating on in my room but it didnt work it just blew cold air,so i went downstairs to the reception and was told it was broken and the receptionist handed me a small radiator instead???Next day i asked a different receptionist if it had been repaired and i was told it was but it wasn't...so they just left it like that for the 5 days i spent there..very poor service!
The first 2 nights were really uncomfortable and loud with doors slamming really hard and people talking loud in their rooms and taking showers and using the bathroom at 1 in the morning(i could hear everything) all i can say is pull the hotel down and rebuild it again truly terrible!
On some days they were charging other customers 120Euros a day!!for that!! a 2 star hotel!
14Euros for breakfast..i skipped it!then parking i needed to park my bike in the garage because of the insurance only to find that i would have to get up at 8 in the morning every day to take it out of the garage and back into the street!and for all that 9Euros a night!insane!
All in all if you like cyclists standing in a lift with a filthy bicycle then that hotel is for you!never again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hiteker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethClaerbout, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter.
Please feel free to contact me on +32 53 71 18 19 to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Kenneth Claerbout
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    95
    76
    29
    18
See reviews for
34
72
39
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I travelled with a group of 8 cyclists to do an event in Flanders. Hotel was very accommodating, allowed us to keep expensive bikes in our rooms. Staff were brilliant, they couldn't have been more helpful and were knowledgable about the town and good places to eat. Rooms were spotlessly clean as was the reception lounge and dining area. Great bar with great selection of Belgian beers and the breakfast was everything you could want for (unless you like greasy fry ups as they don't do those, thankfully).

Hotel is on the edge of Aalst, probably a 15' walk into the central square.

Couldn't fault this hotel really, can't say more than that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanceBasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethClaerbout, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Kenneth Claerbout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Used this place for the last four years as a staging post on the way back from the Austrian Alps - there's a good pub up the road called The Fox that you can walk to for dinner.
Rooms are fine and the hotel is usually quiet at weekends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernBloke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethClaerbout, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Aalst Centrum.
I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Kenneth Claerbout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Good location. Room was a bit tired. Cleaning of room was not adequate for a couple of days. Found someone else dirty socks under the bed. Mattras VERY hard. A lot of noise on the corridors and adjoining rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethClaerbout, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you a lot for your comments about your stay in Ibis Aalst Centrum.

Thank you for the remark about our location, the hotel is indeed very well situated, as well for a business or a leisure trip.

I am sorry to hear that the cleaning of your room was not adequate; I can guarantee you that for our team the hygiene and the cleaning procedures are the biggest priority in the hotel.
Therefore we will check what happened during your stay to make shore it does not happen again for future guests.

Also I want to apologize for the noise coming from the corridors. To avoid this problem we have now created a new banner, which we will place in front of the elevators every evening, to ask all our guests to respect the silence in the corridors.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

Kindest regards

Kenneth Claerbout
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aalst hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff was helpful and friendly, and there was a lot of space at the parking. The rooms, although not so spacious, were quite comfortable. Also, there was a much wider range of food at the buffet table than I have seen in many other hotels of the same class. The only drawback may be that the hotel is located quite far from the train and bus station, but if you are travelling by car, it is very easily reached. The motorway nearby connects Brussels and Ghent, so it is very convenient to see both these cities. All in all, despite having only two stars, this hotel offers service of much higher level than it may be expected!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I have chosen to stay at the ibis on a number of occasions and providing you don't set your expectations too high you won't be disappointed.

Prices are low and as a result facilities are a little basic but the staff are helpful and courteous and the essentials are there. An ok bar with simple meals (no real restaurant) and the breakfast is good but a little expensive (Similar to comparable other hotels).

Wifi is free and has been upgraded to cover all rooms which is an added benefit. Rooms have air con and a decent tv although nothing in the way of English tv (not even news)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelphyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on 12th & 13th September while on a business trip. Room was very clean. Free Parking is available.

My only observation is that of 24 tv channels provided on the room tv, not one was available in the English language, not even an English language news channel - English being the 2nd most spoken language in the world !!

Room Tip: My rating excludes reference to the restaurant as I ate at other locations and I am not aware if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aalst
1.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Aalst
Tower Hotel Aalst
#2 of 8 in Aalst
51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Keizershof Hotel
3.6 mi away
Bovendael Sports & Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Horizon
Best Western Hotel Horizon
#1 of 1 in Ghislenghien
204 reviews
17.4 mi away
Ibis Sint Niklaas Centrum
Ibis Sint Niklaas Centrum
#1 of 5 in Sint-Niklaas
223 reviews
16.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum

Property: Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum
Address: Villalaan 20, Aalst 9320, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Aalst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Aalst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Aalst Centre hotel is located at the border of the centre of Aalst, next to the motorway E40 and very close to the business districts. The hotel has 78 air-conditioned rooms, a cosy bar where we serve drinks and snacks 24/7 and a breakfast area. All our guests can use the free Wifi Internet Acces. The hotel has a private pay covered parking. The hotel is ideally situated for a trip to Gent or Brussels, both are only 25 minutes away from the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hotel Aalst Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aalst
Aalst Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing