We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet location, 5min away from centre of Namur, car needed”
Review of Chateau de Namur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Namur
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Namur
Certificate of Excellence
Delemont, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very quiet location, 5min away from centre of Namur, car needed”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay in château de Namur. We took suite 105. Room was spacious, clean and with a lot of light with view on a nice garden. Overall cosy but would benefit from a refresh (carpet, no flat screen tv, bathroom ageing). Chateau de Namur is the best choice if you are looking for a quiet location 5min away from centre of Namur. Having your own car is highly recommended, not walking distance to town. Large parking available. Breakfast buffet is of high quality although limited in choice (in particular for warm part). We did not try the restaurant. Worth to note that the place is popular for hosting wedding. Might be more crowded and less quiet in this case. Overall I recommend it for a stay in Namur if you need a quiet location. Good value for money for a suite EUR 110 / night and breakfast EUR 15 / pers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand_Legros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    135
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
173
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boras, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very high standard service and an absolute fabulous reataurant, don´t miss it ! The city of Namur has a nice and interesting center with shops. The hotel is located on the hill in the middle next to the Citadelle. Great view. Only negative was that the rooms has no modern ventilation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clacken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Good bits

An imposing building with lovely gardens and ample parking. Very quiet, as it is in a residential area above Namur. Beautiful views from the top rooms. Excellent restaurant.

Junior Suite - three little balconies, nice bathroom with separate toilet. Spacious, high ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, very restful

The Rest

We arrived about 2 pm. in the middle of their Sunday Brunch, to be told our room would not be ready for an hour, and no we could not have lunch. We were not offered anywhere to sit, and we were just about to demand our money back, when we were told that our room was ready, after all. Eventually they relented on lunch, but there was nowhere to sit. We did not know if we really wanted to pick a buffet lunch after 2.p.m., so asked if we could have a snack. No. As the kitchen was still operational, we still cannot see why they could not have rustled up a sandwich and a coffee, but apparently this was not possible. Fortunately we had some fruit and bottled water so we did not starve!

Our suite was slightly worn, especially the seats in the living room area which were stained. Had we been staying longer we might have contemplated swapping them with the nice new comfy ones in the hall outside our room....

I imagine if you were organising a wedding, conference or other gathering, this would be an ideal place, but they are not good at catering for individual guests. Also, the hotel is way outside the town centre, which could be a problem if you were visiting Namur and not passing through as we were.

With a little more attention to staff training, this could be a really nice place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

This is a great location at the top of the Namur Citadelle, in a great neighbourhood with plenty of charm and a nice garden. The room we were given however wasn't ideal, old carpet, creaky floorboards. We asked to be moved to another room, smilar situation but not as bad as the first. Bathrooms were nice in both rooms though. They clearly have spent quite some time and money on the outside of the hotel, but the inside really needs some attention. Food was very nice each and every night we were there. Baby bed we were given was a little old and wobbly so not ideal. The staff was very nice at all times.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ndlsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is on an impressive site high above the town and has seen much much better days 100 years ago. Feel between 2-3 star at best now but OKish for a night's stay. The owners should spend the money needed to completely overhaul this place as it could once again be a real gem- the staff know this as when you point out how poor the bedrooms are they agree but say all arew the same! Training courses seem to bring in money. The bedroom was small, so was the double bed. The room last decorated 30 years ago at a guess. Stained carpets, old furnishings, public areas just as tired if more recently decorated but still in need of refurbishment. Surprsingly the restaurant has had some investment on decor (rather battleship grey though) but the food was surprisingly wonderful and more than made up for the 1 night in unpleasant room!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney traveller
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Lovely location on top of Namur- and a very comfortable hotel. someone has spent a lot of money doing up the rooms- see bathroom pic! but they forgot the place you spend the most time- the bed. Ours was an old 130 cm "double"bed- i.e. not full width, so only appropriate if you are really very friendly... also saggy springs etc, Hope they fix up- or check your room first- maybe the others are better (ours was room 212)
excellent restuarant -see review

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Beautiful and elegant hotel. Very peaceful. Staff very friendly and excellent service. A perfect location from which to travel the Ardennes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackson66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namur
0.3 mi away
The Royal Snail Hotel
0.3 mi away
NE5T Hotel & Spa
NE5T Hotel & Spa
#2 of 14 in Namur
142 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chateau de la Poste
Chateau de la Poste
#1 of 1 in Assesse
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Namur Centre
1.0 mi away
Les tanneurs de Namur
1.0 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel de Flandre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Namur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Namur

Property: Chateau de Namur
Address: Avenue de l'Ermitage 1, Namur 5000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Namur Province > Namur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Namur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Namur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Namur 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Chateau de Namur", hotel and application restaurant of the hotel school of Namur, welcomes you in calm and verdant surroundings, away from city constraints. In addition of its 4 stars hotel and its well-known restaurant, the "Chateau de Namur" offers a bar and a terrace open on sunny days, a brunch every Sunday, numerous seminar rooms providing the latest equipments and idealized spaces for weddings, feasts and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Namur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Hotel Namur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing