We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dinant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Auberge de Bouvignes
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dinant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife, 1 year old son, and I stayed here with another couple for about a week. I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world (the Chedi in Muscat, Browns in London, Claridge's in London, the Ritz Carlton in Cairo, the Presidential Suite at the Excelsior in Florence, and the Presidential Suite at the Old Winter Palace Hotel in Luxor), and I can say without hesitation that this hotel belongs in that group.

This place is really more of an inn than a hotel. You feel as if you are visiting old friends in their home. This place, however, manages to maintain the perfect balance between friendly yet not overly intrusive. This balance can sometimes be a different one for very small inns to negotiate. They do it expertly here. When we arrived, not only was a crib set up in our room for our son, but they had made a little bed for him out of it with pillows and blankets. I think he liked it more than his crib at home. It is all a question of anticipating a guest's needs before the guest even has to ask for things.

Also, when one travels in Europe, sometimes the rooms and particularly the bathrooms are small. Even in the best hotels. Not here. The room and the bathroom were huge. It really felt more like a suite than anything. They were also a perfect combination of new and old. Old stone walls inside with beautiful pine floors. The bed was also incredibly comfortable.

As for the location, it is perfectly situated as a base if you plan to drive around Belgium for a vacation, which is what we did. We visited all six of the Belgian Trappist Breweries using this hotel as our base, and it worked out perfectly, since the abbeys form a kind of ring around the country, each within a short distance of one of the neighboring countries.

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay and money is no object, stay here. If saving money is of paramount importance for you, then you can still stay here because it is incredibly reasonable. I can't think of a better compliment than that.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristianGarrris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 209 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

It is many years since I wrote a review on trip adviser, just because nothing had been memorable or outstanding enough – until now!

In April this year my partner and I stayed for three nights in the charming, atmospheric L’ Auberge de Bouvignes. From the moment we were greeted by our smiling hosts Vincent and his wife Eleanor, we knew we were going to experience something special. I can only echo what the other viewers wrote about large, immaculate rooms, wonderful breakfast and personalised tourist information. The offer two mountain bikes to explore the beautiful countryside or of (free) rides to and from Dinant, vetoed any desire to stay in the town centre, as did the honest impartial advice given on restaurant choices. The first night we opted for Vincent’s recommendation; La Broche, it was perfect, we had no idea the food in Belgium could be so good. What made it even better was the bottle of chilled wine waiting for us in our room.

It’s an overused adage that hotels use, when they say ‘arrive as guests, leave as friends’ however, for us this was definitely true. We’re already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey4845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

At the last minute (Easter holiday weekend to boot), we decided to visit Dinant and were fortunate enough to find room at L'Auberge de Bouvignes. Vincent (the owner) is an exceptional host who takes great care to cater to the needs of his guests. Pride of ownership and greater pride in providing superior service is evident in all aspects of this lovely establishment. From the spotless rooms to the friendly chats with Vincent, we were 100%+ satisfied with our stay. Rooms are large, well appointed with all necessary amenities, comfortable, nicely decorated, cheery and very reasonably priced. Vincent provides everything his guests could need/want and more, including free WiFi access. His recommendations for local restaurants and activities were spot on. We thoroughly enjoyed the evenings spent in the 'tavern' which doubles as the breakfast room. Selection for breakfast includes hard boiled eggs, cheeses, meats, breads, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee ... all delicious. Vincent speaks four languages which proved helpful on more than one occasion; he also graciously transported us to and from the train station. Lovely!

Room Tip: Backside of hotel closely faces mountain/cliff, front side faces the river. All rooms are en-suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at L'Auberge for two nights. The room is very big, calm and with an enormous bathroom (equiped with all the amenities like shower gel, body milk and hair dryer), and perfectly clean.

Vincent and Elena (the owners) are very nice. The dinner was really good too.
We will come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As somebody who’s trotted around the globe a little bit, I’ve come to appreciate one thing more than anything else when staying at Inns, Hotels and B&B’s: Owners who really care about their establishment and the service they provide to their guests…Auberge de Bouvignes has such an owner.

My Fiance and I stayed here for two nights over the Easter weekend. From start to finish Vincent, the owner, went out of his way to see to our every need and make us feel at home. Aside from a spotlessly clean, newly refurbished room at a very reasonable price, other things that stood out were...

1) being driven to and from Dinant by Vincent
2) freshly squeezed Orange Juice for breakfast – a couple of glasses every morning!
3) being told of the history of the area and the Hotel by Vincent
4) welcome drinks…on both days we were there
5) a complimentary aperitif and snack before dinner
6) as much bottled water as we wanted for our room

If we ever find ourselves in the area again, we will not need to think twice about where to stay. Five stars out of five in every respect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed for four week nights. The rooms were large, impeccably clean and well presented. The bed was comfortable and it had proper cotton linen. All beautiful. Vincent has clearly spent years restoring this wonderful old building authentically and tastefully. The breakfast was wonderful. High quality coffee, ham and cheese and fresh baked breads and pastries. This is an exceptional inn and is made more exceptional by the incredible service that is provided. The hosts provide lifts to and from the station and to and from dinner. Four languages are spoken and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. Vincent and Elena run this inn in a welcoming, warm and unique way. You will not do better

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlomaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were looking for a place to spend the night on a drive from Brugge to Bastogne and then onto Germany. We found this place on TripAdvisor. It was a very nice surprise. Vincent and his wife were very helpful and great hosts. The room was big and clean and a nice breakfast was served. Vincent even drove us to dinner in town so we could have a few drinks and picked us up when we were done. Great service!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinant
4.7 mi away
Dinant Castel de Pont a Lesse
2.7 mi away
Ibis Dinant
Ibis Dinant
#1 of 4 in Dinant
804 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chateau de la Poste
Chateau de la Poste
#1 of 1 in Assesse
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Royal Snail Hotel
6.3 mi away
Auberge de la Lesse
Auberge de la Lesse
#4 of 4 in Dinant
63 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Moulin des Ramiers
Le Moulin des Ramiers
#1 of 1 in Crupet
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Bouvignes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Bouvignes

Address: Rue Fetis 112, Dinant 5500, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Namur Province > Dinant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dinant
Price Range: $72 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
l Auberge De Bouvignes Dinant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing