We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, less service”
Review of Wagon Leo

Wagon Leo
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Bastogne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, less service”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had two very good meals at Wagon Leo. Their preparation of two regional specilaites (wild boar casseoulet and the "Blanc, Bleu, Belgique" beef were both excellent. However, the service did leave something to be desired. They seemed put out that we asked for English menus, and while efficient the staff was the least friendly of any of restaurant stops over our 10 day trip. It was also one of the most expensive places we ate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AddiesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    276
    89
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service???????????????”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and my buddies (3 others) had been informed that this was the best restaurant in Bastogne. As a result, after a long hard day of site seeing, we were totally prepared to drink and eat their finest (no question, it was pricey). However, we're used to the finest and had no issue coughing up 150+ Euros for good food & drink...
Upon our arrival we had to actually 'dig up' someone to seat us, were given some menus and then all service support activities ceased! Finally, after sitting there for 20+ minutes twiddling our thumbs and rehashing the day, we drug up a very uninterested waiter, who when asked if he assist us in English, immediately ran to the bar and acquired four 'old' menus. The four menus were in English, but did not have anywhere near the number of dishes vs. the menus we were originally provided. In addition, we found out the 'old' menu pricing was considerably lower than the current ones. While attempting to correlate the menus, when inquiring about the differences we immediately got that 'deer in headlights' look.
Totally frustrated, we corralled the manager and told him of our entire dissatisfaction with their service and walked out.
P.S. It looked like they might have been putting most all of their resources into supporting a large party. However, they had a lot of other 'support people' milling around the bar, yet none gave a damn about us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Remarkable tastes!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Mousles a must to try. This Belgian classic is cooked so deliciously here, that you will never forget. The portion is pretty big. Also Truite Luxembourgeoise is a good alternative. It is a kind of fish, served with a sauce with cheese. Personnel is cheerful and the service is pretty fast and kind. If you happen to stop by this little town, you should definitely eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, Fantastic atmosphere, Great food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went at an off time just for drinks and dessert and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The service was attentive but not pushy, and our desserts (Try the cheese with truffle!) were excellent. The menu is in French and German, and you might be out of luck if you don't speak at least a little of either of those languages. A full meal would be on the pricey side (It seemed most entrees were about 25 euro). We didn't try them, but it looks like their specialty is oysters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Filet about an inch thick”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is pricey, but the food is well worth the cost. The service was a bit on the slow side.... I was not impressed with that. And if your only language is English, as mine is you are somewhat out of luck...the menu that they will give you does not have all the the items on it. And I think the staff does not want to be bothered with speaking English. At least that is the way they made me feel. But the food was GREAT.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagon Leo also viewed

Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
 
Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
 

Been to Wagon Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing