We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great displays and really need more information”

101 Airborne Museum Le Mess - Bastogne
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Bastogne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Oak Ridge
Level Contributor
356 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great displays and really need more information”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This museum was so much more than I thought. It has a number of superb displays of uniforms, with many displays based on actual pictures taken during the battle. The basement is reconstructed as a bomb shelter and has a re-enactment with sound and light that may be a little too intense for some visitors. I will return again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Panzerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    83
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Battle of the Bulge microcosm”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A good stop if you are a WWII war buff or even if you only have a mild interest in one of the most devastating battles of the time. Worth the admission price of about 6 Euro. Street parking was free when we visited on a Sunday. We traveled with our young adult children and everyone found it interesting. I think young children would enjoy it as well. There is a bombing simulation in the basement of the museum and there are 3 additional floors. I don't believe there is an elevator.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 278eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice concept”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The scenes showed in this museum are very well designed - the people look real ! The showed material is real .. no fake ! I was very impressed. The experience of a real bom invasion is great. This museum is also open in winter time ! 100% recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great 'private' museum”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Sometimes you get lucky and drop in on an extremely informative private museum. This is one of them. Absolutely loved "the basement" which was set up to reflect the actual conditions that existed back in Dec.-Jan. 1944/45. Tremendous amount of items and you'll appreciate. Obvious, the curator is very passionate about this subject matter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Körborn, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The bunker in the basement was a very realistic experience. We really felt like we were in a bombing raid. Displays were very good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 101 Airborne Museum Le Mess - Bastogne also viewed

Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
 
Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
 

Been to 101 Airborne Museum Le Mess - Bastogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing