We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and informative day!”

Reg Jans Battlefield Experience - Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Bastogne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great and informative day!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending one day with Reg touring battle sites of the 101st Airborne in and around Bastogne. I have to say, one day was not enough! Reg is an extremely passionate story teller. He is able to "set up" a story to make you feel like you were there with the men. He is very knowledgable of the battles and the men. His use of before and after pictures are very helpful (we wish he sold copies of them). The personal stories of the Veterans are a great part of his story. Visiting McAuliffe's headquarters was amazing! To see the artifacts, guns, ect was facinating. We can't enough say wonderful things about Reg and would highly recommended his tour. We are planning to return to Europe in 2014 and hope to see Reg again.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank flfgvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake St. Louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The tour of the Bastogne and Bois Jaques areas with Reg Jans was amazing!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We actually toured with our adult children 20+ years. The "Band of Brothers" series inspired our visit. Reg was extremely thorough, full of personal stories of the veterans and very well prepared. He guided us and educated us about the history of the area. He also provided us with a recommended reading list that I have used and enjoyed very much. We spent an entire day with Reg. He asked us about our interests and seemed to adjust to them. A personal guide was so helpful and so well worth the expense!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Freedom is our souvenir”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

"As others have noted, Reg took us to specific historical places and told us the personal accounts of the young men who stood, or squatted, or lay, in each spot, so that we could crouch together in a foxhole or eye the angle of a sniper's shot or trace our fingers over bullet holes in brick. These intimate ways of sensing a battle were repeated all day long. As adults, we understand intrinsically the value of such teaching. An opportunity to further engage our youthful sons, so they could feel and remember and hopefully process and build upon what they learned, that is a priceless day. This is the experience Reg will give you. In the end, you won't leave without a lump in your throat and a proud pounding in your heart. Moreover, what you will take away is the understanding that it isn't about finding shrapnel in the mud, or getting the best photo of a foxhole, but that freedom is the souvenir of the battle of Bastogne."

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyK317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Tour of the WWII battlesites in/near Bastogne”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a day with Reg touring several of the battle sites in/near Bastogne. Reg demonstrated an amazing depth of knowledge regarding all of the sites we visited and told us stories he has gained through his personal relationships with many of the veterans to enhance our experience. Reg supplemented the day with photos he has collected showing "then" and "now."

This was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend his services to anyone considering a similar tour.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing Day in Bastogne and the Ardennes”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I had the absolute pleasure of touring the Bastogne and surrounding Ardennes areas with Reg recently. Unfortunately for me, I only had one day; however, Reg was able to schedule a full day of sights and activities. Reg was able to use his intimate knowledge of the area to squeeze as much out of our day as possible. To say that Reg is passionate about the sights and the stories of the veterans is a huge understatement. It is that passion that you will see come shining through in the discussions. It is also this passion that makes history truly come alive. It was remarkable to see and experience the places I have only read about in person and understand and be able to tie it all together. Along with knowledge of the actual sights, Reg relates many, many stories from veterans and about veterans, it allows you to get a true personal sense of what went on during the time.

One of my favorite things about spending time with Reg was his use of the “then and now” concept. While standing at a particular location, Reg will tell the details of what occurred there and then be able to show a picture of how that location looked back during WWII. Some of the locations were fantastic to see in that way.

Overall, when Reg says that he is not a guide and that he offers experiences, I do not think that there is a better way to say it. I would HIGHLY recommend Reg when you are in the Bastogne / Ardennes area to show you the experience of a lifetime.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reg Jans Battlefield Experience - Day Tours also viewed

Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
Bastogne, Luxembourg Province
 

Been to Reg Jans Battlefield Experience - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing