We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel at good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Melba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Melba
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bastogne
Certificate of Excellence
Flemish Brabant Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
302 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good hotel at good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here with a colleague during a stopover coming from a business trip. Reception was very friendely and a mistake made during the reservation was quickly solved without a comment. Very professional. Nice rooms with decent WIFI and even Internet on TV.
Breakfast was very complete. Overall, a place to recommend when staying in this town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    195
    33
    3
    0
See reviews for
130
188
45
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My parents and I stayed here 2 nights in April of 2013, with the weather being damp and cold. We landed earlier in the day in Brussels and drove to Bastogne. We got a triple room with separate bedroom on the top floor and it was perfect for us. The breakfast was included and there was a lot to choose from and it was good. We also dined here for dinner on 2 evenings and it was excellent. The salads and soups were exceptional, the omelettes were filling and tasty, and there was a good variety of things to choose from. After days of travel and touring around, it was nice to sit in our hotel and have a relaxing meal. They had Battle of the Bulge memorabilia in the lobby and were obviously used to tourists visiting the area for the battle sites. There was a young bike team staying at the hotel during our visit as there was a cycling road race in the area. This is a family run hotel and the service was friendly and warm. It's a Best Western and lacks charm of some of the older options, but it was clean, a block from downtown, and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaineTravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located, very close to 101st Museum. Parking lot was small but safe. Were in the junior suite -- they allowed us to have 4 people (2 small children) in the room. Room was a bit tired feeling. Sound carried from hallway and other rooms. Breakfast was good with a decent selection.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank April O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Best Western Hotel Melba is well located just a block from the central square in Bastogne. We appreciated the very accommodating staff, ample breakfast and excellent dinner as well as the rooms. We would return in a minute.

If you are interested in the 1944 Battle of the Bulge they are helpful with suggestions for visiting the key sites in and around Bastogne

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel........clean, quiet, modern and friendly. Contemporary spotless baths, two elevators and an individual computer included in each room.......a very nice and completely unexpected touch that allows instant free access to the internet to plan your day! Great breakfast which included scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausages and an incredible array of fresh pastries. The owners spoke perfect english which was good since my french is next to non-existent.

Hotel Melba is located a block away from traffic on a quiet street and is just a short five minute walk to the center of town where there are lots of shops and cafes to satisfy any taste. I also took a private Bulge tour with Roby Clam who I highly recommend (see a separate review I provide on this under Battle of the Bulge tours heading). One should also make the time for a tour of the Bastogne Barracks just outside the center of town.......its free and has one of the most extensive collections of restored WW2 amour I have ever encountered......including a Russian T-34 tank........tour is about 2 hours long.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack-1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is well located and serves a good buffet breakfast to begin your day of touring this historic area. The rooms are clean but the beds are a little hard. Overall this is probably the nicest place to stay in Bastogne.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking and a kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the "MELBA" for two nights whiles visiting the "Battle of the Bulge" memorials. The owners were friendly and helpful, rooms clean, and the breakfast (free) was absolutely delightful. I didn't look at the bar until the morning we left. It really looked like a warm and comfortable place for a glass of wine or adult beverage of your choice. It looked like your best friends living room. It just oozed "gemutlichkeit".
Parking is convenient, out back, and free. You can walk to Place McCauliff, which is ringed by restaraunts, including one called "NUTS", for General McCauliff's famous answer to the Nazis. We met several other veterans there, including a survivor of the "Battle of the Bulge". If we ever go back to Bastogne, we will gladly stay at the "Melba"! Arrival was confusing, as my GPS didn't know that Avenue Mathieu was now a one way street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bastogne
0.4 mi away
Le Merceny Motel
Le Merceny Motel
#2 of 6 in Bastogne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leo At Home
Hotel Leo At Home
#3 of 6 in Bastogne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giorgi Hotel Restaurant
Giorgi Hotel Restaurant
#4 of 6 in Bastogne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hotel L'Amandier
Hotel L'Amandier
#1 of 1 in Libramont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#1 of 2 in Marche-en-Famenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
26.0 mi away
Hostellerie d'Inzepre
Hostellerie d'Inzepre
#5 of 6 in Bastogne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melba

Property: Hotel Melba
Address: Avenue Mathieu 49-51, Bastogne 6600, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Melba)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Bastogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bastogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Melba 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Bastogne (Arden) in a pleasant and residential area, the Hotel Melba offers you an absolute quietness, so that your stay is very pleasant. On top of setting, comfort from a world-international hotel and a first-rate substructure, we will accomodate you in a very warm way and with an efficient service. Private carpark, lift, facilities for disabled persons, fitness room, sauna, solarium and a seminar room is at our customers' disposal. Bastogne, Nuts-city, Paris-en-Ardennes, is a dynamic town with 300 shops even open on Sunday. Ideal base for exploring historic sites and the picturesque countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Melba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bastogne
Bastogne Best Western
Best Western Melba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing