We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprised”
Review of Le Merceny Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Merceny Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bastogne
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

As we rode up to the hotel, I thought my husband had booked another lousy hotel. It is above a petrol station, which is unusual. This small hotel has 8 rooms, these room are modern, clean, comfortable and airy. Reasonably priced. We booked breakfast for 8€ each, breakfast was continental and sufficient. A bit odd having breakfast in the petrol station while ppl pay for fuel etc. but never the less a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneSnow2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    66
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
111
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel is above a convenience market/gas station, but the rooms are roomy and clean. We didn't opt for the breakfast,since you can walk downstairs and get what you want. The main part of downtown is a 5 minute walk. Try the pizza restaurant right on the square. We spent 10 nights in France and Belgium and this was the best bargain we had for a room.Free Wifi worked fine and the small fridge was convenient.

Room Tip: Only have a few rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nabman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, ID
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was somewhat skeptical of this place as the online booking sites described it as attached to a gas station.

Fear not! It is above the station and is cleverly disguised by the design. The entire property is immaculate and even with moderate traffic in and out is very quiet.

The rooms are not the biggest but are very clean and suffice for what they are meant for, sleeping. The bed is comfortable and the bath room more than adequate. Again, it is very quiet.

Breakfast is served downstairs next to the hotel registration desk,. Space is good, food is fresh and plentiful. Staff is very helpful and though you might encounter someone who does not speak English, they will do their best to communicate with you and you will be taken care of, unlike in a country that is close by. Nes-ce pas?

This hotel is perfect for touring the Bastogne area WW2 museums, battlefields and cemetaries.

A short walking distance north of the hotel, there are enough restaurants, cafes and other eateries to keep you fed for weeks w/o repeating an establishment.

There is a reason this place is rated number one in Bastogne. It is clean, quiet, friendly and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank affalken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillicoultry
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This Hotel lived up to the positive reviews from other travellers.

The female receptionist was very friendly and welcoming with great customer service at breakfast.

The room was very modern, best air conditioning I've experienced in a hotel.

Mini fridge provided for personal use, Wi-Fi and bottled water supplied.

Rooms are not particularly spacious - however a reasonable size

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rotisiVhsittocS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights with friends visiting the Ardennes . Friendly welcome , clean, modern well equipped rooms and a good breakfast. The staff were happy for us to buy early cold evening beers to drink in the " mini- cafe " from the mini- mart and even provided glasses !

A very positive experience and I would rate La Merceny highly .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayeux
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to everything. You can walk to most attractions. It is somewhat different in how you get into the hotel, but the rooms were nice and clean and very reasonable. I would not add the breakfast because for 8€ it would be cheaper to eat at the little store right next to the hotel. It looks like a convenience store but offers just about everything you might need. Overall, a good experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ute A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A near town centre hotel located by a roundabout and over a filling station and convenience store. It has only the most basic of catering facilities - a tiny café at the side of the convenience store.

What the establishment lacks in kerb appeal it more than makes up for in other key respects. The room was furnished and equipped to a high standard. Cleanliness was first rate. The hotel free Wi-Fi is one of the most powerful connections I have ever had. Free guest parking directly outside the hotel in the garage forecourt. Excellent value at €59 per night for a double room. The whole ambience is both modern and utilitarian. It is situated about a 5 minute walk from the town centre where there are numerous cafes, bars and restaurants. It is about a 25 minute walk from the Bastogne War Museum which is a must visit for anyone interested in the Battle of the Bulge (1944).

Possibly not a place I would recommend for a romantic weekend, but fine for all other purposes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bastogne
0.4 mi away
Hotel Melba
Hotel Melba
#1 of 6 in Bastogne
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leo At Home
Hotel Leo At Home
#4 of 6 in Bastogne
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giorgi Hotel Restaurant
Giorgi Hotel Restaurant
#3 of 6 in Bastogne
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Ol Fosse d'Outh
Hotel Ol Fosse d'Outh
#3 of 5 in Houffalize
111 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 5 in Houffalize
235 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel L'Amandier
Hotel L'Amandier
#1 of 1 in Libramont
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Merceny Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Merceny Motel

Property: Le Merceny Motel
Address: Chaussee d'Arlon 4, Bastogne 6600, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Bastogne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bastogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Merceny Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Le Merceny Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing