We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but have a look around for other ones.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Dufays
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stavelot
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but have a look around for other ones.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The room was clean and the man who showed us our room was very friendly.

Wifi was supposed to be free, but I had to pay 2,5 euros for it. Not much, but in these times and definitely when it is supposed to be, it should be free.

The first room the man showed us, looked very chique, but as it were twin beds, we decided to take the other room as it was supposed to be a double bed. That room however, was way smaller and looked a bit like a teenagers' room. Also, it were just two single beds pushed together, which made sleeping hell. In the morning, I fell in between the two beds, because they fell apart.
The worst thing was that the room and bathroom were rather cold. I tried to put the central heating a bit higher, but only part of the thing heated up, so it stayed cold. Not nice to take a bath/shower like this.
The breakfast was 13 euros, so we skipped this.
Parking was less fun, it's a very small street, and when you arrive in the evening it's a quest to find a parking space. They are free however, so that's good.
All in all it was an ok hotel, but the next day we stayed in a five star hotel for the same price, with breakfast, so for us, this one was not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ascot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have just had a four day stay at the Hotel Dufays, whilst racing at Spa, what a wonderful place to stay.
The owner gave a us a lovely welcome upon arrival, our room The African Room was stunning, and the bathroom was amazing, everywhere is lovely and clean, the rooms are filled with fresh flowers, and the breakfast is a truly wonderful with a huge selection.
I would highly recommend this amazing hotel, its a gem in a beautiful village and great for being close to the circuit. We are already booking for next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the African room which was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJA39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stavelot, Owner at Boutique Hotel Dufays, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for your kind words! We try to do our best! Hope to see you again in our hotel!
Ad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We love this place and come again for Spa festival and stayed there again. The boutique hotel is run with care and you see that the people enjoy doing it. Thank you very much and we will see u next year !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngkorGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stavelot, Owner at Boutique Hotel Dufays, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
thank you!! It is always a pleasure to great 'old guests'! Hope to see you next year agin!
Ad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Unfortunately it was so .. Bougt a 2 night stay voucher for this place by Groupon. Booked the Chinese room - as we were travelling with a baby and needed the space. Then trouble began. We were advised by the hotel owner to take a different room: 'years 30" and informed that for the Chinese room they will charge us 25E/pp/pd additional (even though this is not mentioned anywhere on their site). Of course we refused as we had already a confirmed booking price from them. The owner attitude grew more and more arrogant and irritating pointing that we are "only paying 50% of their regular price " due to the Groupon voucher.. I suspect that they meant that we are only entitled to half of the service ?? Finally we were given an ultimatum to accept their offer (pay some 90Euro additionally to their own confirmed booking price for the Chinese room) or to give the voucher to some other people (!). Finally they advised us that they do not want families with babies in their hotel anyway (I wonder why they do not say that on their site or mentioned it in the first place?). They suggested we should better come there without our baby.

It was the most irreal, unprofessional and irritating booking experience I had so far. I hope that the owners will appreciate my dissapointment as a customer and improve their service in the future. But for me it is too late. I decided to write off the 130Euro voucher as a loss and look for another place where we can feel welcome.

If I could give a 0 rate I would.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cristi_and_Camelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stavelot, Owner at Boutique Hotel Dufays, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
As owner we always try to do our best to help Our guests. We offer in our hotel for Groupon 3 standard rooms. The Chinese room is our familyroom with an annexroom for kids or friends. It is normal we ask a supplement for kids in this extra room. A pitty you did not want to understand this. Kids are more then welcom in our hotel. Hope to see you in our hotel in the future.
Ad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Without a doubt the best hotel stay we've ever experienced! Stunning hotel with luxury throughout whilst still having a homely feel - we didnt want to leave!
Our stay was for the Spa GP and after a cold exhausting day at the track, the sumptuous comfort of our room was a godsend. The styling was something we never thought we would experience on our budget and every aspect of the hotel has clearly been lovingly and thoughtfully been planned out to endure a truely amazing boutique stay.
It was like staying at the home of a friend with all the privacy and service you would hope from a top hotel.
Lastly, Bella the Labrador added to the feeling of being at home as she greeted us daily on our return - particularly as we missed our dog back at home!
Thank you Ad for the wonderful stay, the 20,000km journey from Aus was worth it alone for our stay in your hotel and our experience in beautiful Stavelot.
An absolute gem of this town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust_beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The place is a pearl in a nice area. The beautiful más like stone house is in the mid of Stavelot and is quiet. We went for a music festival in Spa (Les Francofolies) just 10 min drive and will come next year. The area is nice and worth a longer stay, especially when u have discovered this house. We had a room on the top floor, 2 bedrooms ( good for families), the room is designed in a chinese style with two xian warriors in original size. The breakfast with a view was fantastic, fresh and with great choices. The owner is very charming and helpful. Nice experience - thank you !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngkorGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

This is a unique discovery in the Belgian Ardenne. I had spent 3 days scouring Trip Advisor reading through reviews to discover this hotel with no negative reviews. So I booked and gave it a go. We arrived early afternoon and were greeted by Ad one of the co-owners. We went into the delightful garden at the back of the hotel and had a nice cool welcoming drink. We were then shown to our room - an African style safari room with a double poster bed, an enormous bathroom, and a balcony with views of the Ardenne. Quirky, but restful. In fact, a real welcome break for all those looking for something a little bit different. For us, this was ideal, so no complaints at all. Back to the mod cons - parking was free outside and wifi free. Plus, the next 2 days we had a homemade hearty and quality breakfast. Thanks Ad for a peaceful rest bite away from reality for a couple of days. We loved your hotel and we're sure to see you again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Joel019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stavelot
0.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
6.6 mi away
Val D'Arimont Hotel
Val D'Arimont Hotel
#1 of 11 in Malmedy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
23.5 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Dufays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Dufays

Property: Boutique Hotel Dufays
Address: Rue Neuve 115 | 4970 Stavelot, Stavelot 4970, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Stavelot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stavelot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Dufays 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Boutique Hotel Dufays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing