We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stavelot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

very good surprise. nice rooms, very quite.
the restaurant at a good level with fresh products, no need to go out ...
The service is excellent.
complementary equipment like sauna are appreciated
rooms are very clean
car park inside

Room Tip: you could ask new building as rooms are brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night before returning home on Zeebrugge ferry. Met at reception by M. Ruud who showed us to room 2 in main building. A beautiful room, very tastefully furnished. Just what we wanted after a tiring day driving. Booked a table for dinner on terrace and had a delicious set menu served by a lovely waitress and a delightful maitre d' with a sense of humour! Would love to go back one day. Perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

At arrival we were surprised that the hotel was an old mansion. We arrived during lunchtime, so everything was a bit hectic. We had a room in the modern annex building. It was a nice spacious room with a modern bath room. Only the toiletseat was not comfortable. We had not seperate terrace, so we went to the sun terrace on the roof, where you could also enjoy a sauna and a hamman. But it was too hot for that, so we enjoyed the sun terrace. The environment was beautiful: we were surrounded by nature! Food was very nice and also the staff.

The only thing we had, was that it was about 25 to 26 degrees in the room and we had no airconditioning and we could not open our window, because it was too much traffic and too much noise from the traffic. Because that street is coming from Francorchamps (the race track), so many people think they are on a race track when they drive on that street, so the noise was terrible. The only rooms who suffered from traffic noise are situated in the annex of the hotel. So be aware when you book a room!

Room Tip: Be aware when you book a room. If you have a room in the annex of the hotel, there is no airconditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel has been fantastic. Nothing has been too much trouble for the staff. Would highly recommend staying here if you are in the area. Picturesque garden setting, short walk to the main St, rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Food is delicious. Can not complement them enough

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draganfly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon in Belgium. First impressions were good the hotel looked smart and inviting although we were slightly disappointed as the pictures we had seen on the website showed what looked like a secluded hotel just outside of Stavelot. This was purely made from assumptions but when we arrived we were shocked to find it was surrounded by other houses and a main road.

We were greeted by the wonderful owners Ruud and Marion who were very welcoming and showed us to our room which was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and well thought out. We were given complementary champagne and chocolates because it was our honeymoon which we thought was a lovely touch.

The things we found wrong with the room was a lack of drink making facilities and the fact we couldn’t look out of the window due to the cladding that covered the building. We also thought it was slightly strange that they had given us twin beds pushed together even though we had let them know it was our honeymoon when booking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel is just outside the town centre of Stavelot. Excellent location for a few days of hiking in the surrounding hills.

The hotel consists of a large old house, which contains the restaurant. Possibly also some bedrooms. I had my room in the modern annex. The room was spacious, comfortable and decorated with a lot of taste. Only potential problem: the door is not well soundproofed and you can hear all neighbours speaking on the corridor.
The restaurant is quite elegant with a rather impressive choice of food and wine. I took a four course menu and enjoyed it very much. Not fancy Michelin standard but still well cooked fresh ingredients and well presented.
Service in the hotel and restaurant is excellent! Friendly, quick and attentive, knowledgeable.
I will come back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PukkaSahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed one night as part of a weekend away - we had a room in the newly built block - very spacious, clean and modern, though a shower as well as the bath would have been nice. The owners are delightful, and the restaurant served up one of the best dinners I have had for some time. We throughly enjoyed our short stay there, and being regular visitors to Spa Francochamps and the Nurburgring, this will be a hotel we will definitely use again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stavelot
6.6 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
23.6 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
989 reviews
7.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
9.4 mi away
Domaine des Hautes Fagnes
6.0 mi away
Val D'Arimont Hotel
Val D'Arimont Hotel
#1 of 11 in Malmedy
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve

Address: Route de Malmedy 7, Stavelot 4970, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Stavelot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stavelot
Price Range: $178 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve is in the heart of the Liege Ardennes in the town of Stavelot. Blending in perfectly with the landscape, this hotel subtly blends modern and traditional architecture. A personalized welcome, a warm ambiance, a cozy comfort, and a fine cuisine are its trademark. The Val d'Ambleve has 24 tastefully decorated rooms. The colors are warm and the materials rich. They offer all the modern amenities: a flat screen television, a bath and/or shower, a hair dryer, etc. Four rooms, including our 'suite,' are located in the main building along with our two meeting rooms. Fourteen other rooms are in a residence 25 meters from the main building. This building, fully renovated four years ago, has a sauna and a steam room, and is on the same site as the main building. We offer our customers the possibility of choosing among various packages for one or more nights, for the weekend, or for the week. The Val d'Ambleve is ideal for either business or pleasure, and neither is incompatible with the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing