We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby hotel, poor location, rip off breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Campanile Liege Luik
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Liege
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Shabby hotel, poor location, rip off breakfast”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Liege is the worst town I have ever visited, and I've travelled a lot. But if you do want to visit Liege, don't stay here! It's right on the edge of town, far from everything except the motorway, and if you have to walk here from Liege train station the route is unlit, deserted and extremely dangerous and unsafe.

The hotel itself is typical campanile, i.e. shabby and basic but at a lowish price. Only for this price I'm sure you can find something better located that won't be any lower in quality. Breakfast was a real rip-off. At no point did staff explain whether breakfast was included or not, we were just shown to a table. Nowhere was the price of breakfast listed. Offerings were limited - just toast, croissants, cereals, yoghurt and boiled eggs, really. So when we checked out and were charged €22 for breakfast we were pretty annoyed. They know it's a con, hence they hide the prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vietnamese_Whirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    27
    36
    26
    35
See reviews for
28
35
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This was a truly inexpensive hotel and keeping that in mind, we were able to overlook the somewhat shabby rooms. Each time I looked at the room I told myself "it's only 65 Euros," and for the most part I was satisfied. Staff was friendly and professional. Location was very convenient to highways, but a few minutes drive from anything in Liege. Parking was free and easy. All in all, the next time I stay in the area I think we'll pay 20-30 Euros more for a higher quality room. But if low-cost is your priority, you can't do much better in Liege.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-and-his-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Clean room and restaurant. Had meal at the hotel which was OK but have had better for the money. All in all we found the accommodation overpriced. Found the staff very friendly. Rather noisy as next to busy road system.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyAnnie1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We used this hotel an overnighter on our way back from Austria. Having had a 4* apartment in Austria, this was, well let's say rather more basic, but it did the job. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean, though our bathroom had a moldy ceiling, but apart from that, no complaints.
The restaurant had an interesting selection of food, basically Brazilian, but you could eat as much as you liked for the price.
I wouldn't spend a holiday here, but ideal as an overnight base.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Moldy bathroom ceiling
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vrooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liege hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Liege
Ibis Budget Liege
#12 of 19 in Liege
404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
871 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Acteurs
Hotel Les Acteurs
#13 of 19 in Liege
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campanile Liege Luik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campanile Liege Luik

Property: Hotel Campanile Liege Luik
Address: Rue Jean-Baptiste Juppin 17/18, Liege 4000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Campanile Liege Luik 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Campanile Liege Luik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Liege Luik Liège

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing