We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but a bit far from restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but a bit far from restaurants”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel one night only because we were unable to get a reservation in any of the Maastricht Holland hotels (Sat night - all booked up). We were going to Maastricht from Trier Germany. The hotel was very modern and looked very much like a high end US Ramada hotel. No European charm here. But room very functional, bed and bathroom good, free internet in room. It was across from a canal, which was nice. But as others have reported, this is quite a bit of a walk to the plaza area with the restaurants. Next time I would take a taxi. This hotel is quite far from the train station - we took the bus there and taxi back the next day. We did not find walking around that area of Liege very appealing and were glad it was only one night. Hotel seems more suited for bus tours and company functions, not for individual travelers. Gave it "4" because the hotel was very nice, but would not stay there again due to location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy_Florida08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSohl, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Liege City Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
I still was very pleased about your comments! i do appriciate you writing about us. see also my blog on the net! Louis sohl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    285
    133
    28
    11
See reviews for
73
256
29
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I went to Liege begin july with a couple of friends to enjoy the city and the hills/mountains around it. The Ramada hotel was a very nice place to stay during this holiday. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was great. Things that stay high on my priority list when i search for a good Hotel. The service of the staff was good, the receptionist down at the counter gave us some nice information about which places to visit and we where frequently asked if everything was according to our wishes, which it was. Thx for the nice stay! I will definatly go to Ramada again when im going to Liege again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaartenNether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSohl, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Liege City Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your kind words! This motivates us a lot!

Louis Sohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

First of all the hotel is ideally situated. Excellent spacious rooms, friendly and helpfull staff who responded to all our needs. We enjoyed the drinks enormously in the garden before entering the fabulous restaurant. The restaurant is very beautifull, like a wine cellard with lots of arches. The food was great, well presented and very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Eden-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSohl, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Liege City Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
I am so please to hear you were so happy! Hope to see you soon agaiin!

Louis Sohl
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gistel, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Typical chain type hotel. The hotel is located on a quiet boulevard and has rooms with view on the river (boulevard-side) and a lot of rooms in the back as well. The hotel has a huge entrance hall with a slightly modern look. The room was really spacious and we were lucky enough to have a room with view on the river. The room was also particular clean, especially the bathroom.
Although it claims to be in the 'city centre', the actual centre of Liège (Place Saint-Lambert) is still a 15-20 walk away from the hotel.
The (underground) parking lot is very convenient and was free of charge, which is a nice plus since many hotels charge quite a lot of money for a parking spot.
The breakfast was rather average, but ok.
Since the daily rate is rather low, I would call this hotel a good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellysteenlandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSohl, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Liege City Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Kelly,

May I comment on your honest but kind comments. The hotels is indeed located adjacent to the centre of the city centre but on the very beginning of the most welknow market of Belgium! Nice you like the hotel and see you back soon.

Louis Sohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Huge entrance hall could use a bar or something to give it a bit of life. The room was very nice, of the normal multinational chain type, but the bed was huge and comfy and a bunch of bright cushions cheered things up. Despite its 'city centre' claim it is a good 15 - 20 minutes walk from the central Lambert Square although nearer the old town. All in all not bad, though I think if I was doing it again I would try out Hors Chateau which seems to have the best location of all the hotels mentioned. A small irritation was they said there was free internet access on the computers in the lobby, but when it demanded my credit card she said 'yes the internet is free but you have to pay to use the computer'.... And then it didn't work anyway, though you can get the internet via the TV in your room. I thought Liege as a city had an amazing amount of quality museums/sites -- seems to be quite undervalued and should make more of itself.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSohl, Manager at Ramada Plaza Liege City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
DearCHMDublin,

Thank you for your kind remarks! Of course the issue of the computer is annoying and I will solve it. And yes Liege is a very interesting city. Not only the cultural part of it but also the wining and dining part. Fine you like our recent renovation and i really hope you follow my blog on the ramadaplaza-liege site!

Louis Sohl
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

The hotel is located on a quiet busy boulevard but there are many rooms in the back of the building where you do not hear the traffic. There is a very convenient underground parking lot ( free) but you might suffer shortage of space.. The parking exit is really tricky as you litteraly jump out on the busy boulevard with poor visibility.Room was ok, clean, bathroom was ok, bed ok, flat screen, etc. The ambiance overall is a bit strange as there is no decoration either in the room but also in the public areas ( lobby, etc). It creates a feeling of emptyness ( especially in the lobby). The breakfast is quite average, the restaurant is located in a kind of historical hall but you have not enough tables so you have probably to share your table with other guests. Of course, as the daily rate is quite low, this hotel gives value for money. You have also free internet access.
The hotel is circa 10-15 minutes walk from the start of the shopping streets and actual city center.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSohl, Manager at Ramada Plaza Liege City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Thanks for you reaction. Soon we will have even better deal! That is a promise!

Louis Sohl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Quiet room until maids begin shouting to each in the hall early in the morning. Worst hotel bed I have ever slept in. Supposed to be a king. Two twins together with rough edge in the center and tilted outwards. Duvet did not cover bed.Son's room next door smelled of mold with same bed problems. If these were executive rooms, standard must be worse, Location not tourist friendly. In a questionable neighborhood and too far to walk to city center and choice of resturants.

Hotel resturant was fine. Good food and excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SRBMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liege hotels
1.2 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
883 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
956 reviews
1.9 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Liege
Ibis Budget Liege
#12 of 19 in Liege
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Liege City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Liege City Center

Property: Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Address: Quai Saint-Leonard 36, Liege 4000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Liege City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Plaza Hotel Liege! The hotel is a beautifully converted 17th-century convent located in the historic city centre on the banks of the river La Meuse. Our centrally located, 4-star hotel is less than 15 minutes walk from the central station and shopping area. FREE internet access for all guests. Only a few minutes by car from the Liege airport, the industrial parks of Herstal, Vise, Angleur and Sart Tilman are within easy reach. The university of Liege is also close by. Motorways to Germany, Holland, France, Luxembourg, Brussels and Liege are accessible within a short space of time and we offer free hotel parking for guests. Liege offers a wealth of tourist, cultural and commercial attractions all year round. With a great selection of museums, shows, exhibitions, concerts and gastronomic delights! We look forward to ensuring our guests experience a truly enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Liege City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Liege City Hotel
Ramada Hotel Liège
Liège Ramada
Plaza Liege City Center Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing