We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Bergamo, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average standards”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I just stay one night.
The Hotel may need some renewal, rooms also need some updates but are big (got one with two beds).
The lobby also is not very attractive.
The hotel was close to a disco, some noise disturb you in the evening, but not too much
one good point is the free parcking in front of it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    87
    78
    30
    17
See reviews for
35
77
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nothing here is going to 'wow' you. We were just in for the night with the intention of spending half a day for a walk around town in the morning.
First good/great point on arrival was the free parking on the street level in front of the main entrance. There is a lower level parking lot which does cost. When we checked with reception we were told there is no problem so long as there is a free space.
Secondly, there is free wi-fi here! Terrific bonus.
Thirdly, we was pleasantly surprised by the very spacious room we had. We booked into a double room, so two double beds. By far one of the most spacious hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. Room itself was basic. A bit of the old and new mixed together. Clean and simple. Balcony overlooking the street and we had a view of the river of to the left.
After a comfortable night we went for breakfast. Pretty standard for Europe in general. Not the largest hot buffet selection I've seen.., but also not the smallest. It was adequate, warm and in a comfortable dining area.
On checking out we had no problem to leave the car whilst we visited the city. Another fantastic bonus which saved us more Euros. Excellent location as very central. Only 1.5 miles to the Coteaux de la Citadelle. Very picturesque city. Will definately go back when it's warmer!

Room Tip: Go for a higher level room with balcony facing street or river for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel more then 10 times since July 2006. And my family and me use this hotel [previously Holiday Inn Liege] every year around X-mas time. All in all I stayed more than 100 nights there. And on average I spend between 50 and 100 nights in hotels every year. My budgets does not allow me to stay in high-end, 5 stars places and this hotel is a very good mid-range hotel.
What I like the most is the fact that over the years and despite the change in ownership, the personel is mostly the same. It is so nice when you go back to a place to find familiar faces of people who recognize you.
The breakfast buffet is very nice. It kind of never changes but after so many nights there, we are not bored.
The people working at the bar are very friendly. The room service is pretty quick. The beds are comfortable and even though some rooms and bathrooms may deserve some little upgrade, it is still very acceptable.
The location is very convenient near the city center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark5903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The place has no character what so ever, it's apparently an exe holiday inn , so that says everything really.we had a evening meal in a adjoining resteraunt (which had no connection to the hotel) which was good and the beer was 2€ a pint less than in the main hotel.
The room was big with 2 double beds in. It was comfortable but the whole floor from the lift area to the rooms was quite shabby.
The breakfast was total chaos , far too many people for the size of the area . There was bacon scrambled eggs and sausages, but it wasn't very good. The bread rolls on the other hand were very soft and fresh, with a selection of jams . The coffee machine alas was painfully slow and the coffee was not very good.
Glad we were only there for a overnight stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank i8blades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liege hotels

peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has received some mixed reviews, so I was a little anxious about it. However, we had a perfectly comfortable stays for stopovers to and from a short holiday in Germany. The rooms were clean and comfortable. On both occassions we had twin rooms, which had two double beds, which was lovely. The breakfast buffet is very good and the kettle etc a bonus for a continental hotel. The hotel does sell evening meals, but we we walked into central Liege, where there are lots of restaurants, in order to see a bit of Liege whist we were there (over the bridge and turn right - about a 15 minute walk). I can see why some people thought the hotel is in a rough area, but actually it is not too bad and Liege is in a rather depressed area of Belgium, with the decline of its coal and steel industry. If you go into central Liege, it is fine and it is only necessary to take the sensible precautions necessary with any large city. I have to say that our stay was part of a package tour and so we did not pay for the accommodation directly and the overall holiday was good value, which helps me feel the hotel was too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Got a great price for what we wanted to do. Basically, a place to stay in-between destination sites. We were not going to be there for breakfast so did not add that to our total bill which in my opinion was too expensive for the quality of the hotel (18 euro). We arrived in town and tried off site parking but the area is a bit "shady" in our opinion and was confirmed by the front desk. For an extra 10 euro a night we chose "peace of mind" over the extra euro and parked in their secure garage which was large enough to park our American size van in.
Reception was informative, friendly and efficient. Our room was large for a european hotel, the shower was good and the in room instant coffee was appreciated. The linens were older but clean and as stated before there were few plugs and using the coffee pot required us to place the tray on the ground in order to use the plug. What we appreciated was the free WiFi for both of our computers!
The hotel is close to downtown Liege and we walked over the bridge to find plenty of restaurants and the shopping district easily.
All in all, if we had the same special rate and were in the same situation of stopping between destinations then we would consider staying again. Otherwise, there really would not be a reason to return.

Room Tip: There are no amenities except hand and shower soap in the rooms so don't forget your shampoo/lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serene4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed overnight, as part of a coach tour. Room was clean, yes dated decoration, but stayed in similar in the UK recently, but very clean and servicable, plenty of hot water and a bath with share over, which is unusual on the Continent, bed very clean and comfy, hotel quiet, and warned of concert taking place on our return and another hotel suggested and booked, so that was helpful to know. Breakfast plenty of choice both hot and cold selections sweet and savoury. Used by coach parties so very busy. We would stay again.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryHappyCustomer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liege hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
884 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
958 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres

Property: Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres
Address: Esplanade de l'Europe 2, Liege 4020, Belgium (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alliance hotel Liège just two steps away form the city centre, offers a unique view over the river and the yachts marina. Ideally situated next to the International Congress Centre of Liège, the hotel also benefits from the pleasantly green setting of the Boverie Park. The hotel has 219 large and comfortable bedrooms, including 22 "Superior" rooms and 5 suites all equipped to satisfy the expectancies for guests coming for business or for leisure. The rooms are individually air-conditioned, equipped with free high speed internet and 24H/day room service.Close to the main motorways, a stone’s throw away from the TGV train station, 5km away from the Scientific Park of Liège and 8km away from Liège Airport, the hotel combines all the assets to ensure a successful stay. 10 minutes away by foot from the historical centre discover the Tchantchès Museum, the Grand Curtius and the Royal Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liège
Holiday Inn Liege
Liège Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing