We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay,,,now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a former Holiday Inn that had a reputation for a deteriorated condition. The hotel rooms were completely refurbished some months ago. The ceiling of my room was a solid white, the wallpaper had a clean look and the rugs looked new. The furniture showed signs of use but had a clean look. The room had a safe and there is free wi-fi. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom sparkled. There is a coffee/tea maker. The TV was the old fashioned tube type but the reception was good. The rooms are spacious. No complaints about the maid service.

That’s the good news. The bad news is that it is already showing signs of a cheap refurbishing and poor maintenance. I observed that the doors to a number of rooms had the veneer snapped off in the lower corner, probably due to the continual open and slamming of the door. The outermost tiles at the front entrance to the hotel were smashed into jagged pieces probably due to cars running over the tiles. This is a safety hazard. In my room, the faucet in the bathroom was loose. The grouting around the bathtub had gaps which will eventually cause water to seep through. The chrome plate surrounding the button that flushes the toilet was cracked. There was a substantial tear (missing piece) of wallpaper in the far left corner of the room.

In summary, the hotel is already starting to show signs of deterioration.

As a plus to the staff, we arrived at the hotel at 9:30 in the morning and were informed the room was not ready but they would work on it. We were able to check in at 10:30.

I would certainly recommend the hotel for at least six months after this review, but after that, fresher reviews might demonstrate the hotel continues to deteriorate in appearance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godolnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

Comfy Beds,Good Food but all round the building & decor very tired looking

Room Tip: Choose an odd number these rooms look over the canal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommo4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed for one night in the Alliance half board the rooms were a decent size with two double beds. The bathroom which was a bit dated had a shower over the bath which worked well, and it also had a wall mounted hair dryer. The room had tea/coffee facilities and a tv, the beds and towels were clean pity the decor was 80s-90s. We were on coach trip with Shearings9 two coaches0 so we had to eat dinner in the adjoining Palais des congres, which looked better inside than out . the breakfast was buffet style in the main hotel which was good and a bit of choice. Had pool and gym at hotel but we never used them

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jebro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in November, whilst on a trip with Leger Holidays. I was a little concerned, having read previous poor reviews of this hotel, but my fears were unfounded.
The bedroom was very large (2 double beds) and spotlessly clean. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the a side street and the hotel carpark, we did not have any problems with noise. Good sized clean bathroom. Tea/Coffee making facililties and aircon/heating.

The bar is open for snacks and drinks in the evening, found the staff to be pleasant and helpful - can highly recommend the hot chocolate!

Good buffet breakfast, with plenty of choice, staff pleasant and helpful.

From the hotel it's about a 20 minute walk to Liege centre, but quite easy to get to, (we walked along th river) we were 2 females and did not feel unsafe walking alone. Visited the Christmas Market in Liege town centre, they have plentry of food and drink stalls which were very busy in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I've just returned from a Christmas markets trip and stayed at this hotel for two nights and found it lovely. When my documentation came through for the trip, I check this site for reviews of the hotel and was dreading my stay, as they were all so bad, but I think they must have stayed at a different hotel! The bedroom was large, with two double beds and spacious en suite, the staff were very friendly and efficient, lots of choice at the breakfast buffet, usual hotel prices, although room service menu was quite basic, the meals were freshly cooked and enjoyable. I took ear plugs as reviewers had spoken about excess noise, but I didn't find it noisy at all and I was in a room overlooking the road.The room could have done with some decorative touch-ups, but overall I found my stay wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I have recently returned from this hotel after taking a group of 47 friends from work to the Christmas markets in Liege and after reading some of the reviews on this site I was very concerned about the hotel all I can say is don't believe everthing you read. On entering the spacious modern reception area I though perhaps I was in the wrong hotel, the staff were friendly and professional and the area was clean and well presented. My room was large clean and comfotable with 2 double beds work area tea and coffee making and a great bathroom with hot water. True the hotel is not decorated in a modern boutique style and could do with a little updating but I have stayed in must worst older looking dirty hotels which cost alot more money.
The bar area is hotel prices however take advantage of the happy hour each evening with a large beer for 2.50 euro as the bar is comfortable and the staff friendly (they even kept the bar open until 3 am one night for us) - some of my party had bar food and no complaints. The breakfast was great with lots of choice and a good quality. I did not use the pool so can not comment but it looked fine.
This is a city centre hotel next to a conference centre (there was an Indian wedding on one night) so there will be some noise but it was not excessive for the location but if you are a light sleeper you might want to take ear plugs.
A couple of extra tips - dont use the river underpasses at night they are not lit and like a lot of cities at the momment sadly have people sleeping in them.
The car park at the front of the hotel does have some pot holes so mind the puddles if it rains.
If you get a taxi from the hotel make sure you know where you are going as the drivers like to take you to the wrong places - but it is easy to walk to the centre of town.
All in all a great friendly hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: All rooms suffer some noise but check what is on at the conference centre online if there is nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

After travelling for the last 30+ years, I can now say that I had my worst experience ever in a hotel.
From the moment i checked in and the front desk people were arguing with customers over a reservation to the 1970's decor followed by a sleepless night due to the out of control parties going in in the parking lot...you get the picture!
Never again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank athiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liege hotels
1 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
1,037 reviews
4.5 mi away
Globales Post Hotel & Wellness
0.5 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
1,045 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
1 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres

Address: Esplanade de l'Europe 2, Liege 4020, Belgium (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range: $81 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alliance hotel Liège just two steps away form the city centre, offers a unique view over the river and the yachts marina. Ideally situated next to the International Congress Centre of Liège, the hotel also benefits from the pleasantly green setting of the Boverie Park. The hotel has 219 large and comfortable bedrooms, including 22 "Superior" rooms and 5 suites all equipped to satisfy the expectancies for guests coming for business or for leisure. The rooms are individually air-conditioned, equipped with free high speed internet and 24H/day room service.Close to the main motorways, a stone’s throw away from the TGV train station, 5km away from the Scientific Park of Liège and 8km away from Liège Airport, the hotel combines all the assets to ensure a successful stay. 10 minutes away by foot from the historical centre discover the Tchantchès Museum, the Grand Curtius and the Royal Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liège
Holiday Inn Liege
Liège Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing