We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, pricey and the room was too hot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Basic, pricey and the room was too hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A basic ibis room - comfy bed, good sized room, decent bathroom etc. I was on the 6th floor and both the room and corridor outside seemed far too hot - maybe the aircon wasn't working in that section but there was no way to control the temperature in the room and the windows don't open. Despite the double glazing it's quite noisy at the front of the hotel. Didn't sleep very well.

Breakfast was extra at 14 euros per person - just adequate but not worth it; definitely some better local alternatives in cafes nearby.

Staff were friendly, although a bit chaotic - took an age to check in and they 'lost' our reservation made through booking.com at one stage.

Room Tip: Check whether aircon is working. Rooms at the front seemed noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    217
    201
    77
    30
See reviews for
52
253
64
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently visited Liege on a coach trip. The hotel we used was the Ibis. It was right in the centre of the town close to the Opera House, The shopping and the sights were just a short stroll away. We found the Hotel had recently been refurbished and it was very clean and smart. There was an efficient lift system to the 6th floor where our room was situated. We had a room overlooking the Oper Square and despite the traffic it was quiet. The room was neat and clean with en-suite including a bath.

Breakfast was served in the basement and the room was big enough to take our coach load! It was a full continental self service breakfast with something for everybody. Other meals can be taken in the numerous 'pavement' establishments - bistro's etc as long as the weather is good!

The staff were all very helpful and helped to make our stay very pleasant. The room rate for the period of our stay was 60 euros for the room and breakfast. We both thought it was quite reasonable as it was close to the weekend. There is plenty of car parking in the vicinity of the Hotel - most of it is underground and the hotel has a reduced rate for it's customers.

Should we go back to Liege we would use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've stayed here a few times but each time I then promise not to return.
persistent building noise was the problem last year.
this time it was the smell of smoke in the room and corridors and the toilets that sound like you're in an aircraft, which can be heard from room to room.
additionally in the summer you quite like either to option to open your window or have aircon. my room lacked either option.
the best reason to stay here is the price or the location which is right in the centre.
parking is about 10euro per night underground, but beware of the small turning circles required to get into the carpark. there is a lovely section removed to help with this as the original designer obviously only had a bicycle and didn't like cars!

Room Tip: some of the floors suffer from the boisterous toilets, some do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DizMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liege hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liege, AZ
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The carpets really need to be cleaned, the rest was just average.
Fairly small room.
The staff were helpful if you asked a question but not service oriented.
I didn't have breakfast this time but it is buffet style and it offers variety.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank biztraveler2000_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a typical Ibis, clean, functional and in a good location. Rooms are a good size, breakfast is of a good quality and everything works as it should. I normally recommend Ibis for a short stay but this is one that I wouldn’t go back to – there were two deal breakers for me. First was the room temperature (very hot, and it wasn’t even hot outside). There’s no aircon and the windows don’t open. The other odd thing is the parking. As is often the case with Ibis, the local parking is in a public car park at a reduced rate. However, we were on motorcycles (4) and were advised to park on the pavement (really? In the middle of a city?) and the receptionist would call our rooms if the police came....presumably we weren’t going to leave our rooms for two days! The other recommendation was a private car park around 500m away where we were charged 17eu each for parking which was double the public rate. This was arranged via a phone call but we never found out why the Ibis parking in the public car park wasn’t available for motorbikes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liege hotels
0.2 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#4 of 19 in Liege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Liege
Ibis Budget Liege
#12 of 19 in Liege
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera

Property: Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
Address: Pl. de la Republique Francaise 41, Liege 4000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Liège Centre Opera hotel is located in the city centre, near the Opera House, in the Opéra shopping centre. Liège is the 3rd largest city in Belgium with its picturesque streets, the PRINCE EVEQUES castle and the longest Sunday market in Europe on the banks of the Meuse. Ideal for weekend stays, the hotel has 78 rooms, a bar open 24/24 and free Wifi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Restaurants and public pay parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Liege Centre Opera
Accor Liege Centre Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing