We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old meets New”
Review of Les Comtes de Mean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Comtes de Mean
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

What a fantastic find. I fell in love with the Crown Plaza when I was looking for somewhere to stay and it did not disappoint. A beautiful old building restored to make a fabulous hotel that has character and charm. The rooms are downstairs and pure luxury, with walk in shower and bath. The Le Cave bar is beautifully restored and lovely to experience. We had a meal in the Selys restaurant and food was great and plenty of it, The staff made the experience of this hotel that extra bit special.
The pool and steam room, sauna where also lovely and very clean.
The whole experience of the hotel left us with a great weekend of fun, food and good times.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and had rooms of great quality the bath was fabulous. Also not great vie...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Les Comtes de Mean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 982 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was anticipating a wonderful stay at the Crowne Plaza Liege based on its history and 5 star rating. The hotel and facilities are second to none but the staff are letting this facility down. When we checked in we were simply given out hotel room card and directed to the elevator.

We weren't told that you need to swipe your card in order for the elevator to work. So it took us a couple of minutes to figure this problem out. And even though our room included breakfast we were not told where to go for breakfast or what hours it was being served. This is basic introductory information for hotel guests as far as I'm concerned. Since reading previous reviews...I am in agreement that this lack of information could be based on the fact that the staff are reluctant to speak English.

I was also surprised that the information in our room for the fitness/spa facilities did not include anything in English. My fiance wanted to have a massage but because the hotel did not include spa information as well as rates in English in our room...we opted out of going to the spa...period.

The hotel itself is beautiful and a lot of money and thought has gone into the reconstruction of this building. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The location is a little iffy...put it this way...I wouldn't want to be walking around this part of Liege late at night.

The breakfast was wonderful with a wide range of choices including smoked salmon. It was one of the highlights of our stay.

I would recommend staying here but ensure you park your vehicle in a secure area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexie2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

It was one of the worst 5* stays we have experienced. It is always sad to write a review like this - the reviewer had a bad experience (and nobody cared) and the hotel has to read about it in an open community and could have done something to avoid it...

The first impression was really good. A small historic "castle" that was transformed into a hotel. The hotel itself is located very convenient near the city center. Restaurants and sight seeing only a couple of minutes away. It "recently" just openend (roughly 9 month) so we expected not everything absolutely perfect. However, after 9 month you can expect that the worst things have already been adressed. The interieur is very modern and you can see that the architect tried to achieve a combination of modern elements with the layout of the old castle. The rooms, the spa, the restaurant - every area was designed with thought and it was our opinion that is was done creatively and tastefully. But that is probably all the positive we can say.

The staff does not speak English! It was very very hard for me to maneuver through the check in process. All (!) the persons at the reception were lacking the proper language skills. The couple before us did speak french it you could decipher that the staff explained everything to them - lifts, breakfast time, etc. When we checked in, it was really brief as you could see that all of them were really uncomfortable to speak English and the level of proficiency was very low.

When we got to the lift (nice view over the town through a glass wall) there was a dead bird floating in the fountain (and it would float there for over 4 days until we pointed some staff to the issue when we departed). The whole lobby had a very bad smell, which also would not leave over the next days even though the doors were permanently open.

The room itself was nice and the design appealing (as mentioned before). The spa treatment could be ranked 6 on a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best). However, when we came back from our massage and wanted to shower, the water was gone. We asked at the reception when we could expect the water to be working again - "Maybe one hour" (All we got!). The water was an issue that would follow us during the next days as breakfast is only served until 10:30 am (sharp!) - even on sundays *shake* - and most people shower before breakfast so all we got when we tried to do the same was a small trickle that was not even lukewarm. Later in the day the water temperature would vary during the shower so that you would have to jump out of the shower so you would not get burned or freezed...

The quality of the breakfast and the service was abyssal. You would have to wait over 30 minutes to be seated (not a good thing when you walk at 09:45 am to the breakfast room to get at least a little sleep in on sundays). The silverware and the glasses had spots on it, the milk can was not changed and some crumbs from the persons before us floated in there. The food was not replaced continuously and when we asked the cook to get some poached eggs he told us he could not make them. The jam glasses had been opened and not replaced by fresh ones, we ordered tea and got coffee and when we asked for tea again we were told that we did order coffee and that next time we should make up our mind....

There are some more things we could talk about, but the worst thing ever was that we wanted to speak to the GM. At first he was not on site, when we departed we were told he had no time. We tried to talk to the staff (again the English hurdle) to explain why we were upset with our stay they could not comprehend what we were complaining about. Therefore we wrote an eMail and rated our stay (incl. comments) on the world wide customer care page. All we got back was the following:

Dear Mister Marten,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback concerning the recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Liège. Please accept our apologies for the less-than-satisfactory experience.

At Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, you surely know how much we pride ourselves on our service and attention to detail. Please be assured that corrective measures have been taken and that we have discussed with the personnel involved.

We look forward to accommodating you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Directrice Commerciale"

That is one of the most standard and non-caring eMails I ever got from a 5* hotel chain for pointing the weak spots in their new house out... Most certainly we will *not* come back!

We are sorry to have to write such things about a hotel, but they have occured, nobody cared and therefore we want to warn other travellers to think about this hotel before hitting the "book" button.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Galil3o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is not a five stars hotel. The hygiene is very poor in the room. Especially in the bathroom. In the shower there is on several places mold. Shower door is not closing well. The corners are not clean in the bathroom and the toilet seat was dirty. This remained during our 2-days stay. There was a lack of staff at our arrival and also on saturday morning at breakfeast. Breakfeast is certainly not at 5 star level.
What is 5 star level is the building(s) the hotel is in and the beds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Almost everything was good in the hotel. Friendly staff, nice building, good athmosphere. They park your car, no worry's at all.

The spa was also great, but they should install more seats in the spa area. A tip for breakfast: get breakfast before 9h30 to have a seat without a queue.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I only wish that every hotel stay were as positive as this one. I am a Hilton Diamond member, and since there were no Hiltons in the area, I decide to stay here based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. I was over whelmed with this hotel. From check-in to check-out service in the hotel left nothing to be desired. The rooms are clean, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The fitness room is the very best ever in any hotel where I have ever stayed. Breakfast was excellent. Made to order eggs, fruit, breads, and yes, a chocolate fountain. Exploring the hotel was a unique experience in itself. The grand staircase and some of the rooms on the upper levels took me back in time 200 years. We had dinner in the dining room on two nights. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. The only negative about our stay was that the service in the bar in late afternoon was slow.
Another positive is that it is a 15-20 minute walk to the downtown area and the tourist bureau where the gentlemen could not have been nicer in helping us plan our day in Liege.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiJo4145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Waw. This hotel has it. Staying there for business, got a free room upgrade, and was impressed by used materials, luxury, architecture.
Parking not the most cheap one (20 euro), breakfast is almost excellent (but rather expensive, 20 euro), crew is very professional.
A city as Liège (Luik, Luttich) needs more this kind of hotels. For business or tourists, a very good option.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with side over the city.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liege
0.2 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
253 reviews
17.0 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
1.3 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
522 reviews
17.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Comtes de Mean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Comtes de Mean

Address: Mont Saint-Martin 9-11, Liege 4000, Belgium (Formerly Crowne Plaza Liege)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range: $149 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Comtes de Mean 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resolutely open to the city, full of history and emotion, the "Les Comtes de Mean" is a mixture of unusual locations with different atmospheres, each run with intelligence and creativity. It is from this very multiplicity that the UrbanResort(R) concept originates, being a subtle combination of aesthetics, inventiveness, comfort and relaxation: a resolutely non-exclusive, exclusive product. With a great number of places to visit, leisure and relaxation activities (such as the 750-m² garden, a haven of peace and greenness in the middle of the complex), the hotel has eight main premises. Each of them alone is an unusual place, charged with an original atmosphere. All are worth the trip and are, in their great majority, open to non-residents. Welcome, attention, service, professionalism are bywords for the staff, whose sole aim is to make sure that the time you spend in these places is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Comtes de Mean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing