We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel in intesting city”
Review of Les Comtes de Mean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Comtes de Mean
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel in intesting city”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

the newest hotel in the city, greatly located walking distance from the action. great rooms and spa. beautiful bar. highly recommended for a stop in this little happening city.

Room Tip: ask for old rooms in palace which just opened this week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annetteapproved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    371
    132
    66
    27
See reviews for
73
492
21
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I was very postively surpized to discover this real 5 * in the center of Liège. Very nice welcoming experience with porter, concierge. Well decorated lobby and very helpful reception staff. Exceptional view from the bar, nice looking restaurant and very confortable rooms.
Very nice spa and fitness. Great breakfast! Looking forward to go back to Liège!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in over here in Europe. Booking through trip advisor, I was able to get a great room that included free valet parking and free internet. When we got to our room, we loved everything about it.... but the internet wasn't working. The hotel staff offered to switch rooms to an upgraded room but we were already settled so they just kept apologizing. It was fine. No internet let us really 'check out' from the day to day. The Crowne Plaza, Liege has one of the coolest bars that I've ever had a drink in. It is called The Cave Bar and it opened at 8 p.m. on Saturday. There was a D.J. and two very nice bar staff who were friendly, spoke perfect English and made great drinks. The bar use to be a weapons factory (swords) and then an armory storage in the world wars. It was a stunning setting with an eclectic crowd of both young and old. One of the best parts of this hotel was the spa area called Osmose. It was on the lower level and it had a gorgeous infinity pool (no shallow end and fairly small so probably not as fun for little kids), a small jacuzzi, a sauna and a hammam. The hammam had this cool ceiling that looked like twinkling stars. A caution in the suana... I burned my arm when I didn't notice a metal plate right there in the seating area. A small, Metal in a sauna... not a great idea or if it was necessary, it should be painted a really obvious color. But, the rest of the visit was so perfect, it made that little incident easy to ignore. The restaurant had a pretty view and the swanky little lounge area was so nice to come back to. Drinks were overpriced - 12 Euros for a mojito that wasn't very good, but I think the price includes the awesome atmosphere. The desk clerk gave us a map of the town and suggested a few restaurants and shopping areas which were easy to walk to. Everyone there greeted us whether it was the cleaning staff, the wait staff or the desk personnel. We had a great overnight in Liege and I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, room 401 is not your room. Beautiful but a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJWORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice business class hotel centrally located. The new rooms are nicely appointed and the en suite bathrooms are large. I especially like the separate shower with decent water pressure. Auto valet and concierge were very friendly and helpful; the reservation and restaurant staff less so. After greeting me promptly outside at my car and helping me with my luggage, the bell hop turned me over to the reservation staff both of whom were too busy talking on the phone to even acknowledge my existence. After 5-10 minutes one of them finally hung up and was able to check me in. The same process was reversed on check out.

Confusingly, their official web site lists as an amenity "On-site Guest Self-Laundry Facilities (washer/dryer)" by which they mean that they launder your clothes on-site (as opposed to sending them out) and charge you accordingly but you do not have direct access to those facilities yourself. Very disappointing because I chose this hotel over others specifically because I knew I would need to do laundry in the middle of a multi-week trip. Nonetheless, the concierge saved the day by directing me to a coin-operated public laundry just around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeltNomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on Sunday 12th June, one day after it opened.

On arrival I was greeted by a friendly chap who took my car to the hotel garage (25 Euro per night). The reception staff were less friendly but as a Priority Club member I soon had my key and found my room down on the fourth floor (reception is on floor seven).

I had a classic room which was large, modern and the bathroom was very luxurious with a separate shower and double ended bath. It is a shame that the lights in the bathroom did not work correctly and that there was only one robe even though the hotel knew two people were staying. The in-room safe did not work and the electrics were playing up.

I was disappointed that the swimming pool was not open (due to lack of water) and that the Cave Bar was not open on the Sunday eve.

Breakfast was lovely with a super choice.

Overall this hotel shows good promise. It has free wifi throughout the hotel, a Club floor and lots of outside terraces. I'm sure the staff were just nervous because it was only day two - at least that may explain why the reception staff were not as welcoming as one would have hoped.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are the same size as the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liege
0.2 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
17.0 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
1.3 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
16.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Comtes de Mean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Comtes de Mean

Property: Les Comtes de Mean
Address: Mont Saint-Martin 9-11, Liege 4000, Belgium (Formerly Crowne Plaza Liege)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Comtes de Mean 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resolutely open to the city, full of history and emotion, the "Les Comtes de Mean" is a mixture of unusual locations with different atmospheres, each run with intelligence and creativity. It is from this very multiplicity that the UrbanResort(R) concept originates, being a subtle combination of aesthetics, inventiveness, comfort and relaxation: a resolutely non-exclusive, exclusive product. With a great number of places to visit, leisure and relaxation activities (such as the 750-m² garden, a haven of peace and greenness in the middle of the complex), the hotel has eight main premises. Each of them alone is an unusual place, charged with an original atmosphere. All are worth the trip and are, in their great majority, open to non-residents. Welcome, attention, service, professionalism are bywords for the staff, whose sole aim is to make sure that the time you spend in these places is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Comtes de Mean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing