We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for a visit to Hasselt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Century

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Century
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hasselt
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great hotel for a visit to Hasselt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This small hotel is really subsidiary to the main business of the establishment as a restaurant but they have not allowed this to detract from the excellent facilities.

The hotel is well located, close to the shops, restaurants and attractions of the compact centre of Hasselt and convenient for business travellers as well. A bus stop is within a few yards (Leopoldplein) giving access to the excellent free city bus network, and cheap buses to other places - some directly and the rest via the interchanges at the Station and Dusartplein. The railway station is 2 minutes by bus or 8 minutes on foot.

The rooms are a good size, well-appointed and comfortable.

The restaurant provided a very reasonable breakfast including cereal, yoghourt, fruit, cold meats and the usual spreads, served 7am to 10am. Other meals were not the cheapest in Hasselt and we only ate there once but nevertheless we could not fault the quality, service and choice.

Wifi worked faultlessly in the bedroom throughout our stay.

Some people have complained about the lack of a lift and the steep stairs to the bedrooms which are on the top two floors of the four in this old (but well modernised) building. The stairs could be difficult for people with restricted mobility and some of our group struggled with them.

The heated towel rail in one shower room refused to produce any heat, whilst the warm air heating/air-conditioning in the bedrooms was rather noisy and a challenge to operate with no instructions provided.

The cleaners really did not have to take away the partly used soap every day!

Note that the hotel entrance is in Koning Albertstraat, round the corner from Leopoldplein towards the shopping centre - if you enter via the restaurant go to the far back right corner and through the door to the right of the bar. There is no-one permanently in the reception (it's only a small hotel) but the bar staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 will save you from one flight of the steep stairs. But there will still be two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CIC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
24
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Century in July 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were lovely and the location was fantastic. Only a few minutes from the train and in the heart of the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great service, great food at reasonable prices!! A must visit !
Especially the waiter Nordi was very helpfull as he guided us with the wine and menu choice!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The century is conveniently located at the end of the main shopping street, a 2 minutes walk from the central marketsquare and with plenty of opportunities to park your car. Perfect to explore Hasselt.
Our room was quiet, spacious, very clean, tastefully decorated with flatscreen TV etc... Comfy beds. We especially appreciated the big bathroom. Breakfast was basic but good.
The Century is well known in Hasselt for a great lunch or dinner, it has a big terrace which is very popular, and staff is extremely helpfull.
This hotel offers great value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest (third) floor. These are the quiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tio-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed in The Century for two nights 28th & 29th August 2010. A lovely hotel in a central location in the very pretty town of Hasselt. We used this hotel on the recommendations of Tripadvisor as a central point to enable my family & I to explore the area and travel to Spa for the F1 Grand Prix. Word of warning about the one way system which isn't as easy to get around as it looks on Google Maps/Earth. Parking for hotel residence is a short walk away but further by car due to the one way system. However, once we parked up in local residence some 100 metres away and located the hotel entrance to the right of the building a very pleasant young man with an electric buggy (in the form of a mini Hummer - much to my sons delight) met us and zipped around the maze of streets to the hotel parking. Staff were very pleasant, polite and courteous. The rooms were fantastic. Our party took up 3 of them no. 1, no. 3 and no. 4 - all very clean, very modern and very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was of extremely high standard and I have got to say I had the best entrecote steak ever! I have to mention that should we visit Hasselt again we would stay in The Century but I would avoid these dates mainly due to the lack of sleep which we encountered due to the religious festival which was going on. Music til 5am is really not acceptable when you have a young teenager with you and need to be up and on the road by 7am to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

If you don't mind the noise from the bistro downstairs (until closing time) and you are looking for an affordable, clean and comfortable hotel in Hasselt, then this is the place to be! All the rooms have been renewed and refurbished just a few years ago and the quality of bed, bathroom and other facilities (TV+free internet) is exquisite. 200% value for money: in this price range you can't even find a decent hostel in most cities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

This hotel is located above a busy restaurant/bar at the entrance to Koning Albertstraat, Hasselt’s main pedestrian shopping street. The location is fantastic for getting into the “old town” of Hasselt with
its’ shopping, restaurants and pubs.

While my room (#14) was relatively quiet, with its’ location on the top floor of the hotel (there are only 14 rooms), my business partner
had his room (#1) on the first floor where every noise from the restaurant/bar and kitchen made its’ way to his room either up the stairs from below, or from outside his window.

The rooms are minimalist, with nice European style that makes the smaller space more comfortable. The floors are hardwood and there is little in the way of artwork or other embellishments.

The hotel, it becomes apparent, is the “second business”, an adjunct to the restaurant and bar, but the location and helpfulness of the bar staff (they double as front desk and concierge) more than make up for any shortcoming. I certainly may have had a different opinion if I had been on the lower floor and had experienced the noise that my traveling companion had but I was quite happy with my stay. Two mentions that must be made. Like so many small European hotels, there
is no elevator and the stairs are narrow so, unless you’ve packed light, you may want to stay elsewhere. The other item is the internet
access. This was not working while I stayed there and, even thought I
was assured that it would be fixed, it never did work on my three days there.

  • Liked — The location to the
  • Disliked — The noise and lack of internet access
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wtls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hasselt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hassotel
Hassotel
#3 of 11 in Hasselt
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hasselt
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hasselt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
YUP Hotel - Different Hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hasselt
Holiday Inn Hasselt
#2 of 11 in Hasselt
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vous Le Vous
Vous Le Vous
#4 of 11 in Hasselt
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Century? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Century

Property: The Century
Address: Leopoldplein 1, Hasselt 3500, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Hasselt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hasselt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Century 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Century reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing