We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hasselt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hasselt
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hasselt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went to this hotel with my wife and a child of 2 years old for one night. They had placed an extra (double) bed for our daughter in the room making it a bit crowded but still easy to manoeuvre. The term express was very applicable when it came to checking in: it cost me exactly one minute. The room was adequate. On the streetside of the hotel but not noisy at all. The free wifi was easy to use and fast enough for normal browsing. The airco was a bit much since the air was way too dry in the room. The beds were not very comfortable. At 160 cm wide you can't really lie down without touching the person next to you all the time (and waking them up). Breakfast the next morning was adequate with plenty of bread, sereal, meat, fruit and drinks. They warned us the previous day that the breakfast room might be very busy but we had plenty of tables to choose from at 8:30 am. The location of the hotel proved to be excellent: the restaurants and shops were a little walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guests
First of all thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.
It is always very motivating to read that guests loved their stay, the hotel and its facilities.
Concerning the room space and the measurements of the beds in the rooms, I want to mention that this is the standard for all Holiday Inn Express hotels what on their side make them budget friendly but always with great service.
We surely hope to welcome you and your family again on a next trip to Hasselt.
Best regards
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    108
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
67
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went there for a short visit and enjoyed our stay there. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I booked two rooms and called the reception to get two connected rooms and they were very helpful and could fulfill our request. Free WiFi is available. Free parking places are available as well and are located 5 minutes walking from the hotel.
If you go to Hasselt, I recommend the cinema in Hasselt sine it is very interesting especially that they play all movies in original version with French and Dutch subtitles.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. It is always nice to read that guests like our hotel, the service the staff provides but also other activities they tried in Hasselt and liked.
It will surely inspire other guests to visit this cosy town and choose our hotels.
Thanks once again and hopefully till your next visit to Hasselt.
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is nice and close to the center
Rooms where nice ,could make a cup of tee in the room
There whas anough space for my daughters buggy
Good exces for handicap.
Whas nice to have breakfast in the morning and not have to go outside
Nice and close to city center

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasolaspuerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.
Is is always great to read that guests liked the hotel, its service, friendliness of the staff and the town itself.
We surely hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Hasselt.
Best regards,
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

a nice hotel in the middle of the center of Hasselt. The people are very friendly and the rooms are clean. It is a quid hotel. The staff is efficient and nows a lot of Hasselt. The bar is small and closed around 11PM.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosmans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guests
thank you so much for writing such a nice review on our hotel.
It is always nice to read that guests appreciate the good service and friendliness of our staff.
This comment will surely inspire other guests when not knowing where to stay in Hasselt.
Hope to welcome you soon again in Hasselt.
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location just around the corner from all the shops and there's loads !!!!!!!! Came with my dad to take him to a internatinal bird show so wasn't looking for 5 star just a hotel near the athias arena ! Free wi fi ! Great friendly staff more than helpfull ! Clean comfy rooms !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dejavuwilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in our hotel.
Is is always great to read that guests liked the hotel, its service and the town itself.
We surely hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Hasselt.
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
216 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stay here for one night, pay 69 Euro only for a double during a weekend and you will not be robbed. Basic rooms but with all you need, good wifi, good breakfast for this kind of money it's very much ok. Fast and friendly check in and check out. Two remarks tough : you depend a bit on the good will off other guests not to make to much noise, corridor are not sound proof towards the room and we found the double bed a bit small.

Room Tip: at the back, no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests
thank you very much for taking the time to write a report on your stay with us in Hasselt.
It is always nice to read that guests were satisfied with the service we provide and of course very useful to others guests on their search to find a nice hotel in the region of Hasselt to stay if not yet decided where to stay.
The size of the beds for a Holiday Inn Express is however standard so we cannot do much about that. Nevertheless every comment is very useful to us, it is the only way how we can improve our service there where necessary.
Kind regards
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose the HI Express above the Holiday Inn in Hasselt where we stayed previously as this one had parking at the front. The hotel was in a good location close to the city centre but with little street noise. The rooms where clean and typically Holiday Inn Express size just enough room that makes for a comfortable stay. The staff were friendly (even offering that we could use the pool at the near-by Holiday Inn) and the breakfast pretty basic but free. In summary a comfortable and value-for-money place to stay that provides all you need.

Room Tip: We liked high-up front facing as there was no noise ad we could see our parked car
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on you latest stay with us.
It is always nice to read that guests were satisfied by the service the hotel provides and by the friendliness of the staff. It is also great to hear that it was not your first time with us and we surely hope that many visits will follow.
Best regards
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hasselt hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hasselt
Holiday Inn Hasselt
#4 of 11 in Hasselt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hasselt
0.1 mi away
YUP Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hassotel
Hassotel
#3 of 11 in Hasselt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Century
The Century
#6 of 11 in Hasselt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vous Le Vous
Vous Le Vous
#2 of 11 in Hasselt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hasselt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hasselt

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hasselt
Address: Thonissenlaan 37, Hasselt 3500, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Hasselt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hasselt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hasselt 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are just on the move Holiday Inn Express Hasselt is just what you need !The hotel is ideally located in the city centre of Hasselt, on the Green Boulevard, within walking distance to key tourist attractions: the Fashion and Gin museum, The Versuz disco, the Flanders Nippon Golf course, the marina, the Bokrijk open-air museum and the Japanese garden.The playground Plopsa Indoor, the Ethias arena and the Grenslandhallen are situated at only 1km from the hotel. The hotel counts 89 comfortable bedrooms, equipped with work area and Free WiFi, voice mail and an flat screen TV. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with toilet, power-shower and hairdryer.The entire hotel is air-conditioned. Every morning in the Great Room of the hotel a free breakfast is served. This Great Room is linked with the bar where you will find a large screen television and a reading corner with national newspapers and magazines. At the reception you can buy all kinds of tasty snacks at democratic prices.Holiday Inn Express Hasselt offers as well professional meeting facilities for up to 40 delegates. Welcom! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hasselt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hasselt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing