We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My November Stay”
Review of Infotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Infotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mons
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My November Stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the hotel between 7th & 11th November 2012. My son and I were travelling the regions' sites of the first world war. We were located within a short walk of the main square. The local restaurants were literally on the door step and well worth a visit. Also there was a Carrefour Express two doors away, excellent for the odd bottle of wine and snacks.

We tried the breakfast on our first morning and although very nice (a selection of hot scrambled egg beans and meatballs) to go with the usual continental suspects, found it a little expensive and would have added an extra €104 to our bill for a 4 night stay.

The reception staff were very good with help and local knowledge, so top marks to them. Room was made up each day to a very good and clean standard. Tea/coffee available in room. The shower room was clean and sanitized.

All in all the hotel got top marks for location, car park (vital in a central location), cleanliness, service and value.

Room Tip: Choose a room which over sees the rear car park for a quiet nights sleep. The rooms at the front ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil9028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    80
    50
    12
    3
See reviews for
25
74
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We (two couples) stayed at this hotel for 2 nights midweek in August. We chose it for its proximity to the Grand Place and private parking. Considering this, we felt the price to be reasonable. The room was a reasonable size and the bed was comfortable. The shower and toilet facilities were clean and worked well. Despite being on the ground floor and near to the Reception area, we were not disturbed by other guests.

The hotel is located in a courtyard off one of the main streets (rue d'Havre) and is only a couple of doors away from a small supermarket where we could buy bottled water, etc. It was not at all noisy, despite being only a few steps from the centre of Mons and the restaurants surrounding the main square.

Both of our rooms were on the ground floor and due to this, we were unable to open the windows more than a couple of inches which was a bit of a problem due to the heat. There was a mobile air conditioner but it wasn't very productive and we had to keep it on all through the night. It wasn't noisy and didn't disturb our sleep. I'm not sure whether rooms on a higher level would have been less stuffy. (When we made the booking, there were only 3 rooms left.)

There was plenty of choice for breakfast but if you didn't want to eat in the hotel, you could always go to Quotidien a few doors down for coffee and croissants.

We would choose this hotel again, primarily for its location and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level might be a little cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamjo444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scorze, Italia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

we arrived in Mons on a hot August evening and unfortunately the hotel was not equipped with air conditioning.
the position is central and ottimare to visit this lovely town.
The room was clean, with a bathroom small but comfortable; there was also an old fan to overcome the lack of air conditioning. Unfortunately, during the night they switched off the electricity with lethal effects.
The breakfast was not included and 10 euro/person it seemed really expensive, so we choosed the near shop-chain Pain Quotidien where we spent only 8euro to have two delicious croissants with jam and tuo very good café au lait!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Archias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a very pleasant surprise! Hotel is a little hidden behind shops but has a free car park. Rooms are well equipped with free wifi. Staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was well priced with a good range of food on offer. Location could not be better, only a short walk to the central square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent two nights at the Infotel in Mons which is situated 5 minutes away from the main square with its varied restaurants and bars. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and although the rooms were on the small side, they were comfortable and clean and good enough for a short stay. There was a free car park at the back of the hotel and free wifi. Breakfast was an optional extra which we didn't take as we felt that it was expensive. We visited the Carrefour Express located two doors away and also there was a local boulangerie/patisserie next door to that where we bought breakfast for the four of us for under 15 euros. We would certainly stay at Infotel again if we went back to Mons for a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beveren, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

this hotel is situated in the center of the city of Mons, with a private car park
the room was clean and large
staff was very friendly
I found it rather strange that we had to pay in advance the moment we checked in, with some strange explenation of computer program running in the night, strange...
that's why we decided not to stay in the hotel for breakfast, 50 m further in the road is a very good "Pain Quotidien" where you can have excellent breakfast

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luc_demunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolah Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed again at the Infotel in Mons, as it is a great location for the Grande Place and the restaurants.
Nice old fashioned rooms and very spacious.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mons hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream
Dream
#1 of 8 in Mons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lido Mons Centre
0.6 mi away
Congres Hotel Mons Van der Valk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Mons Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel St-James
Hotel St-James
#7 of 8 in Mons
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Casteau Resort Mons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Infotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infotel

Property: Infotel
Address: Rue d'Havre 32, Mons 7000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Mons
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Infotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Infotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infotel Hotel Mons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing