We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Hotel in a Country Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Casteau Resort Mons
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mons
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet Hotel in a Country Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while on business to Mons and Brussles. I was pleased with my stay with only a couple of minor complaints.

Situated between Mons and Soignies on the Mons-Brussels Highway this hotel has a pleasant contemporary style and a nice restaurant on site. Access to Mons and Brussels isn't difficult via car or public transportation (there's a bus stop directly in front of the hotel). The breakfast has a good variety of items, and the bar is well stocked with some food options available. The rooms aren't big, but they're big enough.

My only complaints are that my room had insufficient power outlets, the fitness center hours are too limited, and the hotel is quite a pricey distance from Mons vis taxi. While two of these are beyond the staff's control, the staff was able to help me with the fitness center hours.

I recommend this hotel to anyone on business to Mons, but make sure you bring a car.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SWODaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    119
    75
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
84
14
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caunton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Having been redirected from Le Lido to this hotel due to overbooking I was not best pleased!
Howevr, the staff were reasonable and the hotel quite stylish with a pleasant restaurant annexed to the hotel. Sauna and gym were pretty good as well.
Now the disappointing stuff. The single beds are realy only good enough for sub 1.5 metre people and the hotel is isolated with Mons some 12km away, although there is an hourly shuttle.
Well priced with a very good (healthy) breakfast. It's back to Le Lido for me as I prefer the town to be in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed - single occupancy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinkerCaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 months in one of the apartments in the main building. The quality of the apartments is good. The hotel is quiet and family friendly. Access to top quality Mile washing machines and dryer is great, but costs extra. The free wireless internet functioned well and offered good speed most of the time. The gym was clean and fresh but some of the exercise equipment is worn-out. The reception personnel are friendly, helpful and speaks English. The hotel has a large parking space, so there was never any issue with finding a parking place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been a couple of times in this hotel for business. Rooms are a bit small, but clean and well-maintained. Internet connection is free and speedy. Breakfast is good - the friendly lady maintaining the breakfast room will cook eggs your style just by asking. The lack of a restaurant direclty at the hotel is not a major issue, there are two very good ones just 100 meters away across the hotel parking lot.

For some development ideas.. I'd really would like a proper laundury service and a safe in the room. (Reception will store your valuables, but they won't give a receipt).

The obvious choice if you are looking for a hotel near SHAPE base.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Travel_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I travel extensively across Europe and this hotel is one of my favourite hotels (I was there for six months),: the customer service was flawless, the reception personnel and management made us feel at home, (it is true though that the Hotel would beneffit from an additional pair of hands - i.e. internships), the rooms were ALWAYS clean.

The only downside is the missing air con....if you are in Belgium in one of the 20 days in the year (July-August) when the temperature may rise above 30 degrees Celsius....

If you want to have an army of personnel and you are irritaed if not served in a split second (in BW Casteau the reception is managing also the bar that is never excessively busy) pay 80% more and pick theHilton in Brusells..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulxk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my wife on a coach tour for one night (I'm glad it was ony one night) The receptionist was the only member of staff on duty when we arived and apart from reception she doubled as a porter and bar staff. The carpets on the stairs were filthy and the skirtin board was missing. The rooms had no air conditioning and were far too hot to be able to sleep, in fact I think the sauna was cooler. To sit on the toilet I had too put my feet in the shower and the restaurant was closed due to holidays, a good job there was a restaurant the other side of the main road which was closing the following day. It was a 20 euro cab ride to the centre of Mons so we did not venture there. On the plus side the drinks in the bar were a good price and the breakfast was quite good. If this is an example of Best Western we will not be using them again

Room Tip: Dont stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the past 12 years and found the service consistent, professional, friendly and prompt. There is free wifi across the hotel and in the lobby. The lobby also has a bar which stocks a few good belgium beers. This is served by the receptionist (just ask). All the staff on the reception speak good English, but are accommodating enough to allow you to try out your French.

The hotel is in good order after an extensive modernisation a couple of years ago. The rooms are small but clean and also quiet with free wifi and wired Internet. One recent and great improvement has been the addition of complimentary tea and coffee in the room with a kettle - which is unusual for Belgium, but great for us Anglo-Saxons who need a cup of tea in the middle of the night! For larger rooms and a suite with kitchenette there is a new apart-hotel complex on the same site next to the hotel.

The decor of the hotel is modern, but features some unusual but garishly fun statues, my favourite being a giraffe with a cigarette in its mouth. The hotel is very close to two resturants, Le Mediterranee (Greek/Italian/French style and fresh seafood, good value and wholesome fare with a decorative large tank of sea water creatures), and a more up-market Resturant L'Envers du Decor, which is decorated in a similar style to the hotel and offers a pretty good menu and quality food and a prompt attentive service. The two resturants seem to alternate their opening times so on any particular day typically only one of them will be open.

Breakfast is a good buffet, with very attentive service from the friendly staff who go out of their way to meet your needs.




Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank SirGoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mons
1.1 mi away
Dream
Dream
#1 of 8 in Mons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Congres Hotel Mons Van der Valk
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Orange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lido Mons Centre
14.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Horizon
BEST WESTERN Hotel Horizon
#1 of 1 in Ghislenghien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mons Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Casteau Resort Mons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Casteau Resort Mons

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Casteau Resort Mons
Address: Chaussee de Bruxelles 38 | Casteau, Mons 7000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Mons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Casteau Resort Mons 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons is ideally located whether traveling for business or leisure while in Belgium. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons is near the Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE), the central command of NATO military forces. Hotel guests are also near several business locations including Mac Tac, Holcim and Akzo Nobel. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons is 15 kilometers from the animal park Paira Daiza (ex Paradisio), the golf courses « u Hainaut » & « Mont Garni », the « hippodrome de Wallonie » and 50 kilometers from attractions in Brussels, Belgium. Each well-appointed room comes equipped with cable satellite television with CNN®, deks with free WIFI, safe, fridge and bathroom with shower or bath.. Guests enjoy a daily complimentary full breakfast and a multilingual staff (English, French, German, Dutch and Italian). This hotel also features a fitness room, a sauna and a jacuzzi. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Casteau Resort Mons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing