We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night; we arrived late in the evening and left very early in the morning (changed flights in Charleroi). Hotel is some 10 minutes by walking from Charleroi railway station, where a bus from Charleroi airport arrives. It is a bit dodgy area, but nothing too bad.
Hotel staff was friendly and efficient. Rooms are a bit outdated, but it was clean, had a minibar/fridge and shower worked. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    51
    68
    33
    17
See reviews for
18
51
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Arrived here late on Sunday evening (29 April). They had not received our booking but were prepared to match the web price quoted by the booking agency. The room and the hotel were spotless. However there were signs of wear and tear in the room. The underground car park was secure and a real boon as we were carrying a bike on the tailgate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanfidele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Firstly, I wish to begin this review discussing the area and, more appropriately, where to avoid. When we arrived at the hotel we had travelled from the airport on a bus (the bus stand immediately left as you exit the airport, heading for Charleroi Sud). When we arrived we took a walk along the river and through some back streets to get to the hotel. The area is like a ghost town however, prostitutes and dodgy kids can be found! We discovered later that if we had walked up the road next to the Ibis Hotel, we would have entered the town through a nice, quaint part of the town! Secondly, the hotel itself. The reception area is nice, quite small but functional. The staff friendly and did speak English. We were in a room on the fifth floor. The room was comfortable, size wise and reasonably clean if a little shabby and in need of a face lift. The bathroom was lovely though and I enjoyed a lovely bath also. I did note that the walls are thin but, it's no worse than a lot of other hotels and certainly didn't affect our stay in any negative way. The starring point at this hotel, however, is the restaurant! It isn't open all day sadly but, from 6pm it is and is lovely. We both enjoyed the spaghetti bolognaise on consecutive nights with free starters and an abundance of fresh, warm bread. It is fairly expensive but, so is everywhere else in the local area, even McDonald's! The lager is bottled, not draught but is fairly varied and reasonably priced. My tip for the restaurant is to at least attempt to speak French to the staff! The staff are lovely and they were appreciative of our efforts to speak their native tongue and their English is limited also. Breakfast is in the same restaurant and again is lovely: continental style with the usual abundance of bread. A nice hotel, maybe in need of a makeover but nice all the same.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torworwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Sardegna, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

horrible hotel, rooms dontlook at all like in the photos, were dirty, full of somebody's hair when we arrived and we had to ask to re-clean the room. unpolite stuff, lack of free wi-fi, everything was abandoned, small rooms, old disgusting bathrooms, hairdrier liker from middle ages, everything dirty windows floor and especially bed clothes so we had to ask to change it. we stayed there 2 nights and these were the most horrible nights in our life! i would never recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!shame!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleroi hotels

cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great staff 60£ clean spacious rooms and a nice breakfast.I will staying there any time I visit the City.I must say the City is a bit rough in places,but I suppose all cities are the same.The Hotel is greatttttttt

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry6451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were looking for a economical accommodation in Charleroi as we were to take early morning flight to Bologna. Got this Hotel Leonardo. It was a surprise. We thought it will be an ordinary as we booked it for less than 50 Euros, but it was a nice four star accommodation. Rooms wer very clean ,spacious and well equipped. Tea bags and coffee was available in the room. Reception people were helpful and courteous. Location was very good . Breakfast was little expensive. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel every year since 2001. The hotel is about 12 minutes walk from the station if you are towing a suitcase (it can be quicker to walk than to find a taxi).

The rooms are large, well decorated, comfortable and clean. There is a small fridge in the room, that you can fill with drinks from local shops or the machine in the lobby.

Breakfast is excellent. The hotel restaurant was closed for meals in the evening during my trips in May 2011 and August 2011. I am told that it will reopen later in 2011.

The hotel internet works well - but is expensive.

The staff are very helpful, and solve problems.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddy761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleroi
0.3 mi away
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
4.2 mi away
Charleroi Airport Hotel
Charleroi Airport Hotel
#1 of 9 in Charleroi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aero 44
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aero 44
#5 of 9 in Charleroi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Balladins Charleroi / Airport
4.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Charleroi Aeroport
3.2 mi away
Hotel South
Hotel South
#2 of 9 in Charleroi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center
Address: Boulevard Joseph Tirou 96, Charleroi 6000, Belgium (Formerly Socatel)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing