We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very below the level of Best Western standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Charleroi
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We found the hotel dirty, the room (non smoking one) was smelling of sigarets, the breakfast was very poor quality and the gym was really disappointing. I was really upset. The staff at least was gentle.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chmax73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Rooms were small with no bath. The staff were curt during the night shift and didn't offer information readily. Breakfast was included but was limited and in a soulless room.
It also cost €9 euro to get to from airport in a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swailes_from_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We only stayed here one night on our way to Germany. Our satnav got us from the motorway reasonably easily.

The hotel is a little bit away from the main town and there was no evening dining facilities in the hotel. The reception provided a map showing recommended places to eat but all were about 5 minutes walk or more away

The room was comfortable and clean and served it's purpose as stop off between home and our holiday resort.

The breakfast was a typical buffet with a couple of hot options.

I would have liked to have been able to book a parking space and was really concerned beforehand about what we would do if the hotel car park had been full, fortunately there was plenty of space though I think the parking ought to have been less expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were here for work -so we were only interested in sleeping and its location near the city centre. For that it is OK.
It is a rather functional hotel. The rooms are adequate but the decor is rather dated. Bed was comfortable. The TV was pretty old, but worked. Although there was an on-site restaurant it never appeared to be open. We chose to eat at a nice place just down the road.
The reception staff were very helpful and pleasant.
The breakfasts were not bad and the bread was fresh, but nothing spectactular, and because the room was larger than was needed one end was left without lighting which seemed rather unwelcoming.

There is a car park, but the hotel charges for this. Wifi is available in rooms but has to be paid for at a very high cost, There is free internes access in reception but only via a PC. v- a printer is attached with no charge for paper. We did not see or use the gym/sauna which others have commented on, on tripadvisor.

Overall a hotel that is falling behind traveller expectations. It needs a refurbishment and its physical building means it is not really very pleasing. If all you want is somewhere to sleep then its fine. I certainly wouldn't use it for a holiday stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Novocastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western Leonardo Charleroi because we just wanted a cheap place to stay near our Belgian friends and this fit the bill. We were there from August 29 to September 1, 2012. The rate we were charged was 62 Euros for Wednesday and Thursday and then 80 Euros for Friday. The total for the 3 nights was 210 Euros. We didn't use the breakfast in the morning - that would of been extra.

The room was very tired, the carpet dirty, the hallways were very dirty and had a terrible smell of mold. The air conditioner worked perfectly which was nice. The bed was very wonderful and we both slept great while we were there. So, in that regard the hotel was a success - we wanted a cheap place to sleep and were out all day. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, when you have a place so run down having pleasant staff can't make up for it.

We will be looking around for another hotel when we go back. We will pay more for a nicer place.

Room Tip: I would recommend finding another place even if it means paying more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had the stay and park car offer.

We arrived at 10 to find the restaurant closed (supposed to be open until 10.30), the vending machine broken and the area surrounding the hotel pitch black with nothing open so we went to bed hungry after a long drive.

The room was basic and shabby. The beds (two singles pushed together) so narrow it was impossible to turn over without falling out or down the gap in the middle. The road outside was noisy and kept us awake all night. The only good thing I can say is that it seemed clean.

We had the airport transfer included. On the way out it was fine but on returning we waited 45 minutes and the guy at the taxi HQ (Rapid Taxis) was fairly rude. Not the hotels fault but it didn't add to our opinion of the hotel.

All in all a terrible choice and we won't stay here again. I don't mind basic but we barely slept so its not worth it even for one night. I'd pay the extra EUR 10 to stay at the IBIS next next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was a disgrace, I booked this hotel online for interconnecting rooms. 2 adults and 2 children and extra requirements like a bath, kettle for heating bottles etc. before booking i called the hotel by phone to confrim availabitly of intercoonnecting rooms to be told that they were available. We arrived in quite late in the afternoon, early evening to check in, clarifying the room configuration as we went upstairs to find our rooms did not interconnect, we had a huge amount of luggage that we carted up the lift. Went back downstairs to check what was going to happens and was told we could only have a bigger room with 2 beds even though I had paid a high price to have 2 rooms. They could give me a refund or an interconnecting room. After much 'discussion' we ended up moving to another hotel(the ibis) in a taxi (paid by best western!) apparently for the same rate. The ibis staff we great but the rooms did not have a bath or a kettle to heat a bottle in the night like I had previously booked the Leonardo for. All in all this process took about 3 hours which was very frustrating!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying elsewhere, the ibis gare hotel is directly opposite the train station in C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pezza4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleroi
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center
0.6 mi away
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
#3 of 10 in Charleroi
444 reviews
4.2 mi away
Charleroi Airport Hotel
Charleroi Airport Hotel
#1 of 10 in Charleroi
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Aero 44
Best Western Plus Aero 44
#4 of 10 in Charleroi
250 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Balladins Charleroi / Airport
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Charleroi Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Charleroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Charleroi

Address: Boulevard Pierre Mayence 1a, Charleroi 6000, Belgium (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range: $56 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Charleroi 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Charleroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing